Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay - clean room,pleasant and helpful staff.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The regulation of heat in the room.
The biggest disappointment was not being able to regulate the heat in the room very well. It seemed to take too long to heat up or for the temperature in the room to change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Maria, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn that your room was cold upon arrival and you had a difficult time heating up the room. We do apologize for this inconvenience. We will make note for future reservations to have the heat on to make our clients stay more pleasant. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jenniferfrom Kingston

comfortable getaway

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quiet,comfortable, good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Needs some renovation, but overall was OK

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
College trip, it was not bed, little overpriced for the actual service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Oct 21, 2014
A nice hotel to stay for a night. Grab and go breakfast provided. Inside door lock was broken but hotel was booked so we were unable to switch rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Maryfrom Rochester

Grateful for accommodating our dogs

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night, we were given a room close to the exterior door on the first floor. It was very convenient and I appreciated the ease of checking in and out with two dogs, a small mixed breed and a Blue heeler. The room was clean, nothing too big, bathroom was clean and adequate to the task.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Adamfrom Moravia NY

noisy

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
pipes in the bathroom made an awefull screeching sound, no fridge in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clifton Park, NY

Very convenient

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The Hotel was in a convenient location, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Maria, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR YOUR RESPONSE . WE ARE DELIGHTED THAT YOU HAD A GOOD STAY AND LOOK FORWARD TO YOU STAYING WITH US WHEN IN THE AREA.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tomfrom Long Island

Over all OK

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good: Clean room, good location, find food EZ, price is right. Good morning coffee. Not too good: internet not working for my 3 days stay, breakfast no hot food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Happy Traveler, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are sorry that your stay was unplesant. We did have Internet issues and had to have IT Technicians work on it. Again, I am sorry for the internet not working and do hope that you will consdier staying with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Franklin, PA

Great staff- poor facilities

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The young man at the desk during the evening shifts was a delight and very helpful.
Cons: Cleanliness, filling the coffee in the room, FIX THE INTERNET EVEN IF IT MEANS CALLING IN SOMEONE ELSE!, get the full compliment of breakfast foods.
I am not one to complain so this is the first negative review I have ever given. The internet was out for the two days we were there and, as per the front desk, for the day prior to our arriving. Yet, nothing was done since the "one man who could fix it" was on vacation. Quality took no action on the matter which made contacting work more difficult. The coffee pot in our room was very dirty with built up grime. The coffee cups were left unwashed and there was only one coffee in a room that was booked for two people. The breakfast "buffet" was not the usual Quality Inn breakfast in that nothing was hot. The usual waffle maker, sausage, "omelets" etc. were absent. There was prepackaged sweets and old (sour) hard boiled eggs. The stay was disappointing from the very beginning to the end. The ONLY redeeming quality was the young man at the front desk who scrubbed the coffee pot and cups himself, apologized repeatedly and truly tried to offset the terrible conditions. Quality Inn should be ashamed of that facility, make the fixes and promote the young lad at the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Maria, Hotel Management
Thank you for advising us of your unplesant stay. We are sorry that our Internet was not working. We did have IT Technicians working on the problem. I have taken your comments about the coffee pot and cups not clean with our Housekeeping Department. There is no excuse for this. They have assured me that they are checking into this problem. Again, we do apologize for your unplesant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by I-81 Travellerfrom New York State

Close to Syracuse

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Since Syracuse rates are excessive, especially during State Fair time, we found that Cortland was a very positive alternative. Quality Inn was convenient to the freeway, had quick access to gas, food and other necessities, and was only 30 miles from Syracuse. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and kept that way through a 5-night stay. Breakfast was provided, but was pretty slim. Perkins and Denny's were very close by, however, so food was available if desired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Happy Traveler, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to advsie us of your stay. We strive to do our best and positive comments are appreciated. Hope to see you again when in the area.