Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington/California

Another great stay

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to a good surf spot. The hotel and grounds are immaculate. The bell staff is so helpful and friendly.
Cons: More drinks in the room!
Location: I was there to surf, and did lots of it. Walking the coral reef on Ixtapa Island was great, with its tide pools and tropical sea life.
My second stay in the last 2 months, which translates to: I really like this hotel. After some confusion, I was upgraded to a suite and I couldn't have been happier. My only complaint is (again), more drinks in the room would be nice. Two waters a day for two people isn't making it. Other than that, a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mérida

Bueno para relajarse

Posted Mar 24, 2015
La instalación y la vista son bonitas, se siente mucha tranquilidad. Todo en el hotel está a la mano. El personal es muy amable. La playa está libre de basura y con las características tipica de la región. Recomiendo el hotel para relajarse un fin de semana o pequeñas vacaciones
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2015
An excellent choice for families. We travelled with our 5 and 6 year old and they absolutely loved it. The coco tony kids club was the highlight of the trip for our children and the ladies that worked there (Aidel and Guadaloupe) were amazing. The pools were big and warm and the water park is great for kids about 8 and under. The beach is compact sand, great for walking on. We will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Hotel bien situer

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: tout etais de premiere classe
Cons: La plage peux etre!! devrais etre nettoyer!!
Location: Nous somme rester a hotel tout le temps, tres bon spectacle!
tout etais parfais! les spectacles en soiree, la bouffe etais parfais.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beautiful Resort with a friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms and location; the staff; the overall cleanliness of the resort.
Cons: the mini bar is not stocked. You arrive to 2 bottles of water in your bathroom and an empty fridge. I don't drink beer but soda would have been nice.
Location: There are all kinds of water activities; great pools and a beautiful beach. The better surf spots are an hour away (and worth the drive!).
I traveled to Ixtapa alone for a surf trip. My room was HUGE with an incredible view of the beach and Isla Ixtapa. For the experienced surfer, the location is so-so, but for the average traveler, the resort offers everything you could want or need. The bellmen pointed me in the direction of surf guides, made calls for me and set me up on surf trips. Without them, the trip could have been disastrous. I had an amazing time and absolutely loved my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Clean and nice

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The open lobby
Cons: No
Location: Close to beach and shopping and the pier.
It was great! We had a fun time at the pool and the food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Great pools dont pay extra for superior king size

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Nice hotel for the price. The pools were great nice, clean and big. Pool side drink service was the best I have ever had!! Overall facility was very clean and well maintained. Food was good, not great not bad. The room was clean, maid service did a great job everyday. The only thing that really upset me was the fact that I paid extra money per night to have a superior room with a king size bed and was only give the option for a standard room with two queen size beds. This really upset me because the hotel said it was because I book through expedia so what do I do I'm 2000 miles from home... So I don't know who is at fault..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna BC

Nice Hotel Affordable

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The service is the best part about the hotel. The pool was also nice. The Italian restaurant had the best food of the trip.
Cons: Don't overbook king size beds since people have to pay extra to get them. The lobby bar needs air conditioning. The beds/pillows.
Location: Go past the dock and there is a way better beach plus a flea market to shop at. I didn't go but you can take a boat to the island for $4 a person.
Azul Ixtapa was an overall great experience. My first impression of a hotel is always checking in which wasn't the best part of the trip. We paid extra money when we reserved this vacation to have a king size bed, but when we got to the counter to check in the only king size bed left was on the ground floor with no ocean view. We now had to pick between that room and a room with two double beds and a view. We went with the view. Getting past the room mix-up, check in was fast and the front desk is really friendly. The room itself is pretty standard, nothing will blow you away, but it's always nice and clean. We had problems with our safe not opening and had to change rooms. The front desk dealt with the problem right away and we moved us to a room right beside the one we were in. The bad parts about the rooms were the rock hard beds and lumpy pillows. We also found the air conditioner to be a bit over the top; we had it set to 30 degrees c and on low fan and it wouldn't stop all night. At least it worked.The service is great look for Albelardo to make your drinks at the pool bar, or Marcos to serve you pool side. This is a place that caters more to families, which wasn't a problem for us, but if you don't want kids around it's probably not for you. The food was pretty good, I liked how there was actually Mexican food at the buffets, but some of it wasn't that great. We had a great meal at the Italian place. I would recommend this resort and think that it was a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacaciones todo incluido muy agradables

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: En general, todo bien, tiene lo necesario para que no te aburras y disfrutes la estancia.
Cons: No encuentro nada relevante que decir. Quizás dar más opciones para salidas turísticas fuera del hotel, para conocer lugares.
El todo incluído estuvo muy bien, buena y variada comida, lugares agradables y bien atendidos. Las albercas e instalaciones (incluído el gym) muy buenos. Las actividades bastante variadas, para todos los gustos en una familia. Buenos espectáculos (la cena de fin de año estuvo muy bien). Ixtapa fenomenal, buen clima y buena infraestructura. En general, disfrutamos mucho las vacaciones y es una opción muy recomendable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com