Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bev heggenstaller from mexico

great location

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great little older hotel. Loved the location and the views. It is not fancy but very adequate. We were a group with four rooms and the wide terraces made it great for socializing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value for the cost, nice pool, clean rooms. No parking, only on street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Scott from Cal.

Sun and Fun

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was relaxing , very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by ele from Minnesota

Great Location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The pool area overlooking the bay was beautiful. The location was perfect!
Cons: The rooms needed updating. Mattresses were hard. Air conditioning was loud. Bathrooms needed total improvement from new plumbing to grouting.
Location: 5 minute walk to outstanding restaurants! 10 minute walk to banks downtown. 5 minute walk to Mercado for fresh fruits and vegetables!
Perfect hotel for my husband and myself, but I would not like to mislead others. The hotel was within walking distance to many local restaurants, the market, and downtown. Taxis are located outside the perimeter of the hotel for people not able to walk. The staff was accommodating, helpful, and pleasant. Rooms were cleaned usually by noon. But there was a lot more needed in the rooms that cleaning could not overcome. General repairs needed to be done before I would recommend this hotel to any of our friends. However, outdoor maintenance (pool area, grounds around the hotel) was exceptional. The pool area overlooking the bay was perhaps the most gorgeous and relaxing site of the entire hotel. The common kitchen area on the 1st floor provided a community for people, ideal for conversation and getting to know one another. For the thrifty traveler, or the traveler not looking for a resort atmosphere, this hotel is perfect.
2 out of 5
by Golfgemini

old hotel in need of complete make over

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: not a thing
Cons: bull doze it down and build a new one!
beds we awful, pillows worse, bathrooms so run down and in dire need of repair towels old and scratchy does not live up to reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dorkie from Winona Mn

Quiet elderly hotel with great view, great locatio

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better mattresses
Location: Close to La Ropa Beach and downtown. Many good cafes in the area.
Older hotel with good and helpful staff. Large patio to use and refrigerators and stoves to use. Smaller but nice pool with great view. We had a great stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View the Sky, Surf, and Village

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Sound of the water, charming rooms.
Location: Best for the beach and watching beach activity, yet quietly set above it all.
Great location. Cool, spacious, quiet and friendly. Watch the little boats come in and out of the harbor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from Wisconsin

Nothing special, but good location and great views

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: view, pool, access to beach and restaurants
Cons: checking in was the pits, original room was VERY bare necessities
Location: great location
We reserved the very basic/cheapest room - NOT GOOD! 3 beds and that's it! We upgraded (and paid an extra 600!!!) to get a "suite". This was much nicer, had a king size and a double bed, prived kitchen area outside sliding doors, a "private" jacuzzi, which we affectionately called our "cement pond". Had to be manually dumped, cleaned and filled by staff #which they willingly did#. We shared a large veranda area with others, but since there were not a lot of others, we had a lot of area to ourselves. Unbeatable view of the bay. Good beach access. Easy walk to "town" and tons of good places to eat and drink. We only ate breakfast there one day, adequate, had to pay cash, would not put it on our room. Drinks very poor. My marguiritas #on the one night we tried it during happy hour# tasted like just mix. Again, had to pay, couldn't put it on our room. Because both of these experiences were so poor, we just went elsewhere for drinks/food. Zihuat has a LOT of good restaurants to choose from The pool area was great. The hotel did not have a lot of guests, we had no problem getting chairs/table. Tourists are way down in zihuat and ixtapa and that is very sad. Some restaurants that we loved have closed, and we sensed that the locals were very concerned about this, and went out of there way to be friendly and nice. We have always felt safe there #using common sense# and would not hesitate to return again and again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KJ from Los Angeles County, CA, USA

Great location, bayfront views, spare back rooms,

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Pros: Budget rates, amazing views from the front rooms.
Cons: HARD mattresses, spare furnishings, curtained bathroom.
Location: Perfect for beach and town.
Location is everything--both where the hotel is sited (perfect bay views, easy walk to town) and where your room is within the hotel (back rooms dreary; front rooms bright with amazing views). Our first (back) room was dark, with only a thin curtain separating the bath from the sleeping area. Un-air conditioned but otherwise comfortable living room with fridge and kitchen, separate from the air conditioned bedroom area. Good for families or to put teens in by themselves.Bedroom area spare and depressing, with those comically concrete beds Mexicans love. Sad little pillow wouldn't satisfy a sleepy kitten. Fortunately upgraded to a bayfront suite--the Sun & Moon became Night & Day! Bright, cheerful, well decorated; real door on the bathroom, private jacuzzi (but rarely hot). Great views, but still had hard mattresses. Rooms have outside furniture, which other guests don't treat as private: always some strange kid at our outside dining table lost in his electronics. Same with our hammock. Pool small but with nice views. No public jacuzzi. Long stairway down to beach. Reception (and larger pool) are across the street at a sister hotel, which also has a rooftop bar (with view) plus a (viewless) dining room where you can get meals (we didn't, though). The Sun & Moon would be fine for visitors on a budget who still want views and location. But most travellers (from the US at least) over 30 would find the hotel --especially the rear rooms-- too barebones for a vacation getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roberto M.

Awesome hotel for the cost!

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located near the beach, it's clean, the pool is warm and clean, the hotel staff was very friendly, accommodating, and the hotel had everything we could want for our stay. We will definitely come back to this hotel.