Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Close to College.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Everything was great!
Cons: All good. No recommendations necessary.
Location: So close to SUNY Cortland. You get to see your child!!!
Great place for Cortland parents to stay. Affordable, clean, nice staff and good beds. Everything you want for a good parent weekend visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IL

clean & comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Hotel was very clean and comfortable with easy access to the highway. My son was happy to get his 4 mile run done on the treadmill on the 1st floor. Small work facility with 2 treadmills and one bike, but it was useful. Morning breakfast was also nice- scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, toast, bagels, apples, bananas, yogurt, milk, juice and instant oatmeal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Comfortable stopover.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Convenient place to stop on long journey and spend a wet day indoors. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Cortland itself seemed a very uninteresting city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

College Visit

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: It is conveniently located right off of the interstate and it has a nice breakfast.
Cons: It was a bit too noisy but I am not sure they could do much about that.
Location: It is very near SUNY Cortland, which is why I was there.
This was my second time staying at this hotel and it was not as good as the first. This time I was on the first floor and it was very noisy until around 1 am. If I were to go back, I would ask for a room on another floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

College Visit

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was very well appointed. I have allergies, so often the breakfasts do not fit my needs, this one had plenty of choices for me.
Location: My son goes to SUNY Cortland, so I was there to visit with him. We went into Syracuse one day for the mall.
Hotel is located conveniently right off of the interstate, but it is quiet and relaxing. The room was a good size and clean. The bathroom was updated and had nicer toiletries. It was also nice to have a refrigerator and a microwave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a good night's sleep

Posted Sep 29, 2014
All the hotels in Ithaca were all booked up (like they usually are), so we started looking elsewhere for places to spend the night. Based on the reviews, we selected this hotel. It's about a half hour from Ithaca, where most of our activities were centered. I'm very picky and my main criteria in rating a hotel is the quality of sleep, followed closely by cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. I slept like a baby for 7.5 hours, so I'm lovin' this place. I would definitely stay here again. The fact that it's all shiny and new sure doesn't hurt. This hotel appears to be a commuter hotel, not a destination for weddings, events, etc. We won't stay at hotels that host weddings anymore, and we try to stay away from bus loads of sports teams too. We've had nightmarish experiences with those two segments. One suggestion, not only for the Holiday Inn Express, but for all hotels in general: why, oh why must you design doors that slam so loudly? There has to be a better way! And if you start cleaning the rooms early, please have the staff prop the doors open, so the door isn't opening and closing repeatedly. That is so incredibly annoying. But since all hotels do this, I still rate this one a 5.0 out of 5 because of our experience. Oh, and to the people who got thrown out for burning incense in the room (because I'm sure they will write a bad review): In the future, do not burn ANYTHING in a hotel room! This is basic common sense! The fire alarm could go off for god's sake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eileenfrom Long Island

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the first time I have stayed at the holiday in express. I was pleased with the accommodations. My only complaint was the free breakfast was not that good. Other than that the hotel was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by sarafrom queens

great fo college visit stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
room was Very Clean Friendly Staff, located near Suny Cortland and plenty to eat close by
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Initial impression was good at this hotel...then we got to our room. Blower dryer hanging by a thread off the wall, dirty q-tips behind toilet, filth behind bathroom door--I am sure it wasn't cleaned for a long time and to top it off, when I got out of the shower there were spiders on my bath mat! Not a great stay.