Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking room given for non-smoking booking

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: A need to make the hotel a non-smoking environment and staff to be attentive to customer’s needs.
When we booked the two rooms, we asked for non-smoking rooms, but when the confirmation email arrived, we noticed that we were booked into the smoking rooms. We called Econo Lodge right away the next morning and were told that our booking will be changed to be non-smoking. When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered smoking rooms. As we have one senior with us who is not able to manage the stairs (yes, the hotel has no elevator), we were assigned one non-smoking room on the main floor, but the other room was kept in the smoking area. The issue is not just about the smoking room, it is the attitude of the reception desk the bothered us the most. The staff was not helpful at all. Another issue with the smoking room was the dividing door of the smoking section. When people went in and out of the door, the door needed to be slammed to stay closed. The slamming sound throughout the night made it a sleepless night for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Efficient but no ride

Posted Aug 5, 2014
I chose this hotel because it was close to the Ithaca Airport (Tompkins County). An airport shuttle advertised, but it has limited hours of service. I needed to leave the hotel at 4:45 for a 6:00 am flight. Shuttle was not running at that early hour. Instead, the helpful and terrific staff (seriously, very good!) arranged for a taxi and arranged for a 'breakfast bag' since my departure was before the 6:00 am breakfast. Ithaca taxi policy is that all rides TO the airport cost $16.00 and the hotel didn't foot the bill. Call it an early morning surprise! I had used the taxi service FROM the airport and paid less to go four times as far. Efficient, clean hotel with helpful staff - just be careful about WHEN you need the shuttle to the airport. I would have stayed at a less efficient hotel with FREE shuttle at 4:45 am having known the time restraints on their service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It had a coffee maker, fridge and microwave in the room
Cons: Odor from smokers...perhaps smoking rooms should be on top floor in one wing.
Location: Lots to do close by
The hotel had an odor to it. Otherwise everything was good. Staff very friendly at front desk.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jo from england

Okay if on a budget

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Good breakfast selection for continental eating, Comfy bed no privacy as hotel room was on ground floor and was looked into by car park curtains had to be closed when in room so no one could see you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom W from Peterborough, NH

A decent place to stay

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
not terribly close to town but reasonable prices, good chairs and lighting in the rooms which is unusual. Towels were changed every day even though we didn't request it but the sheets were not changed for the 4 nights were were there and beds were not made daily. This is not a deal breaker just unusual. Wifi worked well and the breakfast was OK for microwave breakfast sandwiches..... coffee was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RK

Good low cost lodging

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clearly a motel for the budget minded, but was comfortable, reasonably quiet and clean. Located in a strip mall and next to a major highway, but noise level was very low.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great for Pets

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a pet-friendly hotel, which is great if you have a pet, but I did not and so the pungent "pet store" smell the moment you walk in the lobby is not great. They must have a litter box behind the front desk. The room itself was clean and did not have the pet store smell, but all common areas were a little grungy and smelly. No elevator, so ADA be damned. The front desk staff was friendly. Location and price can't be beat.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small downfall is that you cannot park right outside the rooms. Access to rooms is only through lobby and up stairs.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill Moore from Ithaca

Review

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I prepaid in full for a room with two queen beds for my daughter and me. I asked for late arrival. When I arrived I was told my room had been given out. I was forced to take an inferior room and to sleep on a cot. When asking what happened the deck clerk said talk to the manager. When I asked I was told the manager would be in next morning. Our stay was disappointing . I ask for a partial refund and the clerk kinda laughed.