Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham, WA

Beautiful resort!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent and everything was top notch! The infinity pool was amazing!
Location: The resort is not close to town. It is about $12 to take a taxi round trip to town so if you may want to way that if you like "nightlife".
This property is beautiful! Every room is an ocean view suite with an amazing view! The staff is very friendly and helpful however their English is not the best, but it's Mexico right!? :) The food in the specialty restaurants was amazing! Overall this is the best resort I have stayed in in Mexico. And I have stayed in 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, alberta

New hotel beautiful view

Posted Nov 17, 2014
- a short stay in Ixtapa - be sure to stay at the Grand and not the sister hotel which is 'tired' and not as nice - the property needs to define the adult pools versus kids pools. Unfortunately there were many 'unsupervised' children with lots of horseplay in the infinity pool - a la carte restaurants were good and the service was excellent - elevators are slow and they limit access when the hotel is partially filled. Can't imagine what it would be like when the hotel is at capacity. -property is beatiful and well maintained - the grand has inly been open less than 2 years. They will no doubt work out the minor issues and it wi be great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest hotel in ever been too

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Awesome hotel , great staff very friendly. One problem if you american can be a little hard trying to to have conversations if you don't know Spanish. Most of the staff knows little Spanish but others not so much, I understand were in their country but also wish it was easier to have more staff speak better English especially front desk. They tried though all of them which I appreciate! Loved the hotel and the pools were amazing we loved the infinity pool and was great right by the ocean. Would come back again for sure, would learn more Spanish though !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a nice getaway.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Nice room and facilities.
Cons: Better/free Wi-Fi in rooms. Consistency in services.
Location: Not much to do near by. Nice pools, gym.
Food was better than I expected. Some services were limited due to it being off-season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The spa experience is amazing. The pools are also amazing. The staff super nice and always willing to help.
Cons: The food is good but it can be better. Food needs to be available after 9pm. The pools close too early also. The beach area needs to be longer.
Location: Not enough activities at the hotel to keep the young crowd busy. The night shows can be better.
The hotel is excellent. The rooms are incredible. The staff very professional and courteous. Overall my experience was very good with plenty or places to relax and enjoy my drinks. Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo is a beautiful place to visit.
2 out of 5
by david

Too many locals

Posted May 16, 2014
Nice clean hotel, but less than handful of guests were from US and Canada, this hotel caters to Mexican nationals who travel by land, no transportation to and from airport provided by hotel..not my kind of resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Hotel, staff, pools, and beverages were great. Food was just a notch above terrible, but kind of expected from buffet style meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing week in Ixtapa

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The resort was so clean and the staff was very attentive. The Oriental restaurant in my opinion was the best and then the Mexican. The Oyster Bar was very romantic. Short cab ride to the tourist part of Ixtapa. I recommend Emilio's pizza and The Generals restaurant if you want to get off the resort to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best sunsets ever!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: We liked pretty much everything about the Azul - the location was great. We could walk to the pier and take a water taxi wherever we wanted to go.
Cons: It would have been nice to be able to experience some of the other specialty restaurants - being limited to just 3 was a little disappointing.
Location: We took a taxi into Ixtapa but found out the water taxis are the way to go - very scenic and reasonably priced and the fishing trip was great!
We have been vacationing in many different locations in Mexico and this was one of the best! What it lacked in beachfront was made up for with the awesome pools! The spa was excellent - a definite "must do" when you stay at the Azul! It was probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The specialty restaurants added nice variety so we didn't get tired of the buffet. The room was incredible - magnificent view, the in-room whirl pool was amazing - we could see right out to Ixtapa Island from in the tub! The robes and large walk-in closet and beautiful shower all made for a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie

Extremely Nice

Posted Mar 23, 2014
As frequent Cancun visitors, we were hesitant to try Ixtapa but we are SO glad we did. The hotel is new and every single employee makes it his or her business to make sure guests are in a clean, comfortable, and safe environment. The airport is small, new and efficient. No mass hysteria in customs like in Cancun. Area outside the resort is new, well planned, clean and beautiful. We especially enjoyed the walking/biking trails. The rooms were exceptional. We walked out of our cab, spent two minutes checking into our room. The views were beautiful. Some reviews mention negative experiences with food. We couldn't disagree more. We ate at the basic buffet every night and were impressed each time. The menu includes many traditional Mexican dishes at every meal which are worth trying. Every lunch and dinner featured two in decibel soups...we couldn't get enough of the Sopa de tortilla. The newness of the resort was evident in the energy efficient design measures like motion sensing lights and escalators. The seamless accessibility plan for folks in wheelchairs made it possible for everyone to enjoy all of the resort even though the outdoor areas were on three different terraced levels. We are very glad we took a chance on this new resort and we are already planning a return trip. We just can't say enough good things. Americans, make sure you bring small bills and/or pesos. American dollars are not as widely accepted in this area.