Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy agradable

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: el servicio y las instalaciones
Cons: que sigan con ese servicio al cliente
Location: la ubicacion es perfecta, es muy centrico y se encuentra de todos, tiendas, restaurants, diversion, etc
Hotel perfecto para descansar y disfrutar de la playa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Very safe and comfortable hotel steps away from the beach. Everything is in close reach. Many convenient restaurants and stores directly across the street. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bus line located close to hotel so there is opportunity to travel outside of Iztapa. Other areas are safe to tourist, and residents are more that nice enough to help if questions arise. The hotel does have early morning bike rides to sign up for, and a band every weekend or so. My only recommendation to the hotel is to have more activity for the visitors. After hearing that the surrounding hotels accommodate fun activitys at night for their visitors it did question my next stay. Oh and your staff deserves way more that 50 pesos a day considering how they keep your Hotel so emaculent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, SK, Canada

OK . . . but don't expect too much! No 4-star.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the bathroom was great. Although the rooms are generally small, they are in very good condition.
Cons: Implement a non-smoking policy in and around the pool. And ensure that "open" drinks aren't allowed in the pool.
Location: Lots of great restaurants and bars across the street.
Our check in was very straightforward and we got the room type that we had reserved. We found the service in the restaurant to be hit and miss. It seems that you have to flag down servers if you want coffee, although that would seem obvious for breakfast. Eversto took great care of us at the pool, He was by far the most consistent and pleasant server that we encountered. The rooms are relatively small but very clean, particularly the bathrooms. No complaints or issues with the rooms. Although there is no formal "show" in the evenings, they have music and dancing in the bar lobby. It is pretty good and people have fun. On weekends, the hotel is absolutely jammed-packed with people. Once on a Saturday afternoon, there were at least 300 people in the pool. Cleanliness around the pool is a problem, They allow smoking in and around the pool and "open" drinks in the pool. While they work to keep it clean, it gets a bit unsightly at times. In addition, security is very slow to address problems like people bringing their own sound systems to the pool. The swim-up bar is packed with young kids on the weekends, so don't look to go there for a drink. There are lots of chairs and umbrellas. But be prepared on weekends to "share" your umbrella and space with other people . . . many of the locals who come on weekends have no concept of personal space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Comfortable and Clean hotel with great staff!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
This is our fourth trip to Ixtapa and second time at the Emporia. We had a comfortable and clean room, and were moved to a semi-ocean view room even though we had booked with a super-saver rate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Orely (front desk), Hugo (at the lounge bar) and of course Sergio (Excursions director). We recommend this hotel if you do not like the all-inclusive option, as there are many good restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Hotel and Staff was nice and friendly.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The location was great, the beach was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Air Conditioning in room.
Location: There are a lot of shopping right across the street and the marina was within walking distance.
This hotel is not big but the food and staff was very good. The only thing was the air condition could not keep up in the room but the week I was there was very warm -90 but the room was around 75-78. I thought everything else was very good and I would stay at this resort again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach.adequate as a 2.5 to 3 star rating

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: On the beach and smallest enough to get around at.
Cons: Better chairs and furniture in room, better and new bedding. Better pillows would have been nice. I had to go and buy two pillows which were newer
Nice for a three star hotel. But not exceptional Nothing more to say, this hotel is dated and adequate for a 2 to 3 star rating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brodhead, WI

Fair hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Hotel right on beach. Chairs beneath beach pajamas plentiful but way too close together. If not all-inclusive & ordering from menu you don't get the same food as all-inclusive. Rooms old & need maintenance but are kept clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Hotel and staff were great. Nice view from room and the staff was very accommodating to meet our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Not letting guests save chairs at the pool and beach
Location: Ixtapa Island is a great day trip
Nice hotel, nothing fancy. Nice pool, short stroll to beach. The food was just ok and that is being nice. Chairs at the pool and beach can be saved which drives me nuts when people save them and then don't use them all day
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Would not stay again

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Security had bad attitude when arrived,room was ugly and outdated,order room service and two hours later called again and they had forgot about our order.