Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location. We had very few affordable choices during the weekend due to the over-crowding of the NASCAR event in Watkins Glen.
Location: Almost walking distance to Buttermilk Falls and a convenient drive to downtown Ithaca.
The check-out process was frustrating. They claimed that the computer was not working, so they asked for our e-mail address to send the receipt. The place was a little dumpy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Overall the hotel was very uncomfortable and dirty. Would not recommended at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this inn is ok

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This inn is ok. it is included breakfast. Dogs are allowed. Room size is ok. Just smell not fresh enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middletown, ny

let's be real...

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: the amenities offered for the price paid
Cons: the shower was concaved and the exterior of the building, particularly upon arrival, is a definite turnoff.
Location: everything is local
the thing i'm most disappointed about is the reviews i read. i was well aware i wasn't staying at the hilton and therefore i wasn't expecting a hilton-type stay. the hotel was fine for what i paid and was actually more than i expected. i've stayed at hotels more than double the price with absolutely no amenities. for $80/night i had free wifi, cable a half (not mini) fridge and microwave along with toiletries, hair dryer, coffee maker and iron. the room was clean and the staff was friendly. what more could you ask for?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

do no go there

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down and start again
Location: Lleft and went to Cortland
The rooms are old, smell musty, bathroom not clean. We cancelled the second night. Thanks goodness they let us. Breakfast poor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joseph from Pa

Needs upgrading

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean. Just needs some updating. But for the price you really can't complain. Bed was very comfortable an clean as well. I'm a fanatic when it comes to clean beds an bathrooms. Would stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, Clean Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: It was clean and offered a nice breakfast menu, including eggs.
Cons: The security lock on the door was missing, so that made me feel a little unsafe, especially since the room was on the ground level.
Location: The location was just outside of the main center of Ithaca, NY. Very scenic area.
I arrived at the hotel close to 1 a.m. Thursday morning. I got checked in quickly and was able to get the room to the right temperature (outside temp was 39 degrees) quickly. The bed and linens were clean and I slept well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Location: The location was our reason for staying. It is just 5 minutes to downtown Ithaca.
For over $100 a night, this place is kind of scary. Forget the ambiance of being across the street from a cemetery; we found it surprising that this motel has an AAA approval. The shower looked ancient - couldn't rally vouch for its cleanliness as sometimes the age just makes things feel dirtier. Didn't feel very safe and the fact that the chain was broken off the front door didn't help. Liked that there was free fruit and coffee in the morning - just wish the bananas weren't all soggy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott from Gouverneur

Will not stay here again

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dirty shower -hair all over. Room smelled. Carpet dirty. Broken sofa sleeper. Road noise. Weak breakfast. Paid premium. Not worth it. I would not recommend this place to anyone only as a last resort. I visit my son often at college. I won't be staying here again.