Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico df

Magníficas vacaciones

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Todo nos gusto, la comida muy buena, la atención magnifica, las camas muy cómodas.
Cons: En el baño solo ponen jabón y un shampoo, me gustaría que hubier mas productos. Creo que pueden mejorar la diversión nocturna, más música en vivo.
Location: Un hotel muy agradable y bien ubicado, cerca de centros comerciales.
Desde el momento en que llegamos el personal de hotel nos hizo la vida agradable. La habitación era superior a la contratada, muy buenas dimensiones, balcón con vistas, baño en perfecto estado. Eso si, me levantaba a las 6 para apartar un buen lugar en la alberca, porque no es cierto que hay suficientes camastros y a las 8 ya estaba todo apartado. El fin de semana estaba llenísimo de gente y había que hacer largas colAs para tomar una bebida, ya que el personal no se daba a basto.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great views, bad food

Posted Apr 25, 2015
We had an average experience with the resort. The food was not good and made our stomachs upset during the majority of the trip. The beach was nice and not very crowded. Ixtapa and Zihuantenejo were lack luster. I would not recommended this trip. Go some where else.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola, FL

Disappointing in Multiple Ways

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The waitstaff and pool entertainment were extremely hardworking and enjoyable to be around.
Cons: Front desk staff could be more accommodating and the resort could give advanced warning of any changes going on. Facilities could use some upgrading.
Location: Ixtapa has great local restaurants and we even found mini-golf! Zihuatenajo and Playa La Ropa were both great day excursions!
After having a difficult time contacting anyone at the resort before we arrived in Ixtapa, I already had a bad taste regarding the resort. After 20 minutes on hold, I finally talked to someone as I was sitting in the Atlanta airport. Our flight was delayed and we knew we would miss our connecting flight in Mexico City and not make it to Ixtapa until the following day. Sunscape was not accommodating at all. We paid in full for our missed night. Additionally, we were marked as a "no show" and our room was downgraded, while we still paid the full price. In the middle of our stay, Sunscape decided to get rid of or cancel any room service, without any warning. They also changed dress code midday without any warning. This was extremely frustrating as we had a large party who had to return to their rooms to change from khaki shorts to khaki pants. The swim up bar stools were filled with children and the food was mainly buffet style, all obvious recycled leftovers. A la carte dinners were either extremely bland or extremely salty. Beds were rock hard. Shower would not drain and we rarely had hot water in the shower. I will not be returning or recommending Sunscape Dorado Pacifica Ixtapa to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Queretaro

Mejorar los alimentos

Posted Apr 12, 2015
La comida en los restaurantes son muy malas, les falta variedad, sazón y son muy limitadas las porciones, están mejor el servicio a cuarto y el bufete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Manitoba

Central beachfront location in Ixtapa

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The views from our ocean front suite were spectacular. The staff at the hotel really made this trip for us. The beach is really nice.
Cons: The "chair game" has to fixed. That was almost enough to make us look at other hotels in the area and we will research this more.
Location: The hotel is close to a number of restaurants, night clubs, banks, and shopping. Yes, this is "tourist" shopping, but it is convenient.
Our first trip to Ixtapa; wanted to try something different, yet similar to Huatulco. Based on our experience, I would recommend Ixtapa and the Sunscape Dorado. The hotel and grounds are well maintained with ample staff that were all generally very pleasant and responsive to our needs and special requests. The restaurants on site offer a variety of options whether it was the daily buffets or the al a cartes. Happy to see that long pants and closed toe shoes for men were not required in any of the al a carte restaurants; only nice shorts, sandals, and shirts w/ sleeves were required. This was very welcome compared to other hotels we have stayed at over the years. The one negative we found was that the food in the buffets was never really hot (temperature) enough. Food quality was otherwise excellent, especially the Italian and International al a carte restaurants. Best coconut ice cream in the world! The pool area was well maintained as was the beach front, although some of the loungers on the beach have seen their better days. As mentioned, the staff were very good at the Sunscape Dorado from the restaurant/bar staff to the housekeeping and front desk personnel. Everybody we dealt with seemed genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable. Biggest negative about the hotel is the "chair game" that goes on. Who wants to get up at 5:00 am just to get a decent chair around the pool or on the beach? That is the one thing that MUST be fixed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
It was a very nice place to stay with excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice resort

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The staff and location. Coffee bar with snacks in the afternoon. Mini sandwiches were great! Selection of drinks were awesome.
Cons: I didn't like the location of the restrooms. I know it would be hard to change, but found it a nuisance. Put in an ice cream machine!!
Location: The location was fabulous. Loved walking late afternoon to the shops. Two great restaurants were Momma Norma's and Deborah's along with Blue Shrimp.
All in all we had a nice time. The resort is located across from shopping and wonderful restaurants, so it very convenient. The beach is fantastic for walking in either direction. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had WiFi in our room but my iPhone was still challenged with connecting. My husband's Android performed beautifully for the record. The restaurants were just okay, but the servers were awesome. I was disappointed in the salad selections. The Sushi restaurant was very good. We really enjoyed that meal. One thing I look forward to is soft-serve ice cream for an afternoon snack. The Dorado did not have this. I was able to go to one of the restaurants for a couple of scoops, but they didn't seem too happy about my request or said they were out. Entertainment was good, dancers were fantastic, but it would've been nice to have more variance. One major complaint is I was in our room with the security latch over our door and the two guys replenishing our minibar still got in my room!!! Don't know how they did it but I was NOT HAPPY! People were down at the pool by 5 am to get chairs, so it wasn't always easy to get desirable chairs. The entertainment crew did a nice job around the pool. They were very fun. Think it would be nice to play pool volleyball twice a day. It was a big draw at 4 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

No reason to leave the hotel - everything is great

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The location on the beach; the food and the great service by the staff.
Cons: The harassment by Sunscapes sales people. It got so bad we couldn't make eye contact with anyone in the lobby for fear of not getting away from them.
Location: Parasailing on the beach. A 10 minute walk to Hut 21 to experience a full one hour massage for only $20
Stayed for one week. Nice hotel, very clean and well maintained. Plenty of activities from parasailing on the beach to bicycling to the marina in the morning. The swim up bar was quite fun with specialty drinks being served by Simon (great bartender who always has a big smile). Lots of activities during the day around the pool led by the energetic activities crew (Alejandro was our favorite). The food was fabulous and the wait staff are all top notch! You won't wait long for a drink while lounging at the pool with Anotonio practically running to get your refills!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

A fun place

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The coffee bar. The friendly accommodating staff. The location on the beach. The fun atmosphere.
Cons: Please consider adding a Canadian television station for all the Canadian visitors . Spray for insects in lobby .
Location: In the almost centre of the beach so lots f choices for walking. Right outside the front door and across the street lots of shopping and restaurants.
This hotel can be proud of its excellent friendly staff. We come back because of the staff and location and the coffee bar. The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable, rooms are large enough for the amount of time one spends in a room, every room has a balcony and some view of the ocean. There is an issue with getting a chair around the pool. Someone has to be down before 6:00 am to hold a chair. Some chairs have a towel on them all day but no one shows up. I don't know what is the answer to that problem. The children's program called Explorers Club is the best program I have seen in a hotel. The kids club staff and program are excellant. The life guard on the beach is watching closely for bad waves and for anyone in trouble in the water. The activity staff are very engaging and there is always something fun going on. Sunscape is a happening place for adults and children. It really tries to address a vacationers needs and wants. It is a noisy place because of the waves and the activities. But that said that is part of the fun. Take bug spray because there are biting bugs in Ixtapa. Sunscape is the best hotel on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rake, Iowa

Very accommodating resort

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Location was great for the beach, shopping and restaurants across the street.
Cons: Better quality house wines and better Whiskey variety!
Location: Flea markets and restaurants across the road. Massages on the beach about 1/2 mile away.
We just returned on March 8th from the Sunscape. It was a beautiful resort, beach, pools and wonderful food. The staff were very accommodating. We will definitely be returning.