Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very disapppointing. Not worth the price paid

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Stayed at main hotel several years ago (Anvil). The Anvil was nice. The El Rancho is apparently an "overflow" motel. No airconditioning, the ceiling fan and the clock radio didn't work. The continental breakfast was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great position for centre of town but quiet also.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Position in town was good. Everything OK but nothing special
Cons: Small Fridge in room. Microwave. Most budget hotels have these as standard now.
Location: Jackson has loads of activities to do and is a popular town. Grand Teton and Yellowstone NP are both accessible from Jackson.
The hotel is situated just behind the main road in the centre of Jackson close to the main square so is ideal for getting in and out of town. Breakfast is typical low budget hotel -packet muffin, granula bar and on one day we also had a yoghurt and an apple to choose from. Breakfast is a 50m walk round the corner to the reception of their sister hotel. Same place you check in. Room is very basic but clean. Bed was a bit hard. No microwave or fridge but ice available . No ice bucket in rooms either. Rooms are poorly lit so appear quite dark. Coffee machine in room. Shower was good. One of the cheaper places to stay in Jackson but still expensive for what you get but thats what it is if you want to stop in Jackson.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wow, a hotel this marginal in Jackson Hole !!!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Room size is too small. Get some air conditioning and try to greet customers in a friendly manner.
The room was tiny. There was not air conditioning. The ceiling fan squeaked and groaned. The noise from neighboring rooms was unbearable until 1:00 a.m. The manager was somewhere between aloof and rude. The coffee maker in the room was broken. A horrible motel experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Just a short overnight stay for business.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect and easy parking
Cons: Coffee was not very good.
Location: Jackson downtown is 2 blocks away. Most of the city sights are within walking distance.
I loved the location and the hotel was nice. Not luxurious but clean and comfortable. Nice woman at check in. It was a bit pricey but all of the hotels in Jackson are expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winters, CA

Great Location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet and unpretentious on a back alley. Reminiscent of the motor lodges of an earlier time. Park at your room! What a concept!
Location: Central Jackson, WY minutes from National Parks, skiing, river rafting, restaurants, and mountain activities. Near "tourist trap" galleries and shops.
An older facility but clean, quiet, comfortable, and plenty of hot water. Opening windows allow for fresh air in rooms. Within walking distance of central Jackson restaurants and tourist traps. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerry from Philadelphia area

Clean but old.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Cost and clean rooms
Cons: Outside appearance
Location: Two blockers from town square. Near bus stop. Quiet area
We wanted a cheap place to stay a couple of days. This motel is behind the Anvil where you check in. It is near to everything including the bus. The double bed, not queen, room was very small but very clean. That is the most important thing to us. We were only there to shower and sleep. Great bed! Did notice no AC for summer but we did not need it for this time of year. We would recommend for a clean no frills stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda

Good location

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Walking distance to old town.
This is an older motel but it has charm. The location was great for downtown Jackson.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DY from Casper, WY

Not horrible...staff was very friendly

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Decent price.
Cons: Bed comfort & directions to hotel and location explanation on Anvil website & Expedia's website.
Location: It was close to the Jackson strip so walking around was easy and convenient
It was a cheap hotel but it was very hard to find and that is because it was behind the Anvil which is actually where you have to check in as well...Expedia's pictures made it look like El Rancho had it's own office but it's operated by the Anvil. The beds were extremely uncomfortable but the staff were very nice. The breakfast was basic, but it was still breakfast :)
1 out of 5
by Powderdog from Utah

Stay Somewhere Else

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: It is a good location, near the center of downtown Jackson. But the town is so small, I think most of the hotels are also centrally located.
Cons: Clean that place up. Replace stained blankets, sheets, and shower curtains. Vacuum the carpets thoroughly, all around the edges. Wireless connection.
Location: Location was great. Cowboy coffee shop is worth checking out. And there's a bar on broadway... Silver Star? That's a great place.
This was probably the worst hotel room I've ever stayed in. The woman working at the reception desk (in the Anvil Inn, El Rancho doesn't have an office) was very friendly and helpful, but the room itself was beyond disappointing. The blankets on the beds bore some suspicious looking stains, as did the shower curtain in the bathroom. Dust, crumbs, and pieces of unidentifiable refuse were in the corners of the room, suggesting that the place hadn't been thoroughly vacuumed for quite some time. For a few hours I tried to sleep fully clothed because I remained unconvinced that the sheets were clean. The towels were freshly cleaned and folded, so in all likelihood the bedsheets were too, like I said, I was just not convinced. During the night I had to unplug the mini-fridge because every time the compressor kicked on, it was loud enough to wake me up. But even with the mini-fridge disconnected, there was some heating or other climate control unit outside my room (not for my room) that also made an incredible racket all through the night. I was never able to get the wireless internet connection to work, so I spent some time at the Cowboy Coffee shop just down the street. The cowboy coffee shop, by the way is an interesting little place. They have great pastries, decent coffee, and not particularly friendly staff. Starbucks (just a little farther down the street) is open an hour later in the evening. If I stay in Jackson Hole again, I will not be at El Rancho Motel.