Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. close to town and everything. there is a nice small market across the street for everything you need. friendly staff and a beautiful location!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michelle from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful and quaint

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just stayed two nights (July 2014) at the Hotel Aura del Mar and it exceeded expectations. The hotel was charming and authentic and gave a local Mexican feel but also was modern enough to meet American expectations of quality. Location was good and close to markets and restaurants. On the beach and while there are nicer beaches around, it was lovely. Small pool and a decent on-site restaurant. The room was cute and the beds comfortable. Beautiful view from the balcony and a personal hot tub (which we didn't use). Good air conditioning. A nice relatively inexpensive hotel choice - would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eryca from Long Beach, CA

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose Aura Del Mar based on it's very reasonable rates, great reviews, and the fact the rooms would have a jacuzzi. The entire experience was just incredible. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The adjacent restaurant, Bistro Del Mar was delis! The walk to down town or to the port was 10 mins and felt very safe regardless of the hour. The hotel itself felt very authentic, we didn't want a large commercial experience. The room was decorated with cool folk art and mirrors, we loved it. I HIGHLY suggest getting a jacuzzi room. We got the master suite and it was great. We filled it with cool water and laid in it when we wanted some privacy, though privacy was easy to come by since the hotel was so small and quaint. I already can't wait to come back. Everything about it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice and Dave from Philadelphia

Great stay at hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Staff was exceptional and service was as well. Both hotel and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Uraina from Seattle

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic decor and views from every room, meticulous detail in cleaning rooms 2x/day and maintenance of the property and beautiful landscaping (of which they use the flowers to decorate your bed). The service was always kind and eager to help. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from Texas

Excellent location

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The ocean view and tropical scenery, and most of all the friendly staff!
Cons: Rooms need some updating.
Location: Easy access to downtown from the streets or from the beach. Catholic Church is easy accessible from hotel. There are several nice restaurants nearby.
Hotel staff is very efficient and friendly. Most go out of their way to help you out providing reliable information about restaurants and locations. The pool is kept nice and clean and there always are lounge chairs available for use for all their guests. Hotel is located not too far from downtown Zihuatanejo. There are many stairways and steps to claim to access all the amenities available in the hotel. The ocean view from all the rooms is excellent. Do not recommend paying extra for jacuzzi. But be aware the hotel It is not plush or five stars! If you like sea food Zihuatanejo is the place to be at. But the restaurant at the hotel is extremely expensive and not very good in the preparation of dishes. The beach in front of hotel is small and not very pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Boulder

Great Little gem

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We did not have too much time only really one full day but we loved the resort and the staff, room and views and location perfect! You can not go wrong staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and great location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Updating rooms
Location: Beach, town, water taxi close. Great waves for kids to play in. Other beaches generally don't get quite the surf if you like that in a beach
Best service at any hotel I've ever had. Staff were unbelievably accommodating and helpful especially when we needed it most. Got into some passport difficulties and they not only found a notary but accompanied my wife, translated and were absolutely fantastic in a very stressful time. They were great the rest of week as well. Location is great for Zihua. We've been to Zihua several times and liked this location the best. Beach was less crowded than others and it was easy to get to town and the ferry to Las Gatas beach. Nice to be on the beach and also have a view which is rare for properties to have both. Great with kids as well. They loved the restaurant - a little too much - and had some great meals. Rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Carlos, Alexander and everyone else for making our stressful trip so absolutely enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Portland, Or.

Perfect compromise between quality and value.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect. Walk to town and walk the other direction to the best beach(PLaya la Roppa)
Cons: The bathrooms are the only thing lacking in our opinion. The lighting is slightly dark which made my wife's makeup a slight hassle.
Location: Close to everything! Walk to town. 2 blocks to Patio Mexica-cooking school and the excellent restaurant Ruffo.
We loved this hotel. Unfortunately they were full for the last 4 days of our trip so we had to go elsewhere. So we decided to error on the side of quality and paid more for what we thought would be a better hotel. But we liked this place much better. Friendly staff, private balconies with a straight on view to the beach. That and the fact that there is hotel between your room and a quiet road in front of the hotel means this is a quiet hotel. For example at our second hotel it was high up a hill and consequently from the balcony all the noises from the street below could be heard. In fact we went back and looked at some other rooms(one without a kitchen as we never used it) at Aura so that next year we will know which room to reserve. The restaurant is fantastic. It is a little pricey but definitely one of the better restaurants in town. They had the best Ceviche Blanco in town and I tried it everywhere.