Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to major restaurants and shops.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
15 min drive to old part of the city. Cheap transport. Great staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for touring and nightlife.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, Comfort
Cons: Toilet ran at night, fancy shower head had leak. Kitchen lighting terribly dim.
Location: Uphill 200 meters: Party, eat Downhill 200 meters: Galata Tower, bridge to old city
Suites are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Be warned that the washer/dryer combo in the suite only works as a washer, drying is done over rails and racks. Metro access to airport is poor, taxi to Attaturk Airport costs $50 TL ($22) Hotel is a short downhill walk from the upper terminus of the Tunel underground tramway ($1.75) which carries you up from the western end of the Galata Bridge. So, it's easy to walk down to Galata Tower, Galata Bridge and the Trams down there connecting to the old city. It is a climb up some stairs to the beginning of Istilial Street, Istanbul's main nightlife district. LOTS of restaurants and shops just uphill from Tunel Residence. Google maps not accurate on location of hotel- use Google Streetview to find the hotel and it's Big Chef restaurant just below/across from the Sishane Metro entrances on Meshrutiyet Caddesi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poonam from India

Delightful istanbul .

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The location and the simplicity is a total winner.
Cons: The young staff at the reception could be a little more forthcoming in their suggestions about sightseeing otherwise very cordial..
Location: The walk to Istiklal street, The cobbled road walk to Galata tower. extremely energized trail down to the Galata bridge...amazing views around.
It's a great location and a perfect setting for a family break! The hotel is well equipped with the utilities and walking distance to so many eating places.. The liveliness of the location adds on to every thing in the Tunnel residence..it's a lil home away from home..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel,with great location,like it.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
It was realy a great experience for all of us ,the suit size was great for the family,The hotel is very will centered in the down town near from every thing within a walking distance,I realy recommend it for any family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MAC from American in Germany

Great location, nice hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location up on the hill with partial views of the water and a distant Hagia Sophia, and a close up view of the Galata Tower. At the beginning of the Istiklal shopping street and right next to the Sishane subway station. A 5 minute walk down the hill to the water to catch the Tram (trolley) across the Galata bridge to Sultanhamet. Nice hotel, looks new, friendly staff, free bottled water. Good AC & heat, nice linen, super clean. Restaurant on site is quite good, if pricey. My one complaint would be that the front desk staff are quite challenged on directions. Would be nice if they would be trained on how to give directions to nearby restaurants, hotels, bars, trams, etc. and to stock some local maps. The pool is indoor, small, and a nice temperature -- uniform depth of about 4 - 4.5 feet. Also has hot tub and sauna. They offer one-way or round-trip (unclear in the literature) free shuttle to the airport if you book directly through their own website.
1 out of 5
by Turkey Lover from San Francisco

Terrible Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Reserved and fully prepaid for a suite weeks ahead of travel. When reached there, hotel had no suites available. Was told that there were long term residents who decided to extend their stay. One guest checked out of a suite right in front of us but hotel refused to give that suite saying the checked out guest's brother had that suite reserved for the next day. They downgraded us to two standard room which in my opinion were really substandard. Approximately 100 square ft per room mostly filled with a double bed and writing table. One of the bathroom lights wasn't working. TV remote had dead batteries. Two elevators with 6 person capacity each. Greeter did not know a word of English and kept on speaking Arabic (yes, not Turkish) until I told him I didn't know Arabic. Hotel compensated us with free breakfast and free return shuttle to airport. Will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Not as expected, shower was smelly coz of wooden raised floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amna from USA

Excellent location and excellent hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
You can not beat the location! Across the street from metro station. 4-5 minutes walk to Gelata tower and bosphorus. Several convenience stores on either side. Tons of restaurants and shopping. Suite 502 had four balconies and views of water and Hagia Sophia. Staff are courteous and go out of their way to help you. There is a pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. I got a massage and highly recommend it. Food at the hotel is good, and the kitchen in the suite is fully equipped. Definitely, will stay here if we come back to Istanbul. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jose from USA

Great location

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent quality. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tracy from Pembroke, UK

A good base.

Posted Nov 5, 2013
The Tunel Residence is in a location convenient for the Tunel Funicular Railway, which is then a short walk to the Tram to the Old Town and all it's sights. It is just a short walk from the main shopping street and Taksim Square. We booked a suite (room 703) which meant we had a bedroom (with a huge comfortable bed), a large shower room, kitchen and living room (with sofa bed). The suite was very clean and was serviced daily. My son's said that the sofa bed was not very comfortable,but sofa beds aren't usually that great anyway. Istanbul seems to be a 24 hour city like no other and that includes demolition and renovation work, hence we had a couple of disturbed nights from building sites close to the hotel. We did however sleep with the balcony doors open, it would probably have been ok with the doors closed. We were surprised on checking in that we had to pay an additional charge per night per teenage child, even though we had bought through and paid Expedia and declared the boy's ages on the booking form. This additional charge needs to be made clear on booking. We would stay here again.