Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Old World Charm

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The view is awesome!! Comfortable beds, clean room, air conditioner in the room worked great, coffee was good, bottled water was supplied, food at restaurant was good, people were very nice,beach area well kept, pool was clean. What more can I say it was awesome!! Showers were not hot but the weather was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom laguna niguel

Great Mexican feel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Excellent location within a short beachfront walk to downtown. Restaurant Del Mar is excellent with gourmet quality food and service. Only complaint would be to off On Demand american language TV or movies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

We loved our trip!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: We loved the location and amenities. Really appreciated the air conditioning.
Cons: NOTHING!!
Location: This hotel is right on the beach. You can walk to so many wonderful restaurants. Fishing, swimming, snorkeling, zip lining, shopping...it's all there.
The Hotel Aura del Mar was perfect for us. The room was spacious and comfortable. The view was amazing. This property does have stairs down to the pool and beach, but we were aware of this when we booked so we had no surprises. This was our first time in Zihautanejo and we were happy to find no crowds. The pool and beach were never crowded. This hotel is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We cannot say enough nice things!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ericafrom San Miguel de Allende

Romantic, relaxing, beautiful.

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here several times. It is the most beautifully detailed truly Mexican hotel far from the ugly corporate monsters at Ixtapa up the road . Courteous staff, individual private patios for each room, flowers on the beds. Beach access unlike some of the neighboring hotels. It's perfect .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Very welcoming and comfortable.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. Great helpful staff. Perfect location for beach and town. Spacious rooms with views. Frig and a coffee pot. Comfy beds. Nice grounds. Kayaks and paddle boards to borrow. Good little pool. Nice spa. We loved it and stayed even longer this time. Many repeat visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palo Alto, CA

Great location, awesome hotel!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
This is a really beautiful older hotel. Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days in November. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was pleasantly spacious and functional. There was a flat screen TV, in room wifi (advertised as high speed but it was mostly slow), a small refrigerator, iron & ironing board & basic toiletries. The room had a large balcony with jacuzzi (that we didn't use), sun beds and table & chairs. It was very clean and the service was excellent. We had 2 maintenance issues which were dealt with immediately & professsionally. All the rooms in this hotel are ocean facing with a view. This means that there are quite a few stairs but totally worth the effort. I'm not fit at all but managed to climb to the top without stopping although huffing a little. The pool area was awesome with plenty of sun beds, chairs & hammocks. There is also a spa and my husband had a massage which he said was excellent. The restaurant is on the beach and we ate there the 1st night as we were too tired to go elsewhere. The food was OK but overpriced. There are many excellent restaurants one block away from the hotel at street level. Town, the market and more shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance along the waterfront from the hotel. Overall an outstanding experience and I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Had the great pleasure of a stay at the delightful hotel Aura del Mar in Zihuatanejo. This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing complete with talking parrot. We found the food to be excellent. Would highly recommend this charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, California

Zihuatanejo exudes the charm of old Mexico

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Great location for the view and the breeze. Also, close enough to walk to town "el centro", the market, the archeolgical museum. Restaurants abound.
Cons: The hotel is old and needing maintenance. Not to detract from its' charm, but it seems to be crumbling away.
Location: Great as a base for exploring the area. Be sure and visit the archeolgical musuem. Also, for snorkeling and diving, Captain Frederick is the best!
The Hotel Aura del Mar (formerly Brisas del Mar) is perfectly situated to catch the views, the breezes and the sunsets over the bay. The front desk stands in front of an amazing tapestry; it is done by hand, colorful and imaginative. In a simple way it illustrates the cycles of life and the joys we can all appreciate. Hallways and rooms are decorated with original paintings and examples of Mexican folk art can be found throughout the hotel. The restaurant with its' attentive and competent staff also faces the bay. There is a wood fired pizza oven that bakes pizza to order from noon to six. Happy hour is on the terrace daily (except Wednesdays) from 5 to 6. Two drinks for the price of one and they throw in the sunset for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Excellent service, clean, great view, beach, comfortable rooms. Authentic Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. close to town and everything. there is a nice small market across the street for everything you need. friendly staff and a beautiful location!!!