Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family road trip

Posted Jul 18, 2014
This hotel is clean and serves a free breakfast and if that is what is most important to you then you will be fine. The beds are OLD and in terrible shape, the linens were torn and didn't fit right, the parking is terrible and non existent if you have a trailer or oversized vehicle. It was all super noisy and we weren't even near the group reservation area. We didn't try the pool. We did have our large dog which they allowed so that was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Convenient location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Location: It's in Jackson, WY near Teton National Park. What more can be said? Oh yes, the Million Dollar Cowboy Bar is just a couple of blocks up the street.
It was a convenient and reasonably priced place to stay while visiting Jackson, WY. Desk personnel at registration very pleasant and helpful. No problems during a 2 day stay. "Free" breakfast at an adjacent restaurant was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My husband and I stayed at Painted Buffalo in July of 2014. Hotel is very accessible and close to downtown. It is an older hotel but clean and has character ( not a chain). I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Trip to Jackson

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great location, room was average, staff was average, never got to use the pool so I can't coment on that, but their free breakfast might be the worst I've ever seen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for one night.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel is good for one night. Our kids enjoyed the indoor pool and breakfast was descent. Go early as seating is limited. Older hotel but ok for one night stay. Close to grocery store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Overpriced for room but not for location.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location close to Jackson Square and antler arches, shopping and dining. Complimentary breakfast was above average.
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Close to all of the tourist traps in Jackson.
The Painted Buffalo is in a great location and the staff was awesome. Parking is a little limited. The room was fine but would be way overpriced if it were in any other location. All hotel prices in Jackson seem high!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Dirty room, dingy linens, nice employees

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We did not feel comforrable at all in the unclean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slc, ut

We Liked It!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: all of the above
Cons: Not one thing
Location: We went to the july 4th parade rodeo
We were concerned about the 2 star rating. It was a great motel for us- refrigerator micro wave( not in the other 2 more expensive motels) The continental breakfast was great(no breakfast in the other 2 motels!). We will absolutely try to book the painted buffalo inn if we are fortunate to come to jackson hole again. Please let the staff know that they were very pleasant, knowlegable to work with. Great place- close to downtown, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Great location, carpet looks dirty to me, but rest of room clean. Pack just an overnight bag because you don't want to lug big bags up the stairs. At checkout tried to charge a resort fee of $2.50 which I was not told about and refused to pay nicely. Beware, stuffed animals in the room may not be taken or it costs 100 dollars. They tell you upfront but would be a temptation for a kid. We took pictures of all of ours instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town, terrible beds.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Cheap prices, close to town.
Cons: Beds were the worst ever, breakfast was lousy, holes in curtains, no Kleenex in the room, needs better noise isolation from other rooms, tiny toilets.
Location: Close to town, about 3 blocks from downtown, about 25 min. to Grand Tetons.
The overall room space and price were o'kay, but the mattresses were just awful. It was nice to have a small fridge and microwave, but it didn't make up for the lousy beds, and the curtains had moth holes in them. The bathrooms are very cramped and the shower heads are bad, even for motel standards. Also, you could hear when people in other rooms flushed their toilets, or turned on their showers. The free breakfast was tiny muffins and stale doughnuts, plus stale cold cereal. There was very little parking, as they parallel parked two huge buses in the lot each night, using about 8 spaces each. Simply put, a lot of cons, not many pros.