Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Kansas City

Well maintained Hotel on the beach--great stay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Enjoyed our first experience in Zihuatenejo at Villa Mexicana. Great beach front property in perfect location surrounded by restaurants and beach activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Minnesota

Excellent location.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: location and comfort
Cons: The morning cleaning of the room could be a little better. No major complaints, just slightly inconsistent.
Location: The hotel located right on the beach. There is a lot of activity on the beach. Walkers, runners, swimmers, parasailing, Hobie Cat sailing, etc.
This was my first visit to ZIH and Playa de Ropa beach. This hotel has an excellent location on the beach. Overall, the facility is well maintained. The staff are friendly and most speak English. The food at the hotel restaurant is good to excellent. Cabs are immediately available. There is a general store right next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: It's small size, and beach location, nice pool, great staff, comfortable room.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: In the middle of La Ropa beach, 1/2 hour walk to town, 10 minute (very cheap) taxi ride to town, fantastic restaurants in town & up & down the beach.
My wife and I just returned from our third stay at Hotel Villa Mexicana. This is not a five star hotel, but it's clean & comfortable. We had a room on the inside courtyard without a sea view, which is fine with us, we were in our room to sleep and shower. There are a few rooms on the backside that overlook an alley and the backs of other buildings, not sure I would want one of those rooms. The beds are firm, the pillows not lumpy. Nine pillows in our 2 bed room. You can find a combination that works! The hotel may have a few rooms that are handicap accessible, but the uneven surfaces on the patio, dining room and around the pools might be hard to negotiating with a walker. It's a 2 story hotel with no elevator, so negotiating stairs is practically mandatory. Breakfast was included with our room and every thing was good and nicely presented. We had lunch at the hotel 2 days, and all 4 of our meals were superb. It is surprising to me that the dinner hour was not more attended. Perhaps because the two restaurants next door were barefoot in the sand on the beach dining, our preference. As a note, we were there for a horrendous storm-lightning, high winds, and heavy rain. The palm trees lost a few branches, some coconuts fell, but we (the hotel and its guests) survived unscathed and everything that blew down was mostly gone by the time we were up and about around 7 AM. It looks like they've done this before. We had a great say and will no doubt return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenita from LA, CA

Clean, friendly hotel in a 5 star location

Posted Jan 8, 2014
A comfortable no-frills hotel in an exquisite location. The breakfast was great and the food, in general, was pretty good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Paddle - boarding, hobe, jet-ski, kayak rentals, and inexpensive massages right on the beach outside the doorstep on the beach. Prices were totally reasonable. The rooms can be loud depending on what is going on at the local restaurant/camping. There was a wedding going on that sounded like it was in our room, however the hotel was accommodating in changing our room for the night. Pay the 500 peso deposit for the safe and make sure to keep important belongings inside. Overall, a very good stay and we would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Calgary

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach, the staff.
Cons: Saving chairs overnight is fine, but not using them all day, or saving more than the adults in your room isn't.
Location: The beach is nice as the surf isn't strong. There is some so-so snorkeling, para sailing, a good masseuse, several restaurants, convenience store.
Checking in is a bit slow as there is only one person at the reception. Our reservation included continental breakfast, but we were told as it is high season, they have a buffet, and it would cost an additional 75 pesos per person per day. They value the buffet at 220 pesos on the tab they present, not to charge you, but so you can tip. The buffet featured fruit, eggs, orange juice, pancakes or French toast, and few Mexican dishes that were different every day. I think they overvalued it. For convenience it was fine. Rooms are varied. They don't have dressers in the rooms. We had a good shower, others commented that theirs were not. If you can get a balcony, which can't be reserved, but you can ask for on check in, it seems much better. The pools looked good. The beach is nice. They have loungers under shade, but despite their stated policy of no saving overnight, we soon found that everyone left towels on chairs. It's nice that you do have to get up early to grab a chair, but many guests abused this, reserving chairs all day without occupation, and using toys or other non towels items. That should be addressed. The food at the hotel restaurant was good. There are also several restaurants close by. Downtown Zihua is a 450 peso cab ride away or you can walk it in about 1/2 hour. We did enjoy the location, and would go back again, now that we know his things vary from what you go in expecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by charlie from san diego

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice place, great playa del ropa location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan from Vancouver

Great location right on La Ropa

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the beds are a bit hard. Staff were really friendly and you can't beat the location. Small, quaint and tropical. Service was great and I love that there is a pool. Having a small fridge in the room would have been a bonus. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GBM from Chicago

Lovely beach location

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. The restaurant was nice and service was always accommodating.
Cons: The bathroom shower head in our room can stand to be replaced. It streamed in a 360 degree direction. Did manage to get a good stream w/ persistence.
Location: Took a cab to town and had the best seafood with locals at Casa del Gabo. Best ceviche ever. Yum.
I went with family in August and was fortunate to be there when the sea turtles were coming to shore and laying eggs on the beach. A great experience and a great location.