Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Needs updating

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Staff is generally very nice and helpful. Conveniently located.
I have stayed at the Beacon before. I think it's not as good as it used to be. The air conditioning system is noisy. I could hear a lot of noise from the room next door. The lay-out of my particular room was quite cramped. Not all of the lights worked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Green pool water

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The pool was merky green and there was not a hot tub or kids pool as advertised. The bathroom had Spiderwebs around the baseboard and the countertop. I emailed, as directed by memo on tabletop, the general manager and never received an answer. Ice maker didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ithaca

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: close to Cornell and shopping, restaurants
Cons: requires updating
Our stay was pleasant. The room was clean and quiet and centrally located to shopping centre, highway and restaurants. It could do with updating but the cost reflected the style of hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Hotel is run-down and should not have star rating

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: to the owner: sell or renovate
Location: There is nothing to do near by. But if you have meetings at Cornell, its manageable.
It was the only hotel with rooms available in Ithaca. To charge $175 a night for a run-down hotel that visibly did not undergo renovations the past 30 years is outrageous.
2 out of 5
by R from Ontario, Canada

Will not go again

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Facility is old, phone was broken, called for service and nothing was fixed. Internet was terribly slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
just needed for college drop off. too expensive for the room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ProudDrMom from Miami

Great stay at a great price!

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location to restaurants and malls. Close to Cornell University.
Location: Many restaurants, shopping, supermarkets, Cornell University
I was a little concerned when I read some reviews, Thankfully, I did not listen and booked my stay :) The hotel has been renovated, new carpets, beds, etc. Thje customer service can not be beat. Our flight was cancelled and ther compasion we received from the front desk was surreal. While I will no0t be traveling to Cornell anymore as my son has graduated, I encourage any Cornell parent to book their stay here. I regret not doing it the last few tines we were here (7 years total) Thanks everyone!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place, terrible customer service and way over priced. There are other places cheaper with the sane level of service
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

uggg

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was looking forward to this stay. The hotel is old and is in serious need of a makeover. No security on exterior doors. Had a rollaway and no space to put it. Carpets in hallway look nice when you walk on it the surface is not even. Hot tub was closed. Shower for midgets. Wallpaper peeling floor tiles broken. Maintenance man seems very dedicated and helpful. Beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met my expectations

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pet friendly and clean. Convenient location. Some noisy guests made for a disrupted nights rest :(