Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

80's Throwback

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Staff was wonderful, but hotel is gloomy and outdated. No coffeemaker, microwave or continental breakfast. For this price, I expected much more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CT

Not a luxury hotel, but you get what you pay for

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The room was clean, and it was very affordable. I didn't want to spend $200 a night on a hotel I'm never in. So for a quick weekend trip it was fine
Cons: Hotel needs upgrades and looks very dingy and in need of repairs in most of the hallways. There is no A/C in hallways so its hot and stuffy.
Location: Hotel is located close to the Cayuga Wine Trail. Its only about 45 minutes to Watkins Glen Gorges which I HIGHLY suggest. Easy ride, beautiful scenery
We picked this hotel because it was central to where we planned to be that weekend. When we entered the back hallway, the outside doors aren't locked; anyone can walk into the hotel from the back at anytime. I thought that was odd, but fortunately we had no problems. The tile is pulling away in places, walls aren't in great shape and I thought oh no, this room was prepaid and now I'm stuck here. Fortunately the actual room was ok. Room was clean, bathroom very clean, beds comfy, pillows great so as for the actual stay in the room, it was a nice enough place for what we paid. The bed covers were slippery oddly enough, and kept falling off the bed all night. That was frustrating. We made the mistake of leaving without turning the a/c off, something we usually do but spaced out. The coils froze or something and then it wouldn't blow cold air. Letting it 'cool down' for a few hours and turning it back on worked out. My mother was in the adjacent room. Her A/C unit was different than ours. Even though she had it on high, it worked as if on Auto and would turn off when it reached temperature. She said it woke her up all night by it going on and off. There was nothing to do to fix it. Breakfast buffet was not good. Cheap enough at $8.00 for adults and $4.00 for kids but everything was rubbery and cold, service wasn't good. There was construction going on in the hotel in some points, which the hotel definitely needs some upgrades in the common areas. Pools were ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Good location but disappointing accomodations

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location is convenient.
Cons: Hot tub should be repaired, Hallways and general areas should be cleaned/deoderized, complimentary coffee and newspaper in the lobby would be nice
We usually stay at a different hotel but we made plans late and most other hotels in Ithaca were booked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted May 4, 2015
I think the fight in the hall and room next door at 4:30 AM was the last straw
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Cons: Bathroom was worn and could use a renovation. However, it was very clean.
Location: Good location - close to Cornell University, shopping malls, grocery store and many chain and fast food restaurants.
Better than the ratings might suggest! A comfortable, clean hotel. The staff are friendly and aim to please.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Tried to put us in a room that smelled like poop. It wasn't until taking our shoes off that we noticed that most of the carpet was wet. The heater was on full blast when we arrived, obviously trying to dry it out. The odor was terrible and almost gagging. They did find us the next day a nicer room which was wonderful. Water in the tub/shower leaked all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Art, Hotel Management
First let me express our sincere regrets and my personal apology for us placing you in a room that should have not been in that condition. It certainly appears that that room should have been put "out of order" due to the wet carpet issue and was not. We will be conduction a through review to find out why our system failed and take appropriate to make sure it does not happen in the future. I feel that the smell in the room was probably caused by the wet carpeting and would have been corrected after we shampooed the rug.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Aurora, NY

Quick trip to Ithaca

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The staff was very responsive when I discovered that the TV remote was out of batteries, even though it was 11:30 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Art, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Ramada in Ithaca, NY. We have made several major changes to improve our levels of customer service and it is great to hear that they are working. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future to see us doing even better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Security lacking

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Security needs improvement - no locks on any of the hotel back doors, deadbolt was difficult to lock, and the other door lock was partially broken. Beds were comfortable; the only other complaint is the heater was very noisy and kept switching on and off frequently! The staff was helpful in giving directions. Exercise room had a few pieces of equipment, which looked old but worked. Breakfast not included in the price, but was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Art, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for you comments concerning your recent stay at our Hotel. We appreciate your input and will make sure that we do our best to correct the items you brought to our attention. In closing I would like to apologize for our short falls and assure we are working to improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krystal from Waterloo, NY

Cornell University visit

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
You could definitely hear people moving about in the hallways and other rooms. In our room the shower head was very low, I am only 5'1" so it was fine for me, but my son is closer to 5'7" and it was definitely too low for him. Also, our bathtub water ran all the time. I mean "ran", it wasn't just a drip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

I would never recommend.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I am very glad to have only had a one night visit. The hotel was freezing. The heat did work in the room. The hallways, lobby, pool hall were all freezing. My partner and I went to each drink machine on both floors, and came back without a beverage. For some reason none of them worked, or were sold out. The bathroom could have been much cleaner and repaired. I turned on the water to shower, and the tub filled with water because the drain plug was broken. The T.V. was very blurry. The pool hall was not average. Indoor pool was ice. Sauna was not kept up. Juice boxes and wrappers were underneath the seats inside the sauna. The hot rocks had no water to start the room up. A very disappointing stay for a get away. I have been in four star hotels for the same price, and were much more efficient.