Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Kansas City Mo

Very Mexican

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Very good Mexican food, Great pastries, deserts and baked goods. Separate pools (adults-kids), No food at pool rule, Location, Hotel grounds, staff
Cons: Maintenance-plumbing,painting,door handles on glass doors, more electrical outlets in rooms.
Location: Ixtapa island, Playa Linda beaches, shopping, fishing
Arrived on a Thursday afternoon (Feb 6) check-in was a breeze. Alex the bellboy took our bags and while taking us to our room he gave us the tour of the hotel grounds, very helpful. We stayed 9 days and enjoyed everyone of them. The food, shows. pools, grounds, bars were good. Being so close to Ixtapa Island was a bonus, we spent 3 days there enjoying the beach, food and drinks, and the great massages (by Marta) at Paraiso Escondido, look for the Mexican, American and Canadian flags and ask for Tina at the restaurant. Fishing off the pier was fun, didn't catch anything but talking and watching the locals was interesting. We have stayed in Ixtapa area twice before but enjoyed the Playa Linda area much more, quiet and relaxing. Went deep-sea fishing caught sailfish one day and lots of Bonita's another. Look for Capt. Gilberto Guzman of Zihuatanejo he knows where the fish are. Cons of the hotel, beach has mulch-like debris, restaurants and bars close for lack of people Mon-Thur, Weekends are busy, NO COFFEE early! 6:45 if you're lucky and then its not fresh. Hotel grounds lighting are shut-off at 6:00am so bring a flashlight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry from British Columbia

Great location & wonderful staff

Posted Jan 28, 2014
January 11th to 25th, 2014 My wife and I spent two Wonderful weeks at the Qualton. The Pacific was warm, the pool was fun, the food delicious and the drinks were great. But what was the most delightful were the front desk people, the waiters and bar staff who were polite, friendly and delightful to deal with. Thank you Qualton for a great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Great service and quiet relaxation

Posted Jan 21, 2011
On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel, staff and ease of check in. They welcomed us by name! It was clear that this is a hotel that is popular with Mexican families on vacation but we were welcomed by the other guests with open arms. As the only two non-Mexicans (of almost 400 guests) we were a bit overwhelmed at first but were adopted most evenings by families inviting us to dance and eat with them! It only takes a few words of Spanish to have others open up to you! The room was cleaned (with lovely towel sculptures every day) and the view of the ocean was magnificent. The activities staff are among the hardest working I've ever seen! Meals were served buffet style so not always piping hot but a good variety. Don't be detered by the star rating: it was great! The drinks flowed freely, the staff served us by the pool and there was almost no need to reserve chairs by the pool early in the morning to ensure a spot. The lobby bar was opened early several nights by staff as we were sitting playing cards: we appreciated that extra attention! The palapas on the beach were lovely and drink service there by hotel staff was an unexpected plus. Remember to bring bug spray as the mosquitos can be very aggravating but it is beside the crocodile habitat! No worries, though it was well fenced! Smudgepots were used but they weren't that bad. It is 11km from Ixtapa but the bus runs regularly for 8 pesos. We only felt the need to go into town twice. A lovely quiet get-away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great Place to Feed MOSQUITOS

Posted May 12, 2010
The hotel is right next to natural crocodile habitat and this is probably the reason for the large number of mosquitos out in the evenings. Not sure what was worse though, the bugs or the smoke the hotel staff was spreading around the guest areas. During dinner a staff member would be walking around the dining room with a bucket of smoking charcoal to try to eliminate the mosquitos but by the time dinner was over I felt like a smoked ham. The food was not too bad but seemed very simialr every night, just a different colour sauce, but still tasted much the same. The beach was calm, waves not too large so it made it easy for swimming. The beach was cleaned each evening and that made it nice. The girl that made the rooms up was very nice and very much an artist. It was a race to get back to the room after she was there to see what she had left this time. She would make animals or figures from towels and decorate the bed with flowers, very nice. There were activities such as kayaking and biking but that was only with staff suprvision at certain times. To go any where, shopping or dining out, it was a long bus ride or expensive taxi ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Iowa

"Not Fancy" but "Totally Relaxing"

Posted Mar 1, 2010
If you want a fancy high rise resort don't go here. It is simple, close to the beach, and very relaxing. The grounds are kept up beautifully with all the flowers. Room was very clean and motel had great hospitality. Food was as expected at most all inclusive buffets. Fresh fruit and genuine Mexican food was great. Not many of the motel workers spoke much English but worked very hard to communicate with us. Many Mexican families choose to vacation at the Qualiton which made our visit to Mexico very authentic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queretaro

very good hotel on Ixtapa, Mexico

Posted Dec 23, 2009
verything was fine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Good Price

Posted Mar 5, 2009 on Hotels.com
I like this hotel. For the price it is a great deal. The hotel is a bit older, but it is well maintained and the staff is good and professional. I enjoyed my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Concord, Ca

Great Hotel, Not so good food

Posted Jun 20, 2008
The hotel was great. Great location. From the hotel you can catch a boat to the island and scuba dive. The hotel is basically right on the beach. The room is nice, small. The bed was a little hard. But, the view from our room was worth it. The food wasn't that great. The drinks were bottom dollar, so, not as good either. Half the time the pool bar was not open, all lot of amenities were not available, and the hotel store was open at will. We wanted a quiet honeymoon stay without tourist. We arrived on a Monday. Monday thru Wednesday was quiet, perfect, just what we wanted. Thursday 3 bus loads of tourist showed up! The food was GONE, by the time we came to get breakfast. The quiet was gone. It was that way until Sunday night. We left that following Monday morning. Americans get starred at and not shown to much respect. My new hubby is Mexican, and spoke spanish, but also was not treated with much respect. Also the hotel has a wrist band that you wear, the other hotels will kick you off their property if they see your wrist band, we were just sight seeing! Overall We would stay at the hotel again, just Mon- Wed and we would find better food, maybe try more in town spots. You can not beat the location of the hotel. The beach is great, there are shops in walking distance and all day scuba diving for a cheap boat ride and small fee for gear rental. There is even a small swap area with iguanas, birds, turtles and crocodiles! All this is VERY close walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Improvement

Posted Jun 14, 2008 on Hotels.com
The service and consideration of guests was very poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico, D.F.

General conditions of the hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2008
The conditions of the hotel are bad, requires urgent general maintenance as well as to improve the hygienic conditions of he himself (inclusively there are fleas in the rooms). The quality of foods and drinks is bad. The personnel is amiable and the service in good general