Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice and Dave from Philadelphia

Great stay at hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Staff was exceptional and service was as well. Both hotel and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from Texas

Excellent location

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The ocean view and tropical scenery, and most of all the friendly staff!
Cons: Rooms need some updating.
Location: Easy access to downtown from the streets or from the beach. Catholic Church is easy accessible from hotel. There are several nice restaurants nearby.
Hotel staff is very efficient and friendly. Most go out of their way to help you out providing reliable information about restaurants and locations. The pool is kept nice and clean and there always are lounge chairs available for use for all their guests. Hotel is located not too far from downtown Zihuatanejo. There are many stairways and steps to claim to access all the amenities available in the hotel. The ocean view from all the rooms is excellent. Do not recommend paying extra for jacuzzi. But be aware the hotel It is not plush or five stars! If you like sea food Zihuatanejo is the place to be at. But the restaurant at the hotel is extremely expensive and not very good in the preparation of dishes. The beach in front of hotel is small and not very pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and great location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Updating rooms
Location: Beach, town, water taxi close. Great waves for kids to play in. Other beaches generally don't get quite the surf if you like that in a beach
Best service at any hotel I've ever had. Staff were unbelievably accommodating and helpful especially when we needed it most. Got into some passport difficulties and they not only found a notary but accompanied my wife, translated and were absolutely fantastic in a very stressful time. They were great the rest of week as well. Location is great for Zihua. We've been to Zihua several times and liked this location the best. Beach was less crowded than others and it was easy to get to town and the ferry to Las Gatas beach. Nice to be on the beach and also have a view which is rare for properties to have both. Great with kids as well. They loved the restaurant - a little too much - and had some great meals. Rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Carlos, Alexander and everyone else for making our stressful trip so absolutely enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Portland, Or.

Perfect compromise between quality and value.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect. Walk to town and walk the other direction to the best beach(PLaya la Roppa)
Cons: The bathrooms are the only thing lacking in our opinion. The lighting is slightly dark which made my wife's makeup a slight hassle.
Location: Close to everything! Walk to town. 2 blocks to Patio Mexica-cooking school and the excellent restaurant Ruffo.
We loved this hotel. Unfortunately they were full for the last 4 days of our trip so we had to go elsewhere. So we decided to error on the side of quality and paid more for what we thought would be a better hotel. But we liked this place much better. Friendly staff, private balconies with a straight on view to the beach. That and the fact that there is hotel between your room and a quiet road in front of the hotel means this is a quiet hotel. For example at our second hotel it was high up a hill and consequently from the balcony all the noises from the street below could be heard. In fact we went back and looked at some other rooms(one without a kitchen as we never used it) at Aura so that next year we will know which room to reserve. The restaurant is fantastic. It is a little pricey but definitely one of the better restaurants in town. They had the best Ceviche Blanco in town and I tried it everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from minnesota

great place, fine location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: location, ambience. It's not fancy, but funky. all the rooms have carved wooden doors. Lots of greenery. Nice patio area by the pool.
Cons: wi-fi connection was spotty and weak, regardless of the location within the hotel.
Location: close to lots and lots of restaurants and beach massage.
Everything was good. Check-in/check-out was smooth, staff friendly. Beautiful grounds and view from room (#104). Comfortable pillowtop king bed. Very clean, maid restocked water everyday. Lots of steps. If you have problems with stairs, this is not the place for you. Otherwise, you'll love it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Once you walk inside the hotel the interior is very calming and has a lot of indoor/outdoor areas the stairs could be tough for some people
Location: Walking distance to snooping and good restaurants
Family vacation with ages 16 and up hotel has a quiet and calm atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from Wisconsin

Great hotel, good beach, close to town

Posted Jan 26, 2014
We spent 6 days at the Aura del Mar (formerly Brisas del Mar) in late December. This small hotel is very well-maintained with delightful Mexican decor and is a great deal (even with the higher holiday prices). The views from all rooms are of the Zihuatanejo bay and each has a fairly private balcony with hammock and some have jetted tubs. There are stairs to climb down to the beach but you get used to the climb back up. It is not as bad as some reviewers have indicated but clearly this is not the place for those who cannot use stairs. It's an easy walk into town either along the beach and path or along the streets. While the hotel restaurant is very good, there are far better deals to be found for meals in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from Chilliwack, BC

Nice Hotel close to city center very convenient.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Pricing in the restaurant.
They only thing I would say is the restaurant on site is very overpriced just walk the fishermans walk and find reasonable and better places to eat. Of course the stairs could be an issue for older individuals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sharon price from solvang ca

wonderful small hotel, easy walking to town

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful location wonderful views out of your room The staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was excellent. You can walk down the beach and over the concrete bridge to town and the craft market. The hotel is on a hill in front of the beach so steps down to beach so not for a handicapped person. We loved it Easy cab ride to Ixtapa or take the busThere is a small market across from the hotel to get drinks and snacks. There is a refrigerator in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014