Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great convenient slopeside hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Convenience to slopes, great view of mountains.
Cons: The beds were a bit soft.
Location: Skiing! 1 min walk to lifts and ski right up to room. Snowshoe tours available as well as a Nordic ski track.
Loved this hotel! Very convenient slopeside lodging. Could ski right up to the room! The hot tub was great and the fitness center had enough equipment for a good workout.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ski in ski out

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location. Would have liked a comfy chair in the room. Lobby of the hotel is nice with lots of couches, chairs and tables. It was crowded in the evenings. No place to sit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David N. from Raleigh NC

On the mountain

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
An incredible location, with lots of summer and winter stuff to do.... The 500" average snowfall will likely keep me away in the winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sidmeister

Quiet place to sleep among the pines

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Targhee Lodge was an excellent place to stay despite having most of our business take place in Jackson Wy. It's a bit of a drive (approx 1hr) to/from Jackson but offered a quiet place to relax in an absolutely beautiful mountain setting out of the traffic and madness of the city. The rooms were good sized, clean and well kept. They offer a full buffet every morning that gave us a good start every day. Service was excellent. The drive to/from was beautiful and offered vistas of both the Teton Valley and Jackson Hole that filled our digital cameras. As you approach the Lodge, you get a beautiful view of the back side of the Grand Tetons. I would stay there again if I have business in Jackson.
3 out of 5
by fortyish couple from Utah

Good staff

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The area is beautiful with very nice hiking/biking trails.
Cons: The resort needs to be updated
Location: If you are looking for quiet hikes and plenty of biking trails, or good skiing at a small resort, this place might be a good fit
Grand Targhee is a small, older resort. This was at a very quiet time of year, mid-September, so there were few guests, but the staff, from the restaurant/bar to the desk staff were all very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable, but the hallway was very dark and dreary. It felt like entering a dungeon until you opened the door to a pleasant enough room. It could use a definite make-over! Food on site (and there is nothing else nearby) was served by a good staff, but was not very appetizing. The bar nachos came on a huge platter but were dried out like they had been sitting in an oven. I could find almost no cheese on them (these are nachos people!) The menu at the Branding Iron is very limited, not inexpensive, and not very appealing. Dinner was presented nicely but was not very good. More variety would have been nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel a long way from town.

Posted Sep 14, 2013
This is aski lodge and it is a 7 mile drive up the hill. Older building without elevator. Very good breakfast included in room rent. Their only open restaurant was good and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from North Carolina

Glorious!

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Beautiful room with authentic Western feel to it. Comfortable and welcoming. It was one of the most special hotel stays of my trip. I will recommend.
Location: Simply awesome! Up in the treetops. Beautifully laid out village atmosphere. Flowers everywhere. The patio was delightful.
It was simply wonderful. Would have loved to stay there a few more nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sam from Idaho

OK hotel but a long way from Jackson Hole

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful! We had a buffet with lots of choices. The waitresses were great and prompt in getting our beverages out to us.
Cons: Having a ground floor as an option would be very helpful. The 1st set of stairs didn't have a railing and I had to have someone help me up them.
Location: It was a long way from Jackson Hole. I couldn't get a number for the resort until I made my non-refundable reservation. It was out of the way for us.
We got in late and were told where our room was, but we had a hard time finding it. A security person came by and showed us where we needed to go. It was very hard for my husband to navigate the stairs where our room was located. The room was clean but very dated. It had excellent storage that we could have used if we had been going skiing. There wasn't any air conditioning in the room so it was very stuffy when we first got there. I found a fan on the shelves that I was able to use which helped a lot. It would have been super hot if it had been earlier in the summer.