Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fabulous hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Wonderful staff, food, and accommodations! Service was impeccable. Pools and palapas inviting. Visited in September and would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Luna de miel - Honeymoon!!!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location and the level of customer service, just wonderful.
Location: Location is ideal, close to the center of Zihuatanejo. We hiked over to the beach area Las Gatas and explored the area. Very rustic and beautiful!
The Viceroy is situated in the most wonderful paradise. Private seculsion. The level of detail and customer focus detail by the staff is exceptional. Each person is treated like royalty. Grounds are kept up, everything very clean...beach area is the best!!!! In each direction a perfect view. Food at the Viceroy was top notch. Had breakfast and dinners on site. Each one so different and a delight. Sunsets to die for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
First time in Mexico and it was wonderful! The staff was wonderful, it didn't matter if it was the bartender or a maintenance man they were all so friendly and accommodating! We loved staying at the Viceroy. We didn't want to leave and look forward to returning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great Hotel on Playa La Ropa Beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, food, rooms. We are planning a trip there again for next year with our family.
Wonderful experience at this hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Great location, excellent food and service

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It is well suited for couples, not really a kid place.
Cons: Just a personal preference our bed was more firm than we like but not bad at all.
Location: The location was as good as you are going to get on Playa del Ropa. Town center is a short taxi ride.
We thoroughly enjoed our stay at the Viceroy.We got a beautiful beach view suite and it was well worth the extra money. The food was better at the restaraunts at the hotel than we found elsewhere and the service was absolutely great. We will be back to the Viceroy and would not change a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

We can't wait to go back

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Everything about our stay was great. The staff was wonderful. In fact, they couldn't have been better. The grounds are beautiful and everything is very well maintained. Everything we had at the restaurants was delicious and well prepared. We were a little concerned about the price of the food, from reading several reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised when we were presented our final bill at check out. There are several small restaurants along the beach near the hotel that were very good and less expensive, which we did take advantage of. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia CA

Stayed for four nights as a couple getaway.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Enjoyed our time there very much. Beautiful, relaxing facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Food was great!! Some highlights were the cooking class with Alfredo, romantic dinner right on the sand and the sea turtles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Very nice hotel and great stuff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Food, location and great service. Enjoyed our stay a lot. The beach is nice and clean. La Ropa is great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Classic Style, Beautiful Setting

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff is one of the best at anywhere. The setting is romantic and beautiful. It is a true no-stress get away at its best.
Location: The location is the very best in all of Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa because of the Playa del Ropa beach.
This is our fifth visit back since 2001. We don't believe you will find a better beach front hotel in all of Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa. In fact we would take the Viceroy over any hotel in Baja, or PV as well! Most of the staff is long-term 10, 15 years or more. Formerly The Villa del Sol (for 25 years) it was run by the owner/builder who achieved a reputation for having one of the finest hotels in all of Mexico by Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast and others. The hotel was sold around 2008 to The Tides hotel group who sadly let it deteriorate in quality and repair for two years. However, the great news is that the newer owners, Viceroy, an experienced chain of luxury hotels, has now restored the Viceroy Zihuatanejo to its former luxury status. With only 65 rooms, the perfect beach in all of Zihuatanejo, multiple dining options and a very, very friendly staff, you really have no reason to ever leave :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard to beat - excellent!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent service, large room, very private.
Cons: Not much
Location: Got to the Casa que Canta restaurant - excellent!
1 Week in Zihuatanejo, Completely relaxing, highest quality service (staff actually anticipates your needs). Food is very good. Beach clean, warm water, large and accessible.