Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Oceamview

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Get a room with an oceanview.. Price is great, tours are offered at the hotel for a great price and it includes a meal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful pool and location-run down rooms

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We love the Krystal and have gone 10 times over the last 20 years but the rooms need some serious updates. The pool and the location are fantastic and the staff is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shirley from denver

Nice hotel for price------but

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Felt fairly upscale.
Cons: The food on the buffet.
But they charge an extra $50.00 to eat and drink which is worth it if you like to drink a lot as the food is not very good. My adult kids loved it, but I should have kept the $50., had a couple glasses of wine, and ate at the resturant. Ten times nicer than posada real.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Krystal

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Cons: Fix the plumbing in some of the rooms. I was not the only one that had problems.
Location: Location is perfect!
The building itself is more run down than in the past. Staff is good; some excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonjia from Iowa

Fun in the sun

Posted Mar 3, 2014
This is my third stay at the Krystal. I am always treated so well be the staff. It feels like coming home to family. There are just the right amount of activities available to add to the experience. The location is wonderful and so is the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from Minneapolis

NIce Vacation Spot

Posted Mar 2, 2014
The Krystal is a well kept hotel in the middle of all things Ixtapa. The pool area is great and the beach is nice as well. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and the pleasant staff. Will visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marilyn from Missouri

Helpful friendly staff; on beach; near restaurants

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Quiet, peaceful, not noisy.
Cons: Ice machines on some floors.
Location: Lots of restaurants down the street. It's fun and safe to stroll around at night. Zihuatanejo is interesting and a short taxi ride away.
We have stayed at the Krystal many times, as do many who go there. It is a friendly, laid-back place.
1 out of 5
by Retired Couple from B.C Canada

Krystal Ixtapa Lives up to Poor Reviews

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Bogart's Restaurant has wonderful service, lovely ambiance and tasty food which is in stark contrast to the rest of the hotel.
Cons: deck chairs (old, stained, broken); food (quality and variety); rooms (need to be renovated); service (inconsistent)
Location: It is in the hotel zone so lots of restaurants, stores and markets nearby. Easy and inexpensive to catch a bus to nearby Zihuat (10 pesos).
This hotel needs a major facelift. "Minimal" describes the facilities and the food is mediocre at best. There is no quiet room at this hotel. Weekends are very busy with families and lots of kids. Most of the guests are seniors. The Wi-Fi is free but very unreliable. Staff are friendly but not well-trained. The beach is nice, pools are nice and the weather is always hot at this time of year (February) but we would never stay there again. Some people stay there and eat meals elsewhere as it is a reasonably priced hotel. There are lots of places to eat nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Pool area.
Cons: Complete renovation.
Hotel needs many updates. Room had mold issues. Bathroom was awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Arizona

Week in Mexico

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was very good, the pools excellent and clean, beach was nice and massage on beach is excellent.
Cons: Hotel could use updating but mostly small things.
Location: Nice downtown area, banks nearby, great eating places.
Had good experience. Great beach, easy access to local town, area was safe, used both local bus and taxi for transportation. Locals are very helpful and treat tourists very well. Locals ask you to do events but do not pressure. Great eating and food places all within walking distance from hotel. Secure and safe with no issues.