Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom western canada

Would be a 1.5 star off the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Hotel on the beach
Cons: Better English understanding with staff. Better selection of alcohol. Tone the poolside music a bit. Another a la carte restaurant.
Location: Good location. Walking distance to what ever you might need. Good bus and taxi access.
This is not just Mexican destination so a little for fluent in the English language would have been. Don't need to order red wine and get white is one of many examples. A la carte music should be indicative of the theme for the dinner not just the canned hotel music. Interior of rooms of need of some decent higher quality paint not just the basic latex cheap primer like stuff as this hotel is right in line of the prevailing winds off the ocean. Got air conditioning but came with the expense of a fair bit of noise from the unit. Paid for wifi but had to be by the outside window or out on the deck to get signal that wouldn't drop wifi out. Hotel is on the beach though:):)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is overpriced and overrated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great hotel amazing vacation! Nice clean hotel and friendly staff and an abundance of great food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

resting, good food, excellent staff

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: the beach front location, food and professional staff
Cons: Another restaurant that would open between meals would be nice.
Location: Excellent location on the hotel Blvd. Beach front property. Many small restaurants near by and a big Mercado to purchase odds and ends.
Eleven friends from Seattle, San Fransisco, Phoenix, El Paso decided to go to Ixtapa/Zihutanejo for our yearly reunion. We chose the Tesoro Ixtapa hotel from the reviews we had read. We are all in agreement the stay was excellent in the hotel. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, in our accomodations and in their advise on fishing trips and boat tours. The food is excellent all buffett style. The beach is clean with a minimum of beach vendors. The hotel clientle was national tourist, very few Europeans or from the States. Everyone was friendly. Most staff are bilingual. Offering advise on taxi fares to different locations. Very safe locations for walking or jogging around the hotel blvds. Lots of small restaurants and curio stores near by. A friend suffered an accident and in minutes the hotel staff and medical assistance was present. A doctor arrived to check on the health and welfare of our friend. Nothing major, just a bruise. We rank this hotel very highly for their helpful staff, great food, gorgeous beach and bay. Clean rooms with an excellent air conditioning system. Very family friendly hotel and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington, IN

Can't beat pool and beach access!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The pool was great - they have a kiddie pool. And the beach was beautiful.
Cons: Hotel needs some work after earthquake damage. And better AC and more towels needed in the rooms.
Location: Zihautanejo is a short drive away. We had a nice seafood dinner there. This was also a great place to buy souvenirs.
This hotel needs some updating but overall our stay was pleasant. The sate of the rooms were disappointing (example: ac wasn't very powerful) but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The pool and beach access were awesome and we found the staff to be very friendly. We traveled with a toddler and we found the staff accommodating to some of our needs (providing to go containers for food). Had to pay for wifi access in the room and connection wasn't very reliable. Free wifi access in the lobby though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Older building, showing a bit of wear in places, but rooms and public areas were kept neat, clean and attractive. Staff were friendly and service was quick and efficient. Food was very good, lots of variety for all meals, with something new every day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Berniefrom Denver, CO

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Staff made all the difference in the world!! Manny at the outside Bar Rocks!!
Cons: Maybe more touchups on the rooms iteself. For example, painting or something to update the bathrooms.
Location: Location was fantastic!! Things to do nearby, are parasailing, fishing and bicycle riding.
My husband and I have been all over Mexico several times except for Ixtapa, Zih. We werent sure how we would like it compared to the other cities we have visited. Well, let me tell you if you like a place to go just to hang out on the beach and the pool, this Hotel is for you!! We had a Wonderful time at Tesoro and we are defintely going back later this year. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary there and we will always remember it. It's a small fishing community with not a lot of night life but that's ok with us in our mid 40's now. We would defintely recommend the Tesoro. The staff there were all very helpful and nice. It's a shade behind a three star hotel, but the food was Delicious with enough variety and the desserts were Fantastic!! The pool is big enough for many and there are lots of kids and locals who stay there as well, so if you dont like a lot of children running around then this place isnt for you by any means. All in all, as i said it was a Great Vacation and we shall return. Viva la Ixtapa!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JOfrom Michigan

good location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: staff friendly and helpful the pool side service was enjoyable and activities during day available if desired
Location: there are many day trips to take-over the years we have done most of them-now we like to walk the beach and sit by the pool - then do a bit of walking
my husband and I have been here before and this was a fun visit as always in Ixtapa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for family

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Food was good to many young kids and crying kids for spending that much money probably won't go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rayfrom Vancouver Canada

Great smaller hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
This hotel is really nice the food is good and the drinks are great. It has new soft beds and the best beach for walking you will not be disappointed