Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington state

Close to beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, location to Town, restaurants, and beach.
Cons: Updating rooms. Furniture, bedding and overall look of hotel.
Location: Beach, town, restaurants, they are many things to do close by.
Our hotel was very clean and beds were comfortable but rooms need to be up dated. Furniture, nite stands, lamps, bedding, mirrors and doors were very old and very worn. Hotel in general was very clean but also in need of updating. Food and pool was good. The staff was very attentive, friendly and so very helpful. We did enjoy our stay and had a great time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Maui Travelerfrom Maui

Maui Traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well where do I start. After a long drive from Acapulco to Ixtapa we arrived at the hotel. This was late in the evening so not many guest were in line at the font desk. But, that didn't make our process any easier! Checking In was the longest process I have ever experienced at any hotel. They claimed they had not received the reservation; and they needed to download it to their system. I suspected the later to be the case. After almost an hour of patiently waiting the process over, we head to our room. We get to our room and our bed has no bedding. All we could do was laugh and post about it on instagram. We head back downstairs to get another room. I won't go in detail with the other issues we had at the property, only because i may sound like an unappreciative whiner. Let just say it was not a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adamfrom Minnesota

Great Place

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff.
Cons: minor updating of guest rooms not a big deal though. Musty smell was around, but heat and moisture will do that...didn't affect our stay.
Location: Local shops and store owners were nice, local restaurants were great. Go to Villa de la Selva for dinner, you wont regret it! Fishing in Zihua!!!!
Just got back from an awesome stay at the Emporio. The staff was fantastic. They literally never stop cleaning or maintaining the grounds. Great housekeeping service with fresh flowers and a special anniversary display! Sergio helped us book our fishing trip, find the bank, and kept us knowledgeable about the area! Alberto the bartender was awesome, this guy can pound out drinks for every kid and adult in the pool in record time with only one blender! Caesar was also a very nice bartender too! We enjoyed our ocean view room on the 10th floor, it was gorgeous! I've stayed in nicer/more updated rooms, but who wants to stay in the room when its 85 degrees and sunny everyday! We made the most of the pool, beach and the local area. If you are up for fishing/snorkeling, book with Sergio and take a trip on the Capullo...it was a blast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessicafrom Seattle

3 stars but w/ these tips it'll feel like 4 or 5

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location!! You are in the center of everything Ixtapa has to offer and just a short cab ride to anything else. The staff is very helpful.
Cons: Air Conditioning. All the non-timeshare rooms need new AC units.
Location: Everything! Best location in town!
Things to know when booking your stay here (sure to make your stay a great one). 1- Stay only on floors 7 or 8. These are the timeshare rooms and are updated w/ AC that works, fresh bathrooms, and a clean smell. All other floors/rooms are old and smell like mold (we switched rooms 4 times to discover this). We had room 820 and 821 (both amazing). If possible get a room # ending in 18-24 that way you can see the sunset from your room. 2- Get an ocean view room (for 3 reasons): the view is gorgeous, the rooms are brighter and the noise from Senior Frogs from the mountain view side will keep you up all night (and I am not a light sleeper). 3- Expect that on Friday and Saturday the pool area will be a zoo! Many locals come to enjoy the beach and pool with their families and it loud, busy and hard to get service. Not a problem, just a shock compared to the week days. 4- Do not do the all inclusive. The food in the hotel is good but there is a very limited selection and only served during limited hours. The hotel is located right across the street from dozens of amazing restaurants (a 2 min walk!). MORE TIPS... 1- Do go to Ixtapa Island (ONLY ON A WEEKDAY). On the weekend its too crowded and the snorkeling is bad. On a weekday it is dead and you get great service and clear waters. 2- We did the sunset cruise and it was a let down. Got very wet from sea spray and froze. They do however get you very drunk, if that's your thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlafrom Auburn, MA

Everything you need

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Our chamber maid had our room made up promptly and left creative towel art embelished with flowers from the very pretty grounds.
Cons: Many local vendors tried to sell things to you all along the beach.
Location: We enjoyed watching the para-sailing on the beach. Bright, colorful parachutes all around added to the atmoshere! Great waves during our week.
We had a comfortable king room, very clean with a nice big windows. The hotel was well located with a safe, main street on the front side and the pool and beach on the back. Lots of eateries, music, clubs and shopping on the street side, plus the hotel had a lovely sunset buffet by the beach in the evening. We also enjoyed the hotel breakfast, but tried several of the area restaurants for variety. Happy hour was 6-7 before dinner and Hugo the bartender was personable, friendly and lots of fun. He remembered everyone's names and what they liked to drink. The pool had a swim-up bar and lots of lounge chairs all around. The beach had many lounge chairs as well, some under umbrellas, most under palapas. There were waiters to bring drinks so you didn't have to walk back to the bar. The grounds were lovely with groundskeepers in constant watch to make sure it was always clean and tidy. We were traveling with friends so our fun was ready-made. There were lots of families with children. We noticed security staff was very visable and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Single Travelerfrom Mpls Mn

Nice Beach and Pool

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Emporio was a decent hotel for the Money. The place was clean the staff was friendly—yet I felt since I wasn't with the "All Inclusive" package, I was shunned a little when it came to service. If I wanted to purchase a beverage on the site. I had to go through hoops. I walked across the street and bought most things from local drug store. There are no balconies that I could tell. So if watching sunsets or drinking morning coffee is your deal-you will need to go down to the lobby or pool area. They have one of the best beach areas with plenty of protection from sun if you've had too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travel Junkiefrom Alberta

Returned for a second time, loved it again!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful open lobby, music in lobby at night, best food in Ixtapa/Zihuatenejo and restaurant is right on the water.
Cons: The floors in our room could have been kept cleaner. The weight room was missing some mid-range weights on the rack. Massage was disappointing.
Location: The last night a person must go to El Faro restaurant up on the hill! The food, the view, the live musicians...fabulous experience.
The Emporio is such a classy hotel in so many ways. It has a simple elegance and I love it! And we enjoyed the free WIFI in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyfrom Minnesota

nice hotel close to the beach with great lobby,bar

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Nice areas on the beach and at the pool. Such perfect weather.
Cons: Better food at the hotel.
Location: Check out Amelios, Blue Shrimp, Chili Beans and Deborah's! parasailing is also fun off of the beach!
We stayed for a week this year. We have been there many times and love the area and smaller hotel. most of the time we eat at nearby restaurants and in Z. Such nice people! We know many people that go there every year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Noreenfrom North Dakota

Nice place, just not our likes

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay was ok. Usual things like having to ask a couple of times for things or front staff forgetting our requests altogether but nothing very disappointing. Just very sterile and staff didn't seem very friendly. VERY disappointed in not being able to feel comfortable in the ocean due to the undertow but certainly not the hotels fault. The shower was most generally a trickle, no real water pressure, but again, nit that big of a deal. Mainly was just, meh.
2 out of 5
by Ray

Wouldn't visit again

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Even though we arrived early, checked in our bags, left the hotel and returned at check-in time, they checked us in late.. "twenty more minutes - twenty more minutes - twenty more minutes,," they kept saying. A front desk person said "the manager saved this room just for you." They advertise in room wifi, but there was no in room wifi and even the lobby had no wifi.