Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MORELIA

Posted May 25, 2015
Cons: LES FALTA MAS VARIEDAD EN SU RESTAURANT Y QUE PUEDAN OFRECER EL SERVCIO PARA UNA FAMILIA DE 9 PERSONAS YA QUE NOS QUERIAN SEPARAR EN LAS MESAS
NO RESPETARON MI RESERVACION YA QUE PEDI DOS CAMAS Y NO ME LA DIERON, CON VISTA AL MAR Y ME DIERON CON VISTA ALA AZOTEA, EL INTERNET PESIMO NO SERVIA , EL SERVICIO EN EL RESTAURANT TARDADO TUVE QUE PARARME 5 VECES A PEDIR CAFE PORQUE NO ME LO LLEVABAN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC. Canada

Quiet and relaxing place at the beach

Posted May 11, 2015
The staff that work in this hotel is amazing. Always ready to help you. Unfortunately I don't remember all the names, but For example Alberto and Lluvia from the front desk great great service. Lorenzo from the restaurant very friendly and helpful. The person in charge of keeping the room in a great condition, really good (Luciana). The food is good not the best one, but you can enjoy it. Our room always was perfectly clean. The furniture needs more maintenance. It looks old. The SPA really nice, great service and good alternatives. Extremely quiet. No entertainment at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom L.A

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location - very close to stores and different restaurants just across the street.
Location: Nice location farmacias- restaurants- different options for shopping- banks!
Very nice hotel. Staff very helpful . definitely I might come back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Beachfront hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: I really enjoyed that at this hotel there were no pushy salesmen trying to make you sign up for a membership to their vacation timeshares.
Cons: The buffet could be improved at this and all other hotels. Include seafood, we are after all beachfront.
We have been vacationing in Ixtapa for a few years and this was our first time at Emporio. Emporio is located right on the beach along the main street. We booked two rooms and the room my parents were staying in smelled tremendously like sewage although their a/c system was much better than in our room. The a/c in our room would turn off when we were not in the room which was quite disappointing since after a long day at the beach you want to return and relax in a cool room. Our view however was very pleasing, out one window we could view the city and out another the ocean. We were under the breakfast only package and the reason we opted for this is because these hotels tend to not include seafood in their buffets although we are at the beach! No oysters, shrimp, fish etc. So we would drive to Zihua for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom HDN

Queriendo ahorrar en todo

Posted Apr 3, 2015
El Hotel no esta mal, se nota la intención de querer ahorrar en todos los servicios, todo al mínimo, bebidas aguadas, el internet pésimo, no hay en las habitaciones, hay redes que no funcionan, nadie puede dar una respuesta verdadera, siempre tratando de desviar la respuesta diciendo cosas que no tienen pie ni cabeza, falta de conocimiento y capacitación.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy agradable

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: el servicio y las instalaciones
Cons: que sigan con ese servicio al cliente
Location: la ubicacion es perfecta, es muy centrico y se encuentra de todos, tiendas, restaurants, diversion, etc
Hotel perfecto para descansar y disfrutar de la playa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Very safe and comfortable hotel steps away from the beach. Everything is in close reach. Many convenient restaurants and stores directly across the street. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bus line located close to hotel so there is opportunity to travel outside of Iztapa. Other areas are safe to tourist, and residents are more that nice enough to help if questions arise. The hotel does have early morning bike rides to sign up for, and a band every weekend or so. My only recommendation to the hotel is to have more activity for the visitors. After hearing that the surrounding hotels accommodate fun activitys at night for their visitors it did question my next stay. Oh and your staff deserves way more that 50 pesos a day considering how they keep your Hotel so emaculent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, SK, Canada

OK . . . but don't expect too much! No 4-star.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the bathroom was great. Although the rooms are generally small, they are in very good condition.
Cons: Implement a non-smoking policy in and around the pool. And ensure that "open" drinks aren't allowed in the pool.
Location: Lots of great restaurants and bars across the street.
Our check in was very straightforward and we got the room type that we had reserved. We found the service in the restaurant to be hit and miss. It seems that you have to flag down servers if you want coffee, although that would seem obvious for breakfast. Eversto took great care of us at the pool, He was by far the most consistent and pleasant server that we encountered. The rooms are relatively small but very clean, particularly the bathrooms. No complaints or issues with the rooms. Although there is no formal "show" in the evenings, they have music and dancing in the bar lobby. It is pretty good and people have fun. On weekends, the hotel is absolutely jammed-packed with people. Once on a Saturday afternoon, there were at least 300 people in the pool. Cleanliness around the pool is a problem, They allow smoking in and around the pool and "open" drinks in the pool. While they work to keep it clean, it gets a bit unsightly at times. In addition, security is very slow to address problems like people bringing their own sound systems to the pool. The swim-up bar is packed with young kids on the weekends, so don't look to go there for a drink. There are lots of chairs and umbrellas. But be prepared on weekends to "share" your umbrella and space with other people . . . many of the locals who come on weekends have no concept of personal space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Comfortable and Clean hotel with great staff!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
This is our fourth trip to Ixtapa and second time at the Emporia. We had a comfortable and clean room, and were moved to a semi-ocean view room even though we had booked with a super-saver rate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Orely (front desk), Hugo (at the lounge bar) and of course Sergio (Excursions director). We recommend this hotel if you do not like the all-inclusive option, as there are many good restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Hotel and Staff was nice and friendly.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The location was great, the beach was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Air Conditioning in room.
Location: There are a lot of shopping right across the street and the marina was within walking distance.
This hotel is not big but the food and staff was very good. The only thing was the air condition could not keep up in the room but the week I was there was very warm -90 but the room was around 75-78. I thought everything else was very good and I would stay at this resort again.