Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was well presented and very good.
Cons: Cosmetic issue in the room need to be fixed.
Location: Perfect location right by the train station and within walking distance of Haya Sophya, Blue Mosque, and numerous museums and shops.
Staff were very helpful and the service was very good. Room was a little beat up, but was fine for the price.
1 out of 5
by Nick from Canada

A terrible hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Avoid this hotel. Avoid this hotel. Avoid this hotel. There are many good hotels cheaper and better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely day manager very friendlyand helpful,

Posted May 31, 2014
Apart from luke warm showers in the morning a good hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pan L

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by daanyaal from oman

desperate need of renovation, friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff and management friendly and excellent touring advise, how ever i was 1 person , got a 3 single bedroom , the walls are cracked, cup bored falling apart, im a 6ft bloke, so getting in to the shower was a hassle, its tiny, not worth 56 euro. no view, only view i had opening the window was an air-con and brick wall. Hafiz mustafa Turkish delight around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice place close to all sights one needs to see;

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Very fruendly personal, the hotel was good for the money I paid for and more importantly was the location, only 10 min walk from the sights I was planning to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Guven from London

Excellent location but an average hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect, and also one of the staff members (Emre) made our visit more enjoyable. Those were the only two things I would recommend.
Cons: Rooms have a things broken, for ex the entire toilet is loose and shower hose is completly broken. The breakfast is not consistantly good.
Location: The location is great. With Sirkeci, Galata bridge, Hagia Sofya, and tram links to grand bazaar and other main attractions all very easy accessible.
I have visited Istanbul three times in the last four years, and I love it. I would say that Turvan is in the best location out of all the visits, however it was the weakest out of all three hotels (other two were also two star hotels). When we arrived we were placed in a room where the shower was completly broken, so was unable to have a shower or a bath. The room overlooked a wall when you opened the window so it felt like a prison. We requested to change the room and they said that we would change after the first night (which they kept to their promise). The second room was a huge improvement, and overlooked the main side street (not a great view but it was the best possible for this hotel). The breakfast was also a bit dissappointing with what I'm used to in Istanbul hotels, with a lot of sour options (green olives, tursu...) but no dairy options. The staff were averagely friendly. One of the highlights of our hotel was Emre (long hair tied back) who was amazing. He was helpful and was caring and one of the best hotel staff I have come across. The location of the hotel is also excellent, with a tram 2 minute walk away and a stroll to Sirkeci harbour overlooking the Bosphorous river, and Sultanahmet square with aya sofya Mosque about 15min walk. I doubt I would visit this hotel again but I would defo choose the same location. So if the location is the main thing you want then this hotel could be the right one. It is not terrible but it requires a lot of improvement.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STOP! Save your time and look elsewhere

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing! I booked it for 4 nights, I left in 8 hours!
Cons: Rebuild - Ground up!
Location: Well, location is fine. It's sort of a downtown.
'How bad a 3.5 star hotel could be?' I asked myself while booking this place. It looked conveniently located with some 'must-watch' attractions at walking distance. My Experiance: I got there a 11pm. It didn't look anything like I expected. Was shown my room - it was DIRTY! Dirty sheets, dirty bathroom, non working AC (I was 'advised' to keep windows open in case I found it too hot for comfort). It doesn't want half the facilities mentioned. 5.5 feet bad left my feet hanging in air. What I did? At 2:30 am I went ahead and book another hotel which I moved into at 8am. Closing remarks: I don't think this hotel deserves to be on Expedia. I strongly recommend administrators to take it out and save people from similar experiences as mine. I am attaching some pictures of the place. Do take a look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2014
Sorry for that... We try Our best for you.. How I wish to know that furing your stay...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by McNickle from UK/USA

Convenient for sight seeing.

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The convenient location. It's within walking distance of many attractions, close to the harbour and the Metro.
Cons: The hotel could do with a bit of TLC and the bathroom needed updating.
Location: Great location near all the main sights and attractions.
This hotel is a bit tired and needs some TLC but its quiet and in a great location. It's comfortable and has a relaxed atmosphere. The room was clean although a little cramped and the furniture has seen better days. There was plenty to eat for breakfast. The staff are extremely helpful, polite and amenable.