Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this inn is ok

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This inn is ok. it is included breakfast. Dogs are allowed. Room size is ok. Just smell not fresh enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middletown, ny

let's be real...

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: the amenities offered for the price paid
Cons: the shower was concaved and the exterior of the building, particularly upon arrival, is a definite turnoff.
Location: everything is local
the thing i'm most disappointed about is the reviews i read. i was well aware i wasn't staying at the hilton and therefore i wasn't expecting a hilton-type stay. the hotel was fine for what i paid and was actually more than i expected. i've stayed at hotels more than double the price with absolutely no amenities. for $80/night i had free wifi, cable a half (not mini) fridge and microwave along with toiletries, hair dryer, coffee maker and iron. the room was clean and the staff was friendly. what more could you ask for?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

do no go there

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down and start again
Location: Lleft and went to Cortland
The rooms are old, smell musty, bathroom not clean. We cancelled the second night. Thanks goodness they let us. Breakfast poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, Clean Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: It was clean and offered a nice breakfast menu, including eggs.
Cons: The security lock on the door was missing, so that made me feel a little unsafe, especially since the room was on the ground level.
Location: The location was just outside of the main center of Ithaca, NY. Very scenic area.
I arrived at the hotel close to 1 a.m. Thursday morning. I got checked in quickly and was able to get the room to the right temperature (outside temp was 39 degrees) quickly. The bed and linens were clean and I slept well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Location: The location was our reason for staying. It is just 5 minutes to downtown Ithaca.
For over $100 a night, this place is kind of scary. Forget the ambiance of being across the street from a cemetery; we found it surprising that this motel has an AAA approval. The shower looked ancient - couldn't rally vouch for its cleanliness as sometimes the age just makes things feel dirtier. Didn't feel very safe and the fact that the chain was broken off the front door didn't help. Liked that there was free fruit and coffee in the morning - just wish the bananas weren't all soggy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended!!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
The place was a hole. Incredibly run down, not well maintained and dirty. We didn't even consider eating the breakfast. In fact, we used our bottled water to brush our teeth! We managed to stay the night after thoroughly inspecting the bed for creatures. Being a busy weekend all other hotels were fully booked. But from the broken tiles in the bathroom, dirty carpet and broken(torn off) double lock on the door, it was an extremely unpleasant experience. The employees were all very nice and the bed was actually very comfortable once we decided to get into it and appeared new, but with everything else we were pretty horrified. The place is a disgrace and short of putting a bulldozer to the whole property at the very least they should learn to clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave from Connecticut

This hotel will do just fine for an overnight

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Cons: Newer furnishings and carpets
Location: Ithaca is an eclectic mix. Lots to do in town with music, bars and resturaunts. Lots of nature and scenary.
This hotel is fine for an overnight or weekend stay while visiting the colleges. The room was a bit musty, but a candle handled that in short order. The linens are clean and the room was clean. The furniture is obviously hotel surplus. The water pressure is more than adequate and the hot water was plentiful. The staff are polite and accomidating to requests. The rooms have a fridge and a microwave. The bottom line is this... you are here to sleep and bathe. This ain't the Ritz. If you want that, don't stay here. This is a motel, not a hotel. The price is more than you want to pay, but do you want to pay more than double for a mile down the road or worse yet, a 45 minute drive to Cortland hotels?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uck!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Allow pets, cheap.
Cons: It sort of smells bad... would be good if that didnt happen.
Location: Cornell, ithaca stuff
The good: The folks who run the place are super nice. The bad: everything else. So dirty. So. Dirty. Breakfast is included but for gods sake dont eat anything but the froot loops! Seriously, it is convenient ithaca and price is cheap, they are cool with pets, and if you can get over the filth its not too bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice motel to universities

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Good enough for the price
Cons: Adjust the temperature prior to guest arriving.
Location: Close to universities
Room is spacing. Facilities are good. It is clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roomy room, lots of room

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Large room, comfortable, free coffee and simple breakfast.
We were looking forward to staying there with the family and pets. They'll come with us next time. There's lots of room.