Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Los Angeles, CA.

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Excellent food and dedicated and well manner staff with attention to everyone needs.
Cons: Ask Your manager to keep attention and visit every room, or communicate more closely with staff who service and clean the rooms.
Location: I have friends who live in Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo and they take me around.
Very disappointing as far as Hotel condition goes. In most of the rooms, one cannot keep the door balcony open, for the outside noise is UNBEARABLE; "Is because the Hotel's "ice purifier'', one of the staff informed me. The other reason, is because the Tesoro is in the middle of two other hotels that have their HUGE AIR-CONDITIONING FANS facing the hotel. The rooms are big enough, but seems as though management or owners have ignored or have not being informed of the need to take care of so many details, such as the lamp-shades that are burn or broken, the bath handles; for some uncontrollable reasons water from the shower flooded the bath floor; of what once were "white towel", now they are gray, and only big towel per person. One cannot place call outside, and NO INTERNET in the rooms, one has to go to the front desk to place calls, or for internet service... However, THE FOOD IS PLENTY AND DELICIOUS, juices, drinks, coffee GALORE! ! ! Hotel staff, EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from North Liberty, IA

Comfortable hotel with wonderful pool and beach.

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: The clean rooms with a beautiful view of the ocean.
Cons: Food could be geared towards Americans a little more. However, we were there in May and usually American and Canadians are only there in the winter.
Location: There is a nice shopping area close by for souvenirs. There are many late night drinking spots there also.
This is the second time that we have stayed at the Tesoro. The rooms are clean and comfortable. You have a beautiful view of the ocean from the balcony. It is centrally located in Ixtapa. A bus goes by every few minutes that would take you into Zihuatanejo to go shopping or out on the town. The pool is great and the beach is beautiful. It is all inclusive and the food at breakfast was great (fresh fruit and omelets made to order). Lunch and supper were mostly geared towards the Mexican population and we are not used to it. We could find enough so that we were not hungry though and desserts were always great. They have a wonderful show each night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay at this hotel. ...spend a litle more

Posted Jun 4, 2013
I have been to Ixtapa hundreds of times in my life... this was by far the worst hotel I have ever visited. The facilities were run down the food was horrible and the service not any better. Next time I will stick with Krystal or Barcelo for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Regina, SK, Canada

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 16, 2013
We were very impressed with the hotel, both in terms of its cleanliness and the great service. Staff were great and very attentive. We would give top marks to the servers in the restaurant and the pool bar and the front desk staff were fantastic - we've never had such a quick and easy check-in and check-out. The only complaint would be that the shower-head needed replacing and the TV reception wasn't great, but neither was a big deal. The room was always cleaned early in the day. The small fridge in the room was a nice addition to keep drinks cold. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends and we would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Jill from Colorado, USA

Budget Hotel crowded pool

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: The price and the beach
Cons: The food and crowded pool
Location: great location, among many other hotels
This place is good if you are on a budget.The pool can get very crowded with local kids especially on the weekend. It became difficult to enter and exit the pool at times as people were sitting and playing on the steps. Overall the place was clean and the staff works very hard, however I did notice the bartenders seemed to wait on the locals first even when we were there first.The food was edible. The beach is beautiful plenty of palapas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Minnesota

Wonderful stay in Ixtapa

Posted Feb 27, 2013
Pros: The staff was top notch.
Cons: The shower and curtain needed to be updated.
Location: Best location in Ixtapa, right in the center of the beach.
This is a typical Mexican resort hotel. We have stayed in many similar resort buildings. The furnishings are dated and could use some updating, but the bed was a pillow top and very comfortable. The resort grounds were clean and wll manicured. The staff is top notch, we did not encounter one unfriendly staff member our entire stay. Everyone went out of their way to ensure the guests were having a nice time. The pool was cleaned each morning and there was always a lifeguard on the deck during the day. We felt safe at all times at this resort. There were several security guards on patrol day and night to protect the grounds. Check in was quick and easy as was check out. We had a later flight home and did not leave the resort until 1:30 pm and they allowed us to keep our all-inclusive bracelets until we left so that we could use the resort until we left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jan 1, 2013
The hotel was very run down and the staff spoke very little English. The food was dreadful. We ate our meals out. Pay the extra and o elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Wetaskiwin, AB

great staff

Posted Nov 30, 2012
I have stayed at this hotel before and have always found the staff the best part of this hotel. They are friendly and try very hard to fulfill all your requests in a prompt and friendly manner. All of the people I dealt with were friendly and courteous. In prior years I did not think there was enough variety in the food but this year it seemed to be much better. I think it is an excellent hotel giving good value for dollar.
3 out of 5
by victor from Beaumont ca

RIU is the way to go

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: food
Cons: hidden charges
Location: ok
I could never stay again in this hotel,... when you arrive they will treat you like a rock star, but... when you are ready to check out, you will be treated as a thief,,,, not good!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Minnie

Wonderful experience

Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels.com