Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, beaches, SERVICE, cleanliness,
Cons: The dinner buffets need some work. Many of the items were served cold and really lacked taste. I would stick to the "made to order" options.
Location: Market and restaurants across the street were great. Parasailng was fun. Stay away from Ixtapa Island unless you want to be hassled for tip$ all day.
I can't say enough about how well we were treated by all the staff at the Dorado Pacifico. From the minute we arrived, the staff was there to assist with anything we needed. The grounds are immaculate. I don't recall ever seeing anything lying around. I enjoyed watching the pool guy clean the bottom of the pool literally every night by hand with an underwater broom. From the front desk to the bartenders, to the entertainers, and housekeeping. everyone was a joy to be around and genuinely appeared to enjoy their job. Housekeeping would come in and tidy up 3 times a day. The security staff was friendly and on top of everything that went on in the entire hotel. A special thanks has to go out to Reymundo in the bar and Israel in the lobby. Both went above and beyond with their service. The beaches are beautiful and clean. We enjoyed the "cabanas" on the sand. It was a nice place to go and enjoy the ocean with a little quieter atmosphere than the pool area. The solicitors were minimal and didn't really bother you unless you wanted to interact with them. My only complaint would be the dinner buffets. The breakfast was amazing! I can't imagine anything else that could be done to improve on it. We ate most of our lunches at the Barefoot Grill which was right by the pool and allowed you to get a burger/hotdog and fries, chips, salsa, fruit etc without leaving the pool area and changing clothes. The dinner buffets could use some improvement. Stick with the fresh made food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver, BC

Excellent staff... the best BUT....

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: their staff... best I have ever come across.. give them all raises
Cons: enforcing the 30 minute rule on the beach and pool towel rule
Location: shopping, lots of it across the street
The hotel is a dreams franchise that is minimalistic.. which in other words means the room is white and the beds are made of cement.. Yes... king size beds are non existant and the 2 beds you get are over sized twins. Try reserving a king in advance is hopeless, so dont pay for it in advance if you are booking thru a travel agency like expedia etc. Most excellent staff in all areas, absolutely no probs there, they offer 4 al a cartes... but not at the same time... you will never have a bad meal.. just watch for your flyer with the info as to what is happening each day. they go above and beyond to please you... the only prob I had was the putting of the towel on the chair by the pool thing... never saw such a poor example of ignorant people ( and by that I mean the tourists staying there) If you didnt have your towel on the chair by 8 am .. good luck.. getting a spot. I have travelled all over Mexico and have stayed at many resorts, but never have I seen the situation this bad!!! People hogging the best spots and taking off for hours at a time.. the resort says they do not tolerate this, but it is up to you to tell the pool personell to remove that towel and you sit there. Otherwise. it is a fabulous beach... massages down the road for $15.00 and take a cab and go to Zwat..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Amazing beach... loud, boozy hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The beach by the hotel is fabulous. The hotel has little 'cabanas' on the beach that offer decent shade, and the drink guy comes around frequently.
Cons: Too loud at night/too noisy for too long.
The highlight of the hotel is the beach, the hotel itself is underwhelming. Our room was good- king sized bed, partial view of the ocean, relatively comfortable bed. The food was okay- the buffet was fairly limited, and the 'special' restaurants offered decent fare, but nothing I'd rate as worth writing home about. We had some ceviche as part of our lunch at the poolside grill on our second day and experienced some GI issues after- nothing vacation ruining, but still not fun. The biggest issue we had was the noise at night- I can only comment on the level on noise at night from our room (14th floor), but there is music that goes until 2am-3am on most nights. So loud, so be prepared (earplugs) if this is going to bother you. The facilities were fine, but again nothing special. The wifi worked in our room sporadically at best, the lobby though had a consistent connection. The elevators appear to be new from 2014. There were no glaring examples of lingering issues from the earthquake, but our balcony door was stubborn, the fountain in the lobby doesn't work, and they were doing concrete repairs throughout our stay. We'd come back to Ixtapa/Zihua, but I don't think we'd stay here again- too loud, too many boozy guests, and just while nothing specifically bad, just a generally an underwhelming hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal, Qc.

Tout est là. Tout près.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: La variété et le goût pour la nourriture. La propreté. Tous les services sont concentrés. Le sourire du personnel.
Cons: Pas grand chose à mon avis.
Location: L'hôtel est dans le centre ville. Banques, restaurants, etc..
Tout est là, tout près. L'hôtel, les restaurants, la piscine et la plage. La nourriture est excellente et tout est propre. Les employés (98%) sont souriant et avenant. Nous avons adoré notre séjour. Aussi, ils ont beaucoup de chaises longues pour la piscine et la plage. Gros problème évité. Et de plus, ils commençaient à exercer une plus grande surveillance concernant ceux qui se lèvent tôt pour réserver 4, 12 et 15 chaises à la fois. Chapeau !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los angeles, ca

Nice stay.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Had a great time, good food, nice staff. Only problem was the TV didn't work and the mattress felt like it was made of stone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna BC

Great location next to beach.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Hotel staff, waiters, servers, concierge were all friendly, very informative. Location was perfect, right on the beach, restaurants were good, pool bar good. Overall great experience, will go back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel muy agradable, muy bien ubicado!!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: comida, servicio, ubicacion
Cons: comfort en las ubicaciones, velocidad en el servicio en los restaurantes a la carta.
Location: gran lugar
Muy buen restaurante con una ubcicacion envidiable en la playa, una calidad de bebidas y comida que rebasa las expectativas, personal muy atento, lo único malo fue el servicio en uno de los restaurantes, (el de sushi) pero la calidad de la comida permitio olvidar ese pequeño detalle rapidamente.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alaska

Right on the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2014
This was a nice place right on the beach. Everyone is friendly, and willing to cater to your needs. There is always something going on you can plan a different event for each day you are there. I stayed for 9 nights. The only problem I had was the spa was terrible. The only item you really had to pay for. It wasn't worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria BC

Great service and staff

Posted Dec 11, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico. There isn't much to do in the near vicinity, but there are a variety of excursions one can take. We went there to relax and enjoy being away from the hub-bub and hustle bustle of home routines. AND WE DID. The staff are excellent and extremely friendly and appreciate guests being there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Western Canada

Hotel Nov 2014

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Something better for shade on the beach. Bathrooms need more attending to.
Location: Love the location. Close to market and pharmacy
This is our second trip to the Sunscape and chose it because of location and palapas on the beach. Unfortunately these palapas are gone and the replacement Is less than adequate for shade on the beach. So unless these are made to better keep the sun out we will not be returning. The staff is excellent and had great service in the Bluewater with Alicia for lunch, Raymondo at the beach bar is terrific as well as Noe who was our waiter on the beach. The coffee girls, Rubi, Dina and Karina did very great job remembering our orders, daily. We always had clean rooms and done in the morning which is very nice. The resort is well attended during the week, however on the weekend there a lot of locals that come to this resort and some things need better attending to. Bathrooms need more attention as a lot of water comes in there and there should be an attendant on duty to keep toilet paper on hand and clean the floors. During the week it's very quiet and there needs to be more wait staff at the Bluewater restaurant.