Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs major updating

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location and comfortable beds
Cons: Decor, price, noise
Location: Finger Lakes, Cornell, Wine Country
We only stayed overnight and it was fine for a quick stay but it was overpriced for the condition of the hotel. Formerly a Holiday Inn and it looks like the franchise was dropped because they did not want to remodel the rooms. Rooms were comfortable but the neighbors were very loud (college town). Someone even tried getting into our room in the middle of the night despite the do not disturb sign in the door lock. The first room we were given was a handicap accessible room which meant everything was too low for someone 6'-3". The front desk changed our room without any problems. Location is right near the commons which is great for walking to restaurants and bars. Parking is adequate. Based on the conditions of the rooms and the decor, the hotel should be proved in the $150/night range versus the $200/night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Elba, NY

I ran out of credit cards!!!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This was a very nice hotel and a the staff was great. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was awesome. I would have given them 5 stars if not for the problem I had checking in. I booked this using my main credit card which was declined when I tried to check in. My other two cards were also declined. When I produced cash I was asked if I could use a room with one bed. This led me to the conclusion that they were overbooked and trying to repulse me as none of my cards were declined elsewhere throughout my stay. I booked this room over 7 months in advance for Parent's Weekend. It would have shown more class to offer me a voucher the way airline do when they overbook.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The manager was able to move us to the tower because rooms were avaialble for night 2.
Cons: Old section needs to be renovated or not offered to the public.
We booked for 2 nights. The first night we stayed in the older section of the hotel, on the second floor. The room was old, not very clean, the bed was terrible (deep sag in the middle of the matterss) and the pillow were like sleeping on bags of marbles. The next morning my husband went down and talked to the manager and indicated that we would be checking out if they were not able to move us to a better room. We were moved to a tower room. The tower rooms are newly renovated and very nice. Our second night was much better but the whole weekend was hampered by the poor experience the 1st night and having to pack and move for the 2nd night. The manager was very apologetic. Would consider staying there again only if a tower room was guaranteed. Do not stay at this hotel if offered the older section.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures on Expedia don't match rooms

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Good location but not worth the price - pictures on Expedia didn't match the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom h

Great Ithaca location

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Extremely friendly staff. Goes out of their way to make you fell comfotable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Bathrooms are beautiful!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Bathrooms
Cons: Needs a nice outdoor sitting area
Location: It's in the middle of everything.
Everything was new and clean! Great front entrance and one block from some awesome restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nicely upgraded motel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: overpriced
one overnight for event in Ithaca...it was the only reasonably priced room available.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Overpriced & run-down, but good location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: They are in serious need of redecorating. The bedskirt on my bed was torn and stained. The hallways smelled stale. Doors& walls scuffed-up.
Location: Downtown Ithaca has great restaurants and shopping. Not a far drive to several waterfalls.
Pros: Can walk to downtown restaurants and shopping, big rooms, comfortable beds, free parking & WiFi Cons: Overpriced for what they offer, looked run down, hotel seemed under-staffed (but those who work there are friendly), some sketchy looking guests ( I was woken up by the police banging on a door down the hall one night when I was there "Police, open-up!", just like on t.v.), the room had a funny smell - something stale mixed with a deodorizer smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Staff was responsive to our needs. One setback was room is listed as having 2 Queen beds but had double beds instead.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Everyone was friendly, the room was clean and parking was available.
Cons: Would have liked a little more light in the room.
Location: Great location with shopping, restaurants, hiking, the lake. Gas station near hotel.
I've stayed here a couple times when it was a Holiday Inn and I didn't find much of a change to the Ithaca Hotel. The room was clean but dated, the beds were comfortable, room needed a bit more lighting. The lobby was clean and the people at the desk were helpful and friendly; we didn't eat in the restaurant. . The location is great as it is 1 1/2 blocks to the Commons with restaurants and shops.