Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Room could have been better cleaned. Kitchen closed for lunch ten minutes before we checked in. First class device would have been to offer something up rather than directions to a close by spot. Window screen torn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, wonderful grounds, great service

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Staff was great, location was awesome, friendly and inviting.
Cons: A little more attention to the details mentioned above, but nothing I would consider a major complaint.
Location: We spent a lot of time in Essex, Old Lyme and Old Saybrook. Took several long walks, saw a show at The Kate. Plenty to do and lots of friendly people.
We fully enjoyed our stay and would go again. When I reviewed our issues with the staff at checkout they were very attentive. There was a light switch and a couple of lights that didn't work and the heater in the jacuzzi didn't work, causing the water to cool a little too quickly for my liking. That said, the staff also made excellent recommendations for places to go in the area and were generally helpful and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful inn

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Lovely inn, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff...would gladly recommend & will definitely stay again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joyce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ritchardfrom West Hartford, CT

Almost perfection

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Grounds and outside appearance are lovely. One of the separate buildings,The Comstock , is fairly new (2008) with large rooms with a bar area and mini-fridge, spacious lovely bathrooms and decks off the bedrooms. The main reason this isn't 5 star in my eyes is the lack of any soft decor touches and attention to detail. The entrance lobby is stark and not cozy,very unlike the main building. Window valances and something hanging over the beautiful fireplace ( wreath, rug, picture) would do wonders to welcome guests. Better lighting in the bedrooms, sparkling glassware in the bar area , not dusty and attention to details such as paint touch-ups and remotes that work are necessary. Breakfast was fabulous and the original building is beautifully restored with lovely outdoor areas. The staff seems friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Greenwich CT

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2015
The place is very nice and great hospitality. Rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are both awesome. The rooms are not as clean as I would like and they definitively have to change the towels that basically don'y dry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
A lovely New Years Eve destination. The Inn is lovely and comfortable and the restaurant was fantastic, for dinner and breakfast. We'll definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sonyafrom Calgary, Alberta

Such a beautiful place to stay!

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner was so nice! She even helped with our bags. She went out of her way to show us things and find things to see and do in the area. The room was spotless, the bathroom was the nicest I've ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast was included..but was still full menu and service. I cannot say enough nice things about this place. The history is great, the neighborhood is wonderful and close to all Essex communities. Beautiful place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Very clean hotel. with wonderful restaurant!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Very neat and clean. The restaurant was very nice and the food excellent!
Cons: The jetted bathtub in our room was rather old and unattractive. We were on the 2nd floor of the Carriage house. It was difficult to get into the tub.
Location: We did not have time to explore the area
We stayed off "off season", just for 1 night while visiting relatives who live close by. We would definitely stay again if we visit Ivoryton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Forrestfrom Stonington, CT

great stay in Ivoryton

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
wonderful in all ways -- food is sensational