Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

former glory

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Charm, sense of history, iconic
Cons: Lots of stuff but for me the character over-rode the draw backs
Location: Centrally located
Amazing old hotel from turn of the last century. Quirky. Loved it
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeffery from UK

Old but good price and free breakfast

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Check in guy was smoking and playing his music behind counter mid day......room decor and bedding we're old. Hotel has so much potential but has lost some form.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jela from NSW

Vintage

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
this Hotel was grand in its day. Restaurant was great, breakfast good, location good, easy to find. No air conditioning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired, old .

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Cheap, close to the ferry.
Cons: Everything!
Arrived late at night, and thought we had gone back to the Communist era! This hotel would have been very opulent in its heyday, but obviously had been stripped of all its beauty. It actually felt dark and scary, huge empty corridors. The room was ugly, and the bathrooms were horrendous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Xenwin from Sheffield, England

Fabulous location

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: As above
Cons: The decor and addition of air conditioning
Location: Fabulous location for the old town, bus station in easy walking distance and amphitheatre is but a stones throw.
Fantastic location. A bit weathered inside and out but very clean. No air conditioning so room can get very warm. Staff very friendly and helpful and keep the place spotless. Excellent buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: its location
Cons: needs a good investment to recup its glory of past times
we chose the hotel because it was close to the bus station as well as to the port. hotel is unkemt, no air conditioning, a very insufficient foot fan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beth W. from Montclair, NJ

Faded Glory

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I knew exactly what to expect with the Hotel Riviera, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is a grand, ornate building in Pula, close to the amazing Roman amphitheater. Yes, the hotel is in need of renovation. But our room was clean, the breakfast was perfectly fine, and the location was terrific for seeing Pula and setting off for other sightseeing. Most of our discomfort came from the lack of air conditioning--the temperature was in the 90s most days we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for one night stay.

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel in spite of relatively poor reviews because we knew we'd arriving late on the ferry from Venice, and would be heading off early in the morning. It would be true to say our expectations were low so we were very pleasantly surprised with our experience. The hotel has a magnificent exterior and enjoys an excellent position a short walk from the ferry terminal - in fact we were checked in and in our room within 10 minutes of leaving the terminal. Our room was on the 4th floor - I had previously emailed the hotel to request a sea view and they obliged with a very large room overlooking the harbour. This was spotlessly clean. Everything was there apart from air conditioning - fine for one night but would be a major disappointment if staying longer. Breakfast was significantly better than the breakfast we had enjoyed in a somewhat superior hotel in Venice the previous morning, and the setting, on the terrace in the sunshine, was very pleasant. Wifi was available in the terrace area on the first floor and on the ground floor but did not extend to the 4th floor. Again not a problem if staying just one night but I would think desirable for a longer stay. All in all this hotel delivered everything we expected plus a lot more, and all at a very reasonable price. We felt rather sad that such a magnificent hotel appears neglected - with a little investment this could be a very classy hotel. Perfect for a one night stay, would choose an alternative for longer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good to use as a base

Posted Jul 24, 2013
The hotel was very grand on the outside but a little warn & in need of updating on the inside (which it appreared they had started to address). Overall the room & bathroom were clean but there wasn't any air conditioning which in July, would have been advantageous! The breakfast was good but not a vast range of choice by the end of the session. The staff were helpful & informative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from New Zealand

Match of destination personality and guesthouse

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: How close to main features of Pula, so could walk everywhere
Cons: No detractions observed
Location: Ideal for walking tours
This has an excellent location, wonderful character and personality with space, outlook and charm. When renovated we hope that that is retained rather than turning it into the bland copy of so many other hotels around the world. We really liked it.