Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Bait and Switch

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We had a prepaid reservation for a non-smoking room with 2 double beds (paid extra for this). Arrived to find no double room bed rooms available. They gave us 2 smoking rooms because they could not accommodate us otherwise. Rooms were smelly and thus uncomfortable. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for a visit to Cornell

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The location of this motel is excellent for visiting Cornell, especially for First Year Parents Weekend. The motel is 10 mins drive from Ithaca Airport and 10 mins drive from Cornell's North Campus Housing where all the freshman are housed. It is a basic motel, as expected for the price. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a little hard to find at first because the "e" sign for the Econolodge is very small. I would recommend the motel to put up a larger sign. Until then, guests need to remember to turn into the plaza entrance by the Friendly's restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

I won't go back to this motel.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Good location and the shuttle driver was very nice.
Cons: Create a staff break room so that the maintenance personnel doesn't have to congregate (and discuss hotel guests) in the lobby. Remodel.
Location: Good area for shopping; the motel is next to a strip mall and across the street from the Ithaca Mall.
This motel wasn't as clean as I'd expected. The room was dingy and in desperate need of updating (dirty lamp shades, dilapidated drapes, broken tiles, hair in the hair dryer, etc.) Some members of the staff were unprofessional, but the front desk personnel was helpful. The bed was comfortable and the TV was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This place was terrible—so terrible that we left a day early, losing that night's payment, and were glad to do it. The curtains were stained, the bed spreads pocked with cigarette burns, the toilet seat (!!) stained. Disgusting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for just passing through

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful
Rooms were comfortable enough for an overnight stay. The corridor smelt of smoke.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Artfrom Ohio

Good accommodations for reasonable price

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This recently renovated hotel met our expectations. The price is reasonable (for Ithaca, that is, where all prices are high). The Econo Lodge is simple, no real frills, but a totally adequate place to sleep well and to obtain a reasonable breakfast. Clerk told us that the hotel has recently been renovated and is much better than before. Staff was polite and accommodating. Two small repair requests were completed quickly and completely (first morning of three day stay). Location is much quieter than it appears and seems totally safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

outstanding staff, breakfast, clean room

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted by someone friendly. We booked 3 rooms. My mother has mobility difficulties and they placed her near the entrance, and put our 2 rooms close to hers. The breakfast is possibly the best breakfast at a hotel this level. It had eggs, Jimmie Dean egg sandwiches, yogurt, fresh fruit, danish and cereal. There was someone attending the breakfast bar and kept it well supplied. The rooms were very clean. We stayed at a hotel across the road for around the same price and it was not as good. Do not hesitate to book this room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking room given for non-smoking booking

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: A need to make the hotel a non-smoking environment and staff to be attentive to customer’s needs.
When we booked the two rooms, we asked for non-smoking rooms, but when the confirmation email arrived, we noticed that we were booked into the smoking rooms. We called Econo Lodge right away the next morning and were told that our booking will be changed to be non-smoking. When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered smoking rooms. As we have one senior with us who is not able to manage the stairs (yes, the hotel has no elevator), we were assigned one non-smoking room on the main floor, but the other room was kept in the smoking area. The issue is not just about the smoking room, it is the attitude of the reception desk the bothered us the most. The staff was not helpful at all. Another issue with the smoking room was the dividing door of the smoking section. When people went in and out of the door, the door needed to be slammed to stay closed. The slamming sound throughout the night made it a sleepless night for us.