Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Had the great pleasure of a stay at the delightful hotel Aura del Mar in Zihuatanejo. This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing complete with talking parrot. We found the food to be excellent. Would highly recommend this charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, California

Zihuatanejo exudes the charm of old Mexico

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Great location for the view and the breeze. Also, close enough to walk to town "el centro", the market, the archeolgical museum. Restaurants abound.
Cons: The hotel is old and needing maintenance. Not to detract from its' charm, but it seems to be crumbling away.
Location: Great as a base for exploring the area. Be sure and visit the archeolgical musuem. Also, for snorkeling and diving, Captain Frederick is the best!
The Hotel Aura del Mar (formerly Brisas del Mar) is perfectly situated to catch the views, the breezes and the sunsets over the bay. The front desk stands in front of an amazing tapestry; it is done by hand, colorful and imaginative. In a simple way it illustrates the cycles of life and the joys we can all appreciate. Hallways and rooms are decorated with original paintings and examples of Mexican folk art can be found throughout the hotel. The restaurant with its' attentive and competent staff also faces the bay. There is a wood fired pizza oven that bakes pizza to order from noon to six. Happy hour is on the terrace daily (except Wednesdays) from 5 to 6. Two drinks for the price of one and they throw in the sunset for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Excellent service, clean, great view, beach, comfortable rooms. Authentic Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. close to town and everything. there is a nice small market across the street for everything you need. friendly staff and a beautiful location!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michellefrom Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful and quaint

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just stayed two nights (July 2014) at the Hotel Aura del Mar and it exceeded expectations. The hotel was charming and authentic and gave a local Mexican feel but also was modern enough to meet American expectations of quality. Location was good and close to markets and restaurants. On the beach and while there are nicer beaches around, it was lovely. Small pool and a decent on-site restaurant. The room was cute and the beds comfortable. Beautiful view from the balcony and a personal hot tub (which we didn't use). Good air conditioning. A nice relatively inexpensive hotel choice - would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erycafrom Long Beach, CA

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose Aura Del Mar based on it's very reasonable rates, great reviews, and the fact the rooms would have a jacuzzi. The entire experience was just incredible. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The adjacent restaurant, Bistro Del Mar was delis! The walk to down town or to the port was 10 mins and felt very safe regardless of the hour. The hotel itself felt very authentic, we didn't want a large commercial experience. The room was decorated with cool folk art and mirrors, we loved it. I HIGHLY suggest getting a jacuzzi room. We got the master suite and it was great. We filled it with cool water and laid in it when we wanted some privacy, though privacy was easy to come by since the hotel was so small and quaint. I already can't wait to come back. Everything about it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice and Davefrom Philadelphia

Great stay at hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Staff was exceptional and service was as well. Both hotel and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Urainafrom Seattle

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic decor and views from every room, meticulous detail in cleaning rooms 2x/day and maintenance of the property and beautiful landscaping (of which they use the flowers to decorate your bed). The service was always kind and eager to help. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Loufrom Texas

Excellent location

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The ocean view and tropical scenery, and most of all the friendly staff!
Cons: Rooms need some updating.
Location: Easy access to downtown from the streets or from the beach. Catholic Church is easy accessible from hotel. There are several nice restaurants nearby.
Hotel staff is very efficient and friendly. Most go out of their way to help you out providing reliable information about restaurants and locations. The pool is kept nice and clean and there always are lounge chairs available for use for all their guests. Hotel is located not too far from downtown Zihuatanejo. There are many stairways and steps to claim to access all the amenities available in the hotel. The ocean view from all the rooms is excellent. Do not recommend paying extra for jacuzzi. But be aware the hotel It is not plush or five stars! If you like sea food Zihuatanejo is the place to be at. But the restaurant at the hotel is extremely expensive and not very good in the preparation of dishes. The beach in front of hotel is small and not very pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com