Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fontana,california

Like a lot close to the beach nice and clean pool

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Employee attention,night shows ,dinners and security.
Cons: Replace or add more arcade games.
Location: Like it.
Have a good experience over all.night shows entertaining ,nice swimming pool,employee attention good security.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by BarceloIxtapa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. We appreciate the time you took for writing your comments about your experience with the services you received at the hotel. We are pleased to hear your stay was as good as you expected We are looking forward you to serving you again. Yours sincerely, Ángel Cruz Director.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Worst food EVER!!!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: FOOD and room selection that they do NOT HAVE!
I have stayed at this Barceló over 160 days in the last 9 years. This the worst food I have ever seen in any hotel in my life. We stayed 7 nights and there was not one day or one meal that we could finish. There was a coffee pot in the room but after many attemps to get coffee we gave up. There was 4 mornings where they had no coffee until after 7 am. Don't look for coffee if you wake up early. The Junior Suite that we paid for not even at this hotel any more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Awesome!! Right in beach!!!!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
First time visiting Ixtapa, and choose Barcelo hotel after reading many reviews for different ones. We arrived earlier than check in and they were able to give us 1 of the 2 rooms right away at no additional cost and our all inclusive bracelets too. The rooms were very comfortable, modern, spacious and the ocean view balcony was amazing! Staff was all very helpful, nice and great at providing recommendations with things to do and see. Food was delicious, we didn't try any of the "American" dishes (hamburger, hotdogs, or cold salads) but everything else was very good. All in all for price, location, and service I'd definitely recommend this hotel. We're already talking about returning next year :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelley from Shoreview, MN

Phenomenal Stay at the Barcelo

Posted Mar 26, 2014
What an incredible trip! After reading some of the reviews, I was nervous about our trip to Ixtapa. My husband, three girls (ages 9, 7 and 4) and I had an amazing time. The food was incredible (they always had cereal, ice cream and a sandwich bar for the kids) and we couldn't decide what we liked more (the kids loved the nachos and guac). The pools were fabulous and the ocean/beach beautiful. Rutila was the "hostess with the mostess" and we loved seeing her smiling face everyday. The professional photographers (Fanie, Fantanine & Faby) were fun, easy to work with and did a dynamite job. Finally, Johsua was an attentive and excellent server. Our stay couldn't have been better. The room was exceptionally clean and neat, with incredible sunset views. The nightly performances were a highlight for us and our kids. Our favorite dinner was at "Sunsets" with unlimited lobster, steak and shrimp. John Paul and Rebekka were excellent activity directors, and we felt really comfortable leaving our kids with Paulina and Elizabeth in the "Barcy Club". Highly recommend this hotel, its staff and Ixtapa in general. Dynamite time had by all! Thank you Barcelo, we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, right on the beach. Great pools!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
The food was great! The restaurants were awesome. Awesome views. Great staff! Very relaxing. Loved the sushi restaurant. Super cheap to schedule excursions on the beach. Went fishing, had a blast. Massages and parasailing for $20! On the beach.Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by corrie from minnesota

Fabulous hotel in a great location.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Cons: More variety in food selection between lunch and dinner
Location: It is the perfect beach location and close to town. It is a very safe location.
We have stayed her many times and will continue to stay here because it is such a wonderful hotel. The rooms are great with fantastic views and amenities. The staff are always kind and helpful. The food is consistently good and the service is awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Northern ca.

Great stay

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Our stay was extremely nice. The hotel staff could of not been more helpful . The property is older but well kept. Our room was clean. The food was good for the value if our stay. I would stay again at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, NE

Nice hotel close to beach and shopping

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Close to Ixtapa shopping and dinning
Cons: Faster service in most areas. More food variety, daily change and buffet layout (ketchup after burgers not before where people are in line, syrup too)
Location: Shopping, dining, bars, Zihuat
Loved the turtles!!! Nice room but would have preferred larger beds, very clean. Food options OK. Other than the pool bar, bars could be more conveniently located. Actives so so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by andy from Orlando

Good for Business

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
For our circumstance, worked out great with the all-inclusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: You can walk right down to the beach, with plenty of beach chairs.
Cons: The food leaves a lot to be desired. The specialty restaurant was wonderful, but the regular buffet for lunch and dinner were not very good.
Location: The location was excellent as far as walking to town.