Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mpls

Going in a downward trend

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: clean room...... nice employees
Cons: food......... building stairwells cleaned up
Location: location is great, Ixtapa island awesome, Las Gaddas beach good, la roppa (sp) beach good......
Went for 4 years in a row, skipped last year, back this year,,, rooms are fine, clean, bed ok, room service good 7 out of 10, food is weak,4 out of 10, builing is old, cocktails, 6 out of 10........ gone down hill from 2 years ago.... but for 1K a week?? can't expect a Palace.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sherbrooke, quebec

Très bien situé à IXTAPA

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: tout y est excellent ......
Cons: plus de huttes s la plage
Location: a distance de marche tout est disponible.
cet hotel offre un excellent rapport qualité prix.c'est la troisième fois que nous choisissons cet endroit et des que possible nous y retournerons.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

If you want quiet, this is not the place for you.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly, warm and welcoming. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the beach area was beautiful and clean. Most speak some English
Cons: The rooms need paint and updating. They should not be selling day passes when the hotel is already fully booked.
Location: Franks is a great sports bar with good food. La Perla on La Ropa beach is just excellent with beautiful and amazing sunset views.
The beach and the staff were excellent. However, we were unaware that the hotel is selling day passes to the locals so it made the pool conditions and restaurant VERY overcrowded! We love kids but there were so many kids in and around the pool that we didn't even want to use it. We were on the side of the hotel next to the Park Plaza which has an open air disco and is open from 9 pm until 2 am. The noise is so loud we could hardly sleep. It was awful. The walls are so thin that you can hear the person in the next room sneeze. Our door did not latch properly and it has to be slammed several times to get it to shut. The whole place smells musty and old. The rooms were as clean as they could get them but they need a total makeover. Very poor room conditions. There are no ice machines in the place so you had to go to the restaurant to get ice. The food selection was massive and there was always something available. If you want to get a palapa on the beach, you need to be down there no later than 8 am to get one. They need to come up with a better system for the beach towels. Don't expect to see any "American" television. The only thing available was CNN International which is worthless. We love Ixtapa and have been going there for years but would not return to the Tesoro.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great Climate, Lousy food and bed

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Clean grounds, pool, beach, building well kept excepted as noted
Cons: FOOD BED, ENTERTAINMETMENT, BEDS, TV SETS, Elevators, More staff in Dining room on weekends
Location: On the beach, golf, walking, sit at the pool Great pool to swim in...Near shopping. Weather is paradise
We just got back from the Tesoro today. Stayed there 2 years ago. Place was cleaner this time, but food has gone to heck. Like eating slop most of the time. I swear they reheat the entrees for about 4 straight days. Unsweetened Jello for desert, cold hot dogs, no taste, worst burgers ever. The sit down restaurant of okay Mattress was the worst ever. Room freshly painted, clean but the counter tops were burned and cracked. Great view from the balcony. Grounds well kept. Housekeeping forgot towels, soap or something most days. Air condioning worked good. Hotel elevators are junk and slow. Very slow TV set, at least 25 years old and crummy picture. Nice pool & Beach. Drink okay Internet connection lousy. Worked 2 out of many times I tried. At least hey didn't charge me for it after I complained. Bit understaff in Buffet, but then the food was as I said not so go. Breakfast was the best. Dinning room noisy like grand Central station. Shows were pathetic. If you speak English, there are better place in Ixtapa to stay at. . This place could be much better if management put some decent food on the table, got some decent mattresses, creative "animation staff" and a TV set that was bit more in this century. Next year will be in a diffrent lodging in IX town for us. Been to Mexico a lot and this place is not a RIu or Presidente to say the least...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta Canada

Good resort centrally situated on Ixtapa beach

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The wireless internet connection(which was free but the only choice) was almost useless. It continually lost connection or would not connect.
This was our 8th year at the Tesoro. The food was improved over previous years. The only complaint would be that there was no Expedia rep in Ixtapa and no airport/hotel transportation provided. Also, Expedia did not provide any information as to the taxi cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom MONTERREY

BUENA OPCION DE HOSPEDAJE EN LA ZONA HOTELERA

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: LA PISCINA Y LA CERCANIA AL MAR
Cons: TIENEN MUCHO QUE HACER EN CUANTO A LAS INSTALACIONES
Location: ESTA EL DELFINARIO, EN CASO DE QUE NO QUIERAN COMERN DENTRO DEL HOTEL PUEDEN IR CAMINANDO A ALGUNO DE LOS RESTAURANTES DE LA ZONA COMERCIAL
EL TRATO DEL PERSONAL FUE EXCELENTE, LAS INSTALACIONES ESTAN VIEJAS Y LES FALTA MANTENIMIENTO. LA CALIDAD DE LAS BEBIDAS DEJA MUCHO QUE DESEAR, LA COMIDA ES MUY ACEPTABLE Y LAS ACTIVIDADES RECREATIVAS CUMPLEN SU OBJETIVO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Nice hotel, beach is wonderful,very clean rooms.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach, staff were great.
Cons: sun beds by the pool were almost impossible to get. Guests were up at 6am to stake their claim to them despite signs that read it was not allowed.
Location: Not much to do around the hotel but a short cab ride is Zihuatanejo a must to experience.
Most of the staff speak a little english. We moved rooms 3 times in 2 days but eventually we got what we wanted, a room with a view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ciudad de Mexico

Evento de fin de año

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Cons: Para el evento de fin de año, cerraron la alberca todo el dia 31. Me parece que debieron dejarla abierta al menos medo dia.
Location: Cerca del area comercial.
La limpieza en las habitaciones excelente, asi como el estado de la alberca. Solo me parecio que el hotel es algo viejo. El servicio del personal miy bueno, asi como la comida, pero las bebidas del plan all inclusive no fueron tan buenas.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, CA

Run down facility, Horrible food, Bad service

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The beach, that's it...
Cons: Pretty much everything. The facility is run down very bad, the service is bad, the food and drinks are cheap and borderline just gross.
Location: Location is good- on the beach in Ixtapa.
All-inclusive typically means that you can eat, drink, play as much as you want, whenever you want. Not here... there is one restaurant and it is only open certain hours, you cannot take any food to your room and the food is very poor quality. The alcohol is the cheapest possible and nobody speaks English so you'll have no luck trying to order much other than beer, wine or margaritas. We and some friends stayed for a week and both rooms were in horrible repair, our shower didn't even have a shower head. The room was all white with no decorations and the bed was very cheap and uncomfortable. The beach is great (other than the million pan-handlers begging you to buy the Made-in-China stuff), but you need to go down to the pool or beach at 7am to put your towels on chairs to save them because they all get "taken" by 8am and even though nobody will be sitting at them all day, they are "taken" for the day so they all just sit empty. Truly, a horrible experience in every way. We stayed another week down the street at the Bay View Grande (rented a condo) and it is SO much better in every way. This hotel is all inclusive and we all went out to eat every day because the food and drinks were so bad. Don't waste your money on this place!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom guanajuato

no servia nada en el cuarto

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Nada
Cons: Todo
Location: Nada
Nos asignaron la habitación 208 no servia el termostato del aire enfriaba mucho nos daba mucho frío no servia control de la tv el extractor de malos olores del baño no funcionaba el servibar nunca me lo surtieron las recamareras nos tocaban a los 8.30 para avisar que teníamos que levantarnos más tardar a las 9.00 para limpiar el cuarto, no volvemos a jamás a ese hotel.