Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville, Tennessee

Fabulous

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Staff super friendly, all way called us by name. Food delicious, spa was great, cooking class and margarita class fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprise Birthday Party in Mexico

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The Capella staff is absolutely OUTSTANDING. They were able to accommodate everything I needed for my fiancés surprise party! It was absolutely perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Fantastic place!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The plunge pool in our room was just amazing! With just letting them know, the staff will heat it or cool it at your convenience.
Cons: we found the room service menu a little limited, but not bad.
Location: We went to Troncones and Isla Ixtapa. Both are great places.
Amazing place. The weather was lovely. The staff is very friendly, especially Luz. We would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Capella Ixtapa

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The hotel is quite amazing situated on the jungle cliffs of Ixtapa. The building décor is a maze of tunnels and offering extensive panoramic ocean views from nearly every nook. Each room has a 180 degree of the ocean. The staff is exceptional and on it when it comes to your personal care and service. The food is magnificent and tailored to your specifications. It’s definitely a couples retreat, a place for romance, mental gel, skinny dip on your private patio heated water spool. As for activities, this place is short of the many to do’s other than hang out and enjoy the secluded island like atmosphere with a great book read.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BHou-Tx from Houston, TX

Wonderful Hotel for R&R and Incredible Views

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: This resort offers incredible views, service, food, and provides an environment conducive to total rest and relaxation.
Cons: The behind-the-scenes service could be improved. (i.e. housekeeping, maintenance, etc.) these ares were lacking and detracted from our experience.
Location: The resort is set into a cliff overlooking the Pacific. There isn't a lot to do immediately near by that most tourists would enjoy without a taxi.
My wife and I stayed at Capella Ixtapa for our annual anniversary vacation. To repeat almost any review you will ever read regarding Capella Ixtapa, the scenery, views, food, and service are second to none. Flying into Zihuatanejo (non-stop from Houston) is a complete breeze and you can be at the hotel from the tarmac within about 30 minutes (compared to more crowded destinations like Cabo, Cancun, etc.). As the title of this review suggests, this resort is designed to accomplish one main task - ensure a relaxing and serene stay. With that being said, there isn't a whole lot to do at the resort that doesn't fall within that construct. (Not necessarily a bad thing, but just a point of consideration for those who prefer to mix in some adventure, shopping, sight-seeing, etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chad from Chicago

Outstanding romantic private get away

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel. Gorgeous setting and luxurious rooms. Staff was outstanding. Food everywhere was outstanding as well. They really go the extra mile to ensure their guests are sufficiently satisfied. Perfect place for a relaxing tropical decompression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JC from Minneapolis

Amazing views of the Pacific Ocean

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Just returned from a long weekend stay at the hotel Capella. Beautiful hotel and location. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JR from Los Angeles

Ixtapa Solitude

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: view, privacy, room, food, private pool.
Cons: sometime the service was a little slow.
Location: The city of Ziihautanejo was nearby with it's charming downtown. Isle Ixtapa is a short bike ride and water taxi away. Great local Food there!
Wonderful and private resort in a spectacular setting. My wife and I needed a quiet and peaceful vacation and this place delivered. The views were spectacular and the private patio with plunge pool really sealed the deal. A beautiful beach was a bike ride away. Service was friendly, food delicious. We've stayed at Four Season and other comparable resorts, but this one felt smaller and more private. They lend bikes so you can ride to the local beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from SF

Gorgeous Seaside Seculsion

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
All details covered, before, during and after our stay. Couldn't have asked for a better place to experience the peaceful beauty of Ixtapa's coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tracy from Beverly Hills

Paradise

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We sneak away for a three days trip and it couldn't be any better. The view from the penthouse was unbelievable. The food was fresh and very friendly staff. Will come back soon.