Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great Hotel on Playa La Ropa Beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, food, rooms. We are planning a trip there again for next year with our family.
Wonderful experience at this hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Great location, excellent food and service

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It is well suited for couples, not really a kid place.
Cons: Just a personal preference our bed was more firm than we like but not bad at all.
Location: The location was as good as you are going to get on Playa del Ropa. Town center is a short taxi ride.
We thoroughly enjoed our stay at the Viceroy.We got a beautiful beach view suite and it was well worth the extra money. The food was better at the restaraunts at the hotel than we found elsewhere and the service was absolutely great. We will be back to the Viceroy and would not change a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

We can't wait to go back

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Everything about our stay was great. The staff was wonderful. In fact, they couldn't have been better. The grounds are beautiful and everything is very well maintained. Everything we had at the restaurants was delicious and well prepared. We were a little concerned about the price of the food, from reading several reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised when we were presented our final bill at check out. There are several small restaurants along the beach near the hotel that were very good and less expensive, which we did take advantage of. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia CA

Stayed for four nights as a couple getaway.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Enjoyed our time there very much. Beautiful, relaxing facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Food was great!! Some highlights were the cooking class with Alfredo, romantic dinner right on the sand and the sea turtles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Very nice hotel and great stuff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Food, location and great service. Enjoyed our stay a lot. The beach is nice and clean. La Ropa is great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Classic Style, Beautiful Setting

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff is one of the best at anywhere. The setting is romantic and beautiful. It is a true no-stress get away at its best.
Location: The location is the very best in all of Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa because of the Playa del Ropa beach.
This is our fifth visit back since 2001. We don't believe you will find a better beach front hotel in all of Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa. In fact we would take the Viceroy over any hotel in Baja, or PV as well! Most of the staff is long-term 10, 15 years or more. Formerly The Villa del Sol (for 25 years) it was run by the owner/builder who achieved a reputation for having one of the finest hotels in all of Mexico by Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast and others. The hotel was sold around 2008 to The Tides hotel group who sadly let it deteriorate in quality and repair for two years. However, the great news is that the newer owners, Viceroy, an experienced chain of luxury hotels, has now restored the Viceroy Zihuatanejo to its former luxury status. With only 65 rooms, the perfect beach in all of Zihuatanejo, multiple dining options and a very, very friendly staff, you really have no reason to ever leave :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard to beat - excellent!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent service, large room, very private.
Cons: Not much
Location: Got to the Casa que Canta restaurant - excellent!
1 Week in Zihuatanejo, Completely relaxing, highest quality service (staff actually anticipates your needs). Food is very good. Beach clean, warm water, large and accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A Great Vacation!

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We live in Los Angeles and know the Viceroy brand, the Viceroy Santa Monica and also the Viceroy Palm Springs. Viceroy Zihuatanejo is a wonderful vacation destination. It's in a great location with an incredible beach. Overall the hotel was excellent! The restaurants were a pleasant surprise -- gourmet food and attentive service. Breakfasts are stellar. On our last night, there was a wine dinner with five courses. The wine was from Spain and the chef did an amazing job. You can walk to town but cabs are better. Town is interesting and also has many good restaurants. But what I still think about is the beautiful Pacific ocean and the clean, warm water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little Paradies

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Returned after 7 years and found a wonderful Hotel with ever so friendly staff again. While this is a truly relaxing place with a very romantic Mexican feel, our daughter was also very welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Houston, TX

Flawless luxury right on the beach...

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The best hotel on the beach. Faultless service, very nice rooms, great food, plenty of different pools/bars/areas to suit your mood.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Plenty of things to do on Playa La Ropa - rent a Jet Ski, go snorkeling, safe swimming, para-sailing, fishing trips etc.
Fantastic hotel right on the beach (Playa La Ropa). Perfect solution for a romantic 3 night getaway. The resort is beautifully designed and superbly managed. The staff attentiveness and overall service was outstanding...true 5 star service without being obnoxious or invasive. You can choose whether to dine at the hotel (excellent), or venture out into Zihuatanejo. Either way, there's some great food options. Plenty of activities are available...fishing was a big hit. We negotiated a half day private fishing trip which included snorkeling and stopping off at Playa Las Gatas to relax and have our catch (Tuna, Mahi-Mahi) prepared by an excellent chef on the beach. May is a good time to go. Beginning of the low season but the weather is still excellent. This is the kind of place that you want to go back to.