Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Very welcoming and comfortable.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. Great helpful staff. Perfect location for beach and town. Spacious rooms with views. Frig and a coffee pot. Comfy beds. Nice grounds. Kayaks and paddle boards to borrow. Good little pool. Nice spa. We loved it and stayed even longer this time. Many repeat visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palo Alto, CA

Great location, awesome hotel!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
This is a really beautiful older hotel. Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days in November. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was pleasantly spacious and functional. There was a flat screen TV, in room wifi (advertised as high speed but it was mostly slow), a small refrigerator, iron & ironing board & basic toiletries. The room had a large balcony with jacuzzi (that we didn't use), sun beds and table & chairs. It was very clean and the service was excellent. We had 2 maintenance issues which were dealt with immediately & professsionally. All the rooms in this hotel are ocean facing with a view. This means that there are quite a few stairs but totally worth the effort. I'm not fit at all but managed to climb to the top without stopping although huffing a little. The pool area was awesome with plenty of sun beds, chairs & hammocks. There is also a spa and my husband had a massage which he said was excellent. The restaurant is on the beach and we ate there the 1st night as we were too tired to go elsewhere. The food was OK but overpriced. There are many excellent restaurants one block away from the hotel at street level. Town, the market and more shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance along the waterfront from the hotel. Overall an outstanding experience and I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Had the great pleasure of a stay at the delightful hotel Aura del Mar in Zihuatanejo. This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing complete with talking parrot. We found the food to be excellent. Would highly recommend this charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, California

Zihuatanejo exudes the charm of old Mexico

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Great location for the view and the breeze. Also, close enough to walk to town "el centro", the market, the archeolgical museum. Restaurants abound.
Cons: The hotel is old and needing maintenance. Not to detract from its' charm, but it seems to be crumbling away.
Location: Great as a base for exploring the area. Be sure and visit the archeolgical musuem. Also, for snorkeling and diving, Captain Frederick is the best!
The Hotel Aura del Mar (formerly Brisas del Mar) is perfectly situated to catch the views, the breezes and the sunsets over the bay. The front desk stands in front of an amazing tapestry; it is done by hand, colorful and imaginative. In a simple way it illustrates the cycles of life and the joys we can all appreciate. Hallways and rooms are decorated with original paintings and examples of Mexican folk art can be found throughout the hotel. The restaurant with its' attentive and competent staff also faces the bay. There is a wood fired pizza oven that bakes pizza to order from noon to six. Happy hour is on the terrace daily (except Wednesdays) from 5 to 6. Two drinks for the price of one and they throw in the sunset for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Excellent service, clean, great view, beach, comfortable rooms. Authentic Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. close to town and everything. there is a nice small market across the street for everything you need. friendly staff and a beautiful location!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Michoacán

Todas las comodidades de un hotel de lujo

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Servicio, limpieza, amenidades, vista.
Location: Los sábados la gente del pueblo acude a la plaza para disfrutar de diferentes actividades, hay muy buenos restaurantes como La sirena Gorda,etc.
En la habitación: tele, internet, a.c., jacuzzi, hamaca, cocineta, batas de baño, toallas de playa y de baño, plancha, secadora, espejo de aumento, shampoo, jabón de cara, de cuerpo de manos, crema, enjuague... mucho más!! La vista desde mi habitación era sensacional. Impecable, personal amabilísimo, alberca deliciosa, por la noche te iban a dejar un dulcesito y dejar la cama lista para dormir. Solo la playa estaba algo sucia porque había llovido y cerca está la salida de un canal. Cerca del centro del pueblo y de buenos restaurantes. Me gustó. Y buenas tarifas con Expedia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michellefrom Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful and quaint

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just stayed two nights (July 2014) at the Hotel Aura del Mar and it exceeded expectations. The hotel was charming and authentic and gave a local Mexican feel but also was modern enough to meet American expectations of quality. Location was good and close to markets and restaurants. On the beach and while there are nicer beaches around, it was lovely. Small pool and a decent on-site restaurant. The room was cute and the beds comfortable. Beautiful view from the balcony and a personal hot tub (which we didn't use). Good air conditioning. A nice relatively inexpensive hotel choice - would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom distrito federal

hotel agradable, excelente ubicacion.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: restaurante las brisas
Cons: Actividades dentro del hotel
Location: cerca del centro y disponibilidad de taxis a cualquier hora
la pasamos bien en estos 4 dias, el restaurant es una maravilla. delicioso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erycafrom Long Beach, CA

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose Aura Del Mar based on it's very reasonable rates, great reviews, and the fact the rooms would have a jacuzzi. The entire experience was just incredible. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The adjacent restaurant, Bistro Del Mar was delis! The walk to down town or to the port was 10 mins and felt very safe regardless of the hour. The hotel itself felt very authentic, we didn't want a large commercial experience. The room was decorated with cool folk art and mirrors, we loved it. I HIGHLY suggest getting a jacuzzi room. We got the master suite and it was great. We filled it with cool water and laid in it when we wanted some privacy, though privacy was easy to come by since the hotel was so small and quaint. I already can't wait to come back. Everything about it was lovely.