Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

resting, good food, excellent staff

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: the beach front location, food and professional staff
Cons: Another restaurant that would open between meals would be nice.
Location: Excellent location on the hotel Blvd. Beach front property. Many small restaurants near by and a big Mercado to purchase odds and ends.
Eleven friends from Seattle, San Fransisco, Phoenix, El Paso decided to go to Ixtapa/Zihutanejo for our yearly reunion. We chose the Tesoro Ixtapa hotel from the reviews we had read. We are all in agreement the stay was excellent in the hotel. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, in our accomodations and in their advise on fishing trips and boat tours. The food is excellent all buffett style. The beach is clean with a minimum of beach vendors. The hotel clientle was national tourist, very few Europeans or from the States. Everyone was friendly. Most staff are bilingual. Offering advise on taxi fares to different locations. Very safe locations for walking or jogging around the hotel blvds. Lots of small restaurants and curio stores near by. A friend suffered an accident and in minutes the hotel staff and medical assistance was present. A doctor arrived to check on the health and welfare of our friend. Nothing major, just a bruise. We rank this hotel very highly for their helpful staff, great food, gorgeous beach and bay. Clean rooms with an excellent air conditioning system. Very family friendly hotel and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

Can't beat pool and beach access!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The pool was great - they have a kiddie pool. And the beach was beautiful.
Cons: Hotel needs some work after earthquake damage. And better AC and more towels needed in the rooms.
Location: Zihautanejo is a short drive away. We had a nice seafood dinner there. This was also a great place to buy souvenirs.
This hotel needs some updating but overall our stay was pleasant. The sate of the rooms were disappointing (example: ac wasn't very powerful) but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The pool and beach access were awesome and we found the staff to be very friendly. We traveled with a toddler and we found the staff accommodating to some of our needs (providing to go containers for food). Had to pay for wifi access in the room and connection wasn't very reliable. Free wifi access in the lobby though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Older building, showing a bit of wear in places, but rooms and public areas were kept neat, clean and attractive. Staff were friendly and service was quick and efficient. Food was very good, lots of variety for all meals, with something new every day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bernie from Denver, CO

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Staff made all the difference in the world!! Manny at the outside Bar Rocks!!
Cons: Maybe more touchups on the rooms iteself. For example, painting or something to update the bathrooms.
Location: Location was fantastic!! Things to do nearby, are parasailing, fishing and bicycle riding.
My husband and I have been all over Mexico several times except for Ixtapa, Zih. We werent sure how we would like it compared to the other cities we have visited. Well, let me tell you if you like a place to go just to hang out on the beach and the pool, this Hotel is for you!! We had a Wonderful time at Tesoro and we are defintely going back later this year. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary there and we will always remember it. It's a small fishing community with not a lot of night life but that's ok with us in our mid 40's now. We would defintely recommend the Tesoro. The staff there were all very helpful and nice. It's a shade behind a three star hotel, but the food was Delicious with enough variety and the desserts were Fantastic!! The pool is big enough for many and there are lots of kids and locals who stay there as well, so if you dont like a lot of children running around then this place isnt for you by any means. All in all, as i said it was a Great Vacation and we shall return. Viva la Ixtapa!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JO from Michigan

good location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: staff friendly and helpful the pool side service was enjoyable and activities during day available if desired
Location: there are many day trips to take-over the years we have done most of them-now we like to walk the beach and sit by the pool - then do a bit of walking
my husband and I have been here before and this was a fun visit as always in Ixtapa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for family

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Food was good to many young kids and crying kids for spending that much money probably won't go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Vancouver Canada

Great smaller hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
This hotel is really nice the food is good and the drinks are great. It has new soft beds and the best beach for walking you will not be disappointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Regina, SK, Canada

Great location on the beach.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Pool. Staff.
Cons: Face cloths and hand towels in the room.
We had a great time, our second visit to the Tesoro having also stayed there last year. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are big and clean, and the pool is one of the best in Ixtapa. The staff in the restaurant were always happy to see us and very attentive. We would definitely recommend the Tesoro to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were by the pool and had a nice patio.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff with nice accomodations.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nice walk to Senior Frog's and the flea markets. Great walk to the marina.
Beautiful weather!! Great staff and had a good time.
1 out of 5
by helidio from washington

Extremely Terrible Hotel staff

Posted Mar 14, 2014
I was extremely disappointed with the predisposition of staff towards my family and myself. We were not treated with the same quality of servitude ( shunned at some points) as other guest simply because we didn't appear up to par with other guest. I am deeply offended by this form of classification of patrons.