Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel clean and very very good location.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
I wish if they offer scramble eggs on breakfast, the water pressure when I take shower was low and it's iretating, the evening staff they were very helpful and polit, but they don't speak English, Over all it's clean safe budget hotel and in a good location. If u r travelling on a budget and u don't want to spend lots of money for over expensive hotel. Believe me this is the one for you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2014 by sinem kurtural, Hotel Management
WE PREPARE SRAMBLED EGGS FOR AN EXTRA COST IF YOU ASK THE COOK HE MAKES IT. SORRY FOR THAT.
1 out of 5
by Catalina from NY

Don't go to this hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pictures have nothing to do with reality. Horrible and hard to find location, really old and not well kept facilities. The only positive remark is the man that checked us in ... very kind and helpful even though he barely spoke English. On the other hand, the young man that checked us out, who spoke perfect English, was really rude and unpleasant. The hotel is not cheap, so even if you are trying to save some money and don't expect to stay long, I truly advise you not to go there ... And believe me because I am not a high maintenance person when it comes to crashing for one night in a hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alireza from Iran

Great location, Excellent value of money

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed 3 nights with a family of 4 in two rooms; 202 and 206. The location is excellent; in the Basmane area, near the bus and Tier station, and just a few steps from Fevzi Pasha Blvd that Kemeraltı Bazaar is beside it. Konak square, Konak Pier and Clock Tower are about 10-15 min walk away. English speaking receptionist (Erhan) is available from 9am to 9pm. He is very polite and helpful. Rooms are small and clean. Breakfast was good, and the servant was a nice guy. WiFi was not accessible in room 206, and I had to stand in corridor to check mail! There are enough kitchen and cooking equipment in basement floor where several historical pieces are available. I should also mention that most of the hotels around are not equipped with elevators, but Guzel Izmir has.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2014 by Sinem Kurtural, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. Wish to host you again @ guzel Izmir hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebecca from Lakewood, CA

Second worst place I've ever stayed.

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
If driving read the fine print! Not free, not secure and 7 TL daily. Watch out because the guy from the hotel will take you to the car park (hard to find the first time) and take your ticket so you have to pay again while leaving! If you speak to them in English about it, they won't understand you! Bathroom. Was a toilet shower combo, meaning no separation between the 2 and water will cover EVERYTHING! The room is a dirty mess! Breakfast was ok, probably the best thing about the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Sinem Kurtural, Hotel Management
I am very sorry but from what you have written it is not the same hotel. Our PRINTS ARE FOR FREE. Our parking driver does not give a TICKET.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Ixmir Turkey

Pleasant Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall satisfied; however, had to sign up with passport and room number each time I used computer which was inconvenient. Also internet connectiondid not work with my Kindle//had to go down to lobby to connect..also floor we were on had no lamps which was frustrating after dark..would have appreciated happy hour with a lamp so we could see one another....breakfast was good..typical Turkish will delicious olives, cheese,breads,etc....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Could be better, could be worse

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this place for three nights in April 2013. It has some pros: it is conveniently located to the train station and major sites of Izmir, and the front desk staff were very helpful. However, there were cons as well: my room was not ready when I checked in, the tv in the room did not work, and most frustratingly, my room did not get hot water - or it did, but only after running both the sink and shower simultaneously for 25 minutes after 8 pm. The amenities - such as the lounge, cafe, and gym were in the basement and not very inviting. If you're just in Izmir for a short stay and need a conveniently located hotel, then this place is fine. But all the little frustrations and inconveniences added up after awhile and make me rate this hotel as sub-par in the categories of maintenance, cleanliness, and comfort.
2 out of 5
by Theresa from Australia

I will not stay here again

Posted Mar 8, 2013
I will not stay here again, there are hotels either side of this one and plenty other hotels in the area, so I will look else where. The room was cold, heating was not switched on, hot water was turned off during the day, only switched on at 6:30pm, the shower screen was missing, no soap was provided, the bedding and pillows were not comfortable, the room was not made up and I had to ask for clean towels for the following day.
2 out of 5
by Jane from New York, NY, USA

I would not recommend this hotel.

Posted Feb 17, 2013
Location: Convenient to Basmane Gar and the service bus stops for the Otogar, and not far from some sights. Not a great neighborhood though. Kind of sketchy.
This hotel is in a neighborhood full of hotels, but you're probably better off with the others. It is near the International Fairgrounds, the Basmane Train Station and Kemeraltı Çarşısı (bazaar). It is also not too far from Konak Pier. If that is all you are looking for, then this hotel is fine. For me though, this hotel was dirty, run-down seeming, lacking anything aesthetically pleasing and not conveniently located. It was cheap as far as hotels go, and I guess I got what I paid for. When I complained to the hotel staff about the lack of cleanliness, they wanted to help and said they'd inform the housekeeping staff. Either they never got the message to their staff or the cleaning staff just doesn't know how to clean. Also, my room was near the elevator, which made very loud clanking noises that disturbed my sleep. The room's lighting was fluorescent and ugly. The walls were in need of a new paint job and were painted that awful sort of sterile white. The internet was very spotty and didn't work in our room - we had to use it in the downstairs lobby. One slightly redeeming quality, I guess, was the breakfast spread.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

disaster!!!

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Exremely dirty!!! Even If I paid room rate, I could not stay in five minutes in the room.