Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh

Worth every penny.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Location: The hotel is on its own island, with that being said if you do not mind rocks you can have your very own paradises for the day.
For the most part the hotel is average but given everything that hotel has to offer is a great value. Breakfast and Dinner (excluded in our price) has a great selection. Breakfast-omelets, cereal, hot/cold meats,and fruits over 50 items Dinner- was the same setup but you can have as much as you want of wine (red/white) and beer (draft) at no charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel. The island is an oasis away from busy Rovinj. There are many activities (windsurfing, snorkeling, etc) that are available right at the hotel's beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alberto from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Paradise!!!!!!!

Posted May 29, 2013
This was an amazing experince. Everything was excelent. the hotel and location are awesome. The staff so friendly and helpful. the rooms clean and comfortables. we will be back very soon what a incredible experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only for the patient with kids

Posted May 8, 2013
This hotel would only be worthwhile staying at if you had kids and wasn’t too fussy about rude staff. Hotel itself looks like a concrete relic from the 70's, nice gardens but rooms are dated. As for friendly service we arrived a few hours early and asked if any rooms were available only to be rudely told no!....like we were crazy for even asking. Service didn't improve much from there unfortunately. Hotels like this need to realise guests will overlook a lot if the staff are friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Suzanne

"Can't Do" Staff Attitude and no Private Beach

Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
When booking I was told that all rooms at this hotel have either pool side or sea side views. Having read the reviews, I duly requested a higher floor double room with a direct sea view. On arrival this wasn't available; instead we were offered a dark ground floor room mainly overlooking hotel service buildings with NO option to pay more for a proper sea view room. The hotel service was, with very few exceptions, awful (think unsmiling drones), the food in the main restaurant mediocre and there is no opportunity to eat outside. The worst surprise was the fact that the hotel's definition of "private beach" means private to anyone that can afford the £5 to get on one of the frequent ferries from Rovinj town. The Maistra hotel group clearly doesn't worry too much about alienating its 4* hotel guests with this tactic (beach density like Brighton on a busy day) as it also owns the ferry line...The only private area for hotel guests is around the pools, where they are literally penned in. Consequently many people were up at 7am every morning putting their towels out on the sun loungers....The island itself is absolutely stunning and the sea water beautifully clean - the hotel however needs new management/owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiley from Germany

Stress free vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: Access to the ocean & pools
Cons: Room service needed more variety & more deserts
Location: Location was perfect on an island with easy access to main island
Very nice hotel & staff was very friendly. I loved how they had many pools and it was perfect for my son who is still learning to swim!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A great family resort

Posted Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Being on a small island.
Cons: None
Location: Very uniquely on an island and you have to take a boat to check in. The boat and parking on the mainland are included in the room rate.
The hotel is located on the Istra Island and this was the only hotel on the island. It provides great facilities including large indoor and outdoor swimming pools plus salt water swimming areas of the Adreatic Sea. The water in early June was warm enough to swim in the sea. The hotel was relatively new and well keep. It was spacious. I wish I brought my kids there; they would have enjoyed swiming pools and the ocean. The breakfast was plennty and the food quality was good. Don't miss the Bolero coffee they have available. Hiking the island was a good option. Parking and boating to the island was well organized. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The front desk staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from TIMISOARA, ROMANIA

HOTEL ISTRA, ST ANDREW, ROVINJ- CROATIA

Posted Aug 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
I SPENT WITH MY WIFE SOME DAYS IN HOTEL ISTRA, ST. ANDREW ISLAND ON THE BEAUTIFUL SURROUNDING. CONNECTED WITH OTHER SMALL ISLAND IS A VERY ROMANTIC PLACE. FANTASTIC BLUE SEA FOR SWIMMING AND OTHER WATER SPORTS. ONLY FEW MINUTES BY SHIP FROM THE CITY OF ROVINE IS REALLY WHAT YOU LIKE IN A HOLIDAY. I WOULD LIKE TO GO AGAIN AND I RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS. MARIAN, ROMANIA
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

hotel istra st andrews island crotia

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
the hotel was very pleasant and surroundings ex cellent especially at night when lite up food good. taxi ride to mainland good and free runs every hour.