Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Powderdog from Utah

Stay Somewhere Else

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: It is a good location, near the center of downtown Jackson. But the town is so small, I think most of the hotels are also centrally located.
Cons: Clean that place up. Replace stained blankets, sheets, and shower curtains. Vacuum the carpets thoroughly, all around the edges. Wireless connection.
Location: Location was great. Cowboy coffee shop is worth checking out. And there's a bar on broadway... Silver Star? That's a great place.
This was probably the worst hotel room I've ever stayed in. The woman working at the reception desk (in the Anvil Inn, El Rancho doesn't have an office) was very friendly and helpful, but the room itself was beyond disappointing. The blankets on the beds bore some suspicious looking stains, as did the shower curtain in the bathroom. Dust, crumbs, and pieces of unidentifiable refuse were in the corners of the room, suggesting that the place hadn't been thoroughly vacuumed for quite some time. For a few hours I tried to sleep fully clothed because I remained unconvinced that the sheets were clean. The towels were freshly cleaned and folded, so in all likelihood the bedsheets were too, like I said, I was just not convinced. During the night I had to unplug the mini-fridge because every time the compressor kicked on, it was loud enough to wake me up. But even with the mini-fridge disconnected, there was some heating or other climate control unit outside my room (not for my room) that also made an incredible racket all through the night. I was never able to get the wireless internet connection to work, so I spent some time at the Cowboy Coffee shop just down the street. The cowboy coffee shop, by the way is an interesting little place. They have great pastries, decent coffee, and not particularly friendly staff. Starbucks (just a little farther down the street) is open an hour later in the evening. If I stay in Jackson Hole again, I will not be at El Rancho Motel.
2 out of 5
by Kellie

Rough night!

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly, room was clean and it was a lower priced room.
Location: Jackson Hole is near the Tetons and Yellowstone, Tons of shops and nightlife in town!
The hotel room itself was clean and tidy. The staff was nice and the price was decent. However, there was no air conditioning and it was warm enough that we needed to crack a window. What made the night so rough is that I don't know if it was a family on vacation or a live in family....but they were up until 3 a.m. each night we were there. We could hear them talk, laugh, walk around, etc. Also, the hotel is right behind restaurants. We could hear employees come and go, garbage being emptied, etc. Lastly, the front office is a little hard to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brenda from Logan, UT

Great Location, Great Price

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
At the El Rancho you get what you pay for. The rooms are small, and the bed isn't that comfortable. However, the downtown location in Jackson is within walking distance of many great shops and restaurants. You can't beat the price especially if you don't plan on spending much time in your room, which if you're visiting Jackson you're hopefully not!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aditya from Denver

Nice location, close to Yellowstone NP

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very convenient for one/two night stay. Room itself is very moderate,
2 out of 5
by jo

El Rauncho should be the name

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Internet did not work only half of the electric plugs worked Bed is small and beaten up staff seemed bothered to answer questions about why internet would not work
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by GLL from VA

Only for one night

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wouldn't stay again....the carpet had all kinds of crud in it under the table...by the beds...the mattresses were horrible...the pillows were pieces of something....it stunk....the hair dryer wouldn't work...there was coffee in the room but I was afraid to drink it because never know if the coffee pot had been cleaned or not.....the walls were so thin you could hear everything in the next room and hear people walking upstairs....could hear everyone out in the parking area....the only good thing I would say about the place is that the soaps and lotions provided were good....we walked past the other part of this hotel and it looked like no one had cut the grass in 3 years it was so tall...I'm glad we were there for one night....try other hotels if this is the last one I think I would go outside of Jackson..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert from Georgia

Adequate

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our rooms (we stayed two different times) were just what we needed. Inexpensive and in easy walking distance to downtown. We didn't plan to be in our room a lot and weren't looking for a resort type setting. Just a comfortable room. There was some construction noise across the block but not El Rancho's fault. I would stay with them again.
1 out of 5
by msk from Canton, MI

Badly manged motel in the center of the town.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Renovate from bottom to top otherwise demolish it and rebuilt it.
We booked two rooms for one night. For check in you have to go to another adjoining Motel (follow the directions). Rooms were dirty, full of stinky smell. Towels, Linen and bed spread appeared to be cleaned but look dirty!! Rooms have original carpets from the day motel was built !!!. Never cleaned. Breakfast area has only 2 chairs and it was in the next door motel. From outside of the motel is like a haunted place. Save your money and sleep in your car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vam123 from Albany, NY

Nice and cozy rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: TV with many channels, hair dryer, iron, ski racks
Location: Close to grand Teton and yellowstone national park
Rooms are pretty clean. Beds are good and comfortable. Nice place to stay. Worth the money. Do not expect great breakfast...snacks only. Try to take power surge protectors to connect to expensive electronics.