Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor amenities.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Staff tried hard but despite many polite requests I never was able to get hot water. The staff did give me a promotional deal as they were almost empty. I had to request toilet paper despite leaving an empty roll with the tip.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Eau Claire WI

it's ok

Posted Mar 31, 2013
if you want a place to crash it's not bad. We did'nt have much of a view 1st floor room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Susan from Kelowna

Convenient to beach and restaurants and the town

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was super - we could walk to everything. Our pool clean & quiet - but if hub-bub desired we were able to walk across street to share ocean side hotel pool. Had to switch rooms after first night on inferior mattress - chose to upgrade to room with fridge/kitchen at that time - so a bit extra $ spent. Went to the outdoor restaurant there once... much better choices nearby. Shower works but takes 2 showers for the warm water to arrive! Not the best but a long way from bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by skipper5150 from Canada

better than expected

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Located at the eastern end of the La Madera strip. a 10 minute walk to the centro and many super restuarants along the way. The top floor is called "garden views" but actually many have awesome ocean views. the balcony is not private, but it was very quiet when we were there..the pool is good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Caracol = snails pace

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: air conditioned rooms
Cons: leaving
Location: close to 2 beaches,short walk to town, resteraunts
Friendly staff, lots of English, helpful. best beach was La Ropa - 10 minute walk away rooftop resteraunt was scenic, menu was sparce, but the burgers were good. Centro felt like Niagra Falls, but local markets were authentic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Zihua Caracol

Posted Feb 15, 2013
The superiors rooms are excellent--large and surprisingly quiet considering that they are on a street, but the street gets little traffic. I've stayed here before and will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol

nice place to start

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was expected and welcomed, nice people there, clean and easy to get around from there, this is an excellent place to book for a start off point then you can decide if you want something more or less expensive. It is affordable and lovely, the pool is nice, kid friendly too. Breakfast is great and dinner is pleasant. Air conditioning on steroids than can be turned down and a whole new meaning to a firm bed, clean and private with outside furniture in an area, nice. Affordable, comfortable and not plush, clean, roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by GypsyHeart619

Great value. Good location. Private.

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a hotel room walking distance to Zihuatanejo Centro & got very lucky booking here. We paid for a standard room at Hotel Zihua Caracol in the middle of May and without hesitation, the young male receptionist upgraded us to the master suite overlooking the ocean at their other property just across the street (Hotel Sol y Luna). We had a private pathway to the ocean (30 sec walk), outdoor kitchen with all cookware, private patio with hammock, and the hotel was nearly vacant so the pool that was right outside of our room was pretty much private too. The ONLY downside was that the wifi was finnicky in our room but totally accessible from our patio. Very friendly staff and nice property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brandito from Portland, OR

Zihua Caracol, Zihuatanejo

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: The open-air corridors / shared balconies by which you gain access to the rooms have magnificent, panoramic views over the ocean and the city.
Cons: My only complaint is that the beds are hard. I am used to a pretty hard bed but theirs are more than I was comfortable with. Pillows not great either.
Location: If you want luxury resort experience, this is not it. It is clean & safe, with great people. If you want something inexpensive and basic, its fine.
None of the rooms have an actual ocean view, However, the open-air corridors / shared balconies by which you gain access to the rooms have magnificent, panoramic views over the ocean and the city, and have comfortable seating so you can sit in the shade and enjoy all the light and fresh air and stunning views. A lovely little breeze is sometimes to be had, since you're up quite high. Hot water – you have to run the sink AND the shower AT THE SAME TIME for several minutes. Just be patient. Its no big deal. You're in Mexico, don't worry about it. The place is not actually on the beach, but is a (literally) two minute walk down the street 30 yards and another 20 yards down a little alley / pathway which gets swept every day. The hotel is relatively secure – there are people at the front desk at all times and they are very watchful and know exactly who is coming and going. After 11:00 pm there is a night watchman who locks the place up and opens the steel gate when you show up in a taxi during the wee hours. The safe/lockbox arrangements are slightly funky, but I had no problems. They put your stuff in a locked bag within a locked safe. The air conditioning unit seemed pretty new and got the job done. The telly just has Mexican TV, which has many channels. A lot of what they show is American shows and films, some overdubbed, some with Spanish subtitles. Bedroom furniture is simple, spartan and utilitarian. My only complaint is that the beds are hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Management supervised operation

Posted May 9, 2011
Really nice place, good deal for the price, convenient location in traditional town. Great to see management supervising daily operations.