Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing week in Ixtapa

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The resort was so clean and the staff was very attentive. The Oriental restaurant in my opinion was the best and then the Mexican. The Oyster Bar was very romantic. Short cab ride to the tourist part of Ixtapa. I recommend Emilio's pizza and The Generals restaurant if you want to get off the resort to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best sunsets ever!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: We liked pretty much everything about the Azul - the location was great. We could walk to the pier and take a water taxi wherever we wanted to go.
Cons: It would have been nice to be able to experience some of the other specialty restaurants - being limited to just 3 was a little disappointing.
Location: We took a taxi into Ixtapa but found out the water taxis are the way to go - very scenic and reasonably priced and the fishing trip was great!
We have been vacationing in many different locations in Mexico and this was one of the best! What it lacked in beachfront was made up for with the awesome pools! The spa was excellent - a definite "must do" when you stay at the Azul! It was probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The specialty restaurants added nice variety so we didn't get tired of the buffet. The room was incredible - magnificent view, the in-room whirl pool was amazing - we could see right out to Ixtapa Island from in the tub! The robes and large walk-in closet and beautiful shower all made for a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie

Extremely Nice

Posted Mar 23, 2014
As frequent Cancun visitors, we were hesitant to try Ixtapa but we are SO glad we did. The hotel is new and every single employee makes it his or her business to make sure guests are in a clean, comfortable, and safe environment. The airport is small, new and efficient. No mass hysteria in customs like in Cancun. Area outside the resort is new, well planned, clean and beautiful. We especially enjoyed the walking/biking trails. The rooms were exceptional. We walked out of our cab, spent two minutes checking into our room. The views were beautiful. Some reviews mention negative experiences with food. We couldn't disagree more. We ate at the basic buffet every night and were impressed each time. The menu includes many traditional Mexican dishes at every meal which are worth trying. Every lunch and dinner featured two in decibel soups...we couldn't get enough of the Sopa de tortilla. The newness of the resort was evident in the energy efficient design measures like motion sensing lights and escalators. The seamless accessibility plan for folks in wheelchairs made it possible for everyone to enjoy all of the resort even though the outdoor areas were on three different terraced levels. We are very glad we took a chance on this new resort and we are already planning a return trip. We just can't say enough good things. Americans, make sure you bring small bills and/or pesos. American dollars are not as widely accepted in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Minneapolis,MN

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The whole Hotel
Cons: The only thing I would change is you could put up daily buffet menu
Been awhile since I have been to Mexico, my wifes first trip. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A place to go to find great weather

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The food and the jacuzzi
Cons: It would be nice if someone that could speak English would meet us when we arrived at the hotel desk as we checked in so we weren't so confused
Visiting ixtapa island really made the vacation go over the top,the reef and swimming there was more then I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ilene from Flagstaff, AZ

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: William Miller set up a wonderful excursion for us to the ruins and a tour of the area with an amazing beach side lunch! Unforgettable!!
Cons: Food - not much diversity. More access to a la carte restaurants. Another bar that you can pull up a bar stool and relax.
Beautiful new hotel. Gracious and attentive staff. Italian restaurant and Oriental were our favorite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by June from San Diego, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Service and cleanliness were great!
Cons: The food buffet got a little boring, began to all taste the same.
Location: Location was a little far from town, with almost no beach out in front.
We had a great stay at the Azul Grand. The hotel was beautiful, very clean and well maintained. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a large jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, lovely ocean view deck. The staff was extremely friendly and all the service was top notch. A couple of negatives were how far the hotel was from town and the lack of nice beach out in front, however, to the left of the hotel you can access a very nice beach, about a 5 minute walk. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Yuma Arizona

Excellent hotel and staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: everything.
Cons: Perhaps a larger selection of beer, and a mini bar in the room
Location: Beachfront, easy access to other attractions. Close to sister hotel and Playa Linda beach town.
On our recent 10 day stay, we enjoyed all of the hotel amenities and the friendly staff. The hotel was the cleanest, safest hotel we have encountered in over 10 years. We are already planning a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Beautiful resort, close to the beach. Great for couples. Rooms were luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from minnesota

BEST VACATION EVER

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: great service, amazing views, beach access, beautiful facility
Cons: privacy in the bathrooms. the doors for the shower and toilet were fogged glass with no handle or lock
Location: See our friend Charlie if you want to do any tours! he runs up and down playa linda beach and will hook you up with anything you need.
My boyfriend and I stayed 7 days and the Grand Azul blew us away! the facilities were brand new and in great condition and the whole hotel was VERY clean. They even had a staff member whose job was to sweep up flowers that dropped on the ground. The daily buffet was awesome! omelets made to order, traditional american and Mexican dishes as well as cereal and fruit for kids! the room views were amazing. Every room had ocean views. the 3 restaurants housed by the hotel served beautiful and delicious food. Drinks were strong and the bars were plentiful. I had a massage at the spa and it was the best experience i had! 2 and a half hour of pampering! the locals were SO friendly and the staff was VERY accommodating.Every staff member i encountered went above and beyond to please the guests. I was a bit skeptical about previous reviews i read but everyone of the issues i read about was either not true or had been resolved. The sister resort is amazing too and they give you access to their bars and pools. not sure about food tho. I could go on and on about how wonderful Ixtapa and the Grand Azul is but there is no need my only advice is to book this hotel RIGHT NOW!