Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Muy bonito y agusto! El hotel esta muy bien cuidado
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Great Stay at the Aura

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, food, great staff.
Cons: Would be nice if it had a bigger pool.
Stayed for 3 days with my wife and had a great time. Room was clean and spacious. We both loved the restaurant at the Aura. I had the oven baked pizza twice and my wife loved the enchiladas, although the drinks could've been better. There are not very many palapas on the beach, but the few they have are reserved for the hotel guests. Great access to the beach. Make sure you have the address of the hotel with you! Our taxi driver didn't know where the hotel was and we wasted a good hour as he stopped and asked for directions. It is a good hotel for the price and we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Old World Charm

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The view is awesome!! Comfortable beds, clean room, air conditioner in the room worked great, coffee was good, bottled water was supplied, food at restaurant was good, people were very nice,beach area well kept, pool was clean. What more can I say it was awesome!! Showers were not hot but the weather was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom laguna niguel

Great Mexican feel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Excellent location within a short beachfront walk to downtown. Restaurant Del Mar is excellent with gourmet quality food and service. Only complaint would be to off On Demand american language TV or movies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

We loved our trip!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: We loved the location and amenities. Really appreciated the air conditioning.
Cons: NOTHING!!
Location: This hotel is right on the beach. You can walk to so many wonderful restaurants. Fishing, swimming, snorkeling, zip lining, shopping...it's all there.
The Hotel Aura del Mar was perfect for us. The room was spacious and comfortable. The view was amazing. This property does have stairs down to the pool and beach, but we were aware of this when we booked so we had no surprises. This was our first time in Zihautanejo and we were happy to find no crowds. The pool and beach were never crowded. This hotel is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We cannot say enough nice things!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Corbett, Oregon

This will be "our place" from now on.

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our first time in Zihua and in visiting Mexico as a couple. Every couple we met had been a repeat visitor to Zihua. but also this hotel. We don't feel much desire to find another property on what will surely be our annual visit. The Madeira beach was just fine and having the "private" beach with palapas was a real plus. The pool here is gorgeous and sparkling clean. The staff is wonderful..Carlos (desk clerk) particularly helpful. Nearby restaurants, bodega, juice lady, all convenient and reasonably priced. The on-site restuarant (Bistro Del Mar) a real plus. Armondo, the breakfast and lunch waiter, always took care of us. When he says "it is my pleasure to serve you", he means it. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. We had the best week vacation in 15 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ericafrom San Miguel de Allende

Romantic, relaxing, beautiful.

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here several times. It is the most beautifully detailed truly Mexican hotel far from the ugly corporate monsters at Ixtapa up the road . Courteous staff, individual private patios for each room, flowers on the beds. Beach access unlike some of the neighboring hotels. It's perfect .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Very welcoming and comfortable.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. Great helpful staff. Perfect location for beach and town. Spacious rooms with views. Frig and a coffee pot. Comfy beds. Nice grounds. Kayaks and paddle boards to borrow. Good little pool. Nice spa. We loved it and stayed even longer this time. Many repeat visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palo Alto, CA

Great location, awesome hotel!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
This is a really beautiful older hotel. Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days in November. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was pleasantly spacious and functional. There was a flat screen TV, in room wifi (advertised as high speed but it was mostly slow), a small refrigerator, iron & ironing board & basic toiletries. The room had a large balcony with jacuzzi (that we didn't use), sun beds and table & chairs. It was very clean and the service was excellent. We had 2 maintenance issues which were dealt with immediately & professsionally. All the rooms in this hotel are ocean facing with a view. This means that there are quite a few stairs but totally worth the effort. I'm not fit at all but managed to climb to the top without stopping although huffing a little. The pool area was awesome with plenty of sun beds, chairs & hammocks. There is also a spa and my husband had a massage which he said was excellent. The restaurant is on the beach and we ate there the 1st night as we were too tired to go elsewhere. The food was OK but overpriced. There are many excellent restaurants one block away from the hotel at street level. Town, the market and more shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance along the waterfront from the hotel. Overall an outstanding experience and I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Had the great pleasure of a stay at the delightful hotel Aura del Mar in Zihuatanejo. This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing complete with talking parrot. We found the food to be excellent. Would highly recommend this charming hotel.