Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martine from Gulf Coast Miss.,

Business

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The convenience to the hwy and facility that I was attending the following day.
Cons: They were decorating the lobby and breakfast area once completed will be a fine facility for this location.
Location: Lots of restaurant's for everybody's taste.
Very comfortable room and the morning breakfast was very good, my type of breakfast. The hot food was hot and tasty. Better than running to a fast food facility. Good start for my day. I will definitely stay again when I am on another business trip the end of the month.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Baton Rouge, LA

A work in progress

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Hotel location and the quite room we were in.
Cons: Breakfast could be better. And a remodel of the rooms is due soon.
Location: This is a great spot for any activities at Mississippi College. Also, access to I-20 is easy and close.
I usually stay at this Hampton Inn because I have a child at Mississippi College. The school is just across I-20 from this hotel. The public spaces are being renovated right now and it is time that the hotel get a facelift. The rooms are comfortable, but are getting worn. In particular, the bathrooms have white tile with dark brown grout, which has always given me the impression that the floors aren't clean. Otherwise, the rooms are quite. This past stay, we were all the way on the west end of the hotel. It was the farthest you can be from the interstate.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under staffed?

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: When we arrived, the desk staff was very kind, accommodating, etc.
Cons: Perhaps just some repairs on the dysfunctional equipment.
When we arrived, the young lady at the desk was kind, polite, and very accommodating. We checked in, and washed up, only to find that the faucet in the bathroom leaked all over the sink when in use. The toilet did not flush contents well. The wall unit was extremely loud. After checking in, we attended a function and returned to the room late in the night needing more bath towels and cloths. When we inquired at the desk, the gentleman seemed put out to have to come up with the items. We received one hand towel, two bath mats and two washcloths - no towels at all. The hotel is renovating which will be nice when it's all finished. The breakfast was picked over by 9:30 (take-down was 1000). We were also placed in a handicap accessible room. While we enjoy being on the first floor, we did not request this type of room. This hotel is close to the I-20 exit, and not far from Hinds Community College, as well as Starbucks, and numerous other eating establishments. We have stayed here in the past with no problem at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: parking
Location: close to MC and good food
Hotel was under renovation. I didnt know this when I booked it. The lobby was a mess and they were working on every floor. Im sure it will look great when they are done but you need to call before you book to see if it is still happening. There was no parking available. everyone was left to park illegally just to be able to stay there. It was crazy. There are a couple of new hotels in the area that will not have these problems. Id stay at one of them. I like Hampton Inn. I just wouldnt stay at this one again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprise! Renovation Underway.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient location right off I-20. Hampton bed. Individual room central heat and air.
Cons: Provide more information about area and region. Provide more local information.
Booked through Expedia and was surprised to arrive and find renovations underway. New flooring was being laid in all public areas. There was some confusion about the rate, but I was able to show my Expedia confirmation on my smartphone. Hotel is an older Hampton Inn, so it's good that it's being renovated. Convenient location. Great Hampton bed. Tight parking.
2 out of 5
by Chris

Not our best experience

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Location, Friendly Staff
Cons: Improve the accuracy of room assignment; Allow people to know the status of construction; Manager input when there are problems.
Let me start by saying this has been our favorite place to stay when visiting family and friends in a town where I went to college and once lived for several years. As opposed to when I went to college here, there are options in where to stay. Usually, without question, a very good choice. However, on this visit, a late arrival after a long day of driving, we found the lobby and lounge area under construction causing narrow walkways and blocking convenient access to the elevator. Close parking to the lobby was taken, so we parked on a far end and weaved our way, with our luggage, through the lobby maze to check in. Nothing online indicated construction, which I would have appreciate knowing before midnight so we could have considered a neighboring property for this visit. In addition to the construction inconvenience, our check-in experience was the worst we have had in a long time. First, let me say that the front office person was very nice and welcoming and apologetic about the difficulties, but was limited in what she could do (or did) as far as service recovery and we never heard from the manager, who was contacted by the staff (overheard the conversation). We were given our room keys and went to our assigned room to find the keys did not work. After trying a few times, we were met at the door by a guest we had awakened that had been assigned the room previously. We felt badly on disturbing a sleeping guest. Back to front desk for another room assign
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jane from Waco, TX

Gotta Love the Dependability of Hampton Inn

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Easy to find, clean rooms, friendly staff, chocolate chip cookies waiting, snack bags to take in the morning, great breakfast buffet, reasonable price
Cons: The hotel was undergoing a reno. But it's improving decor - so the changes that need to be made are being addressed.
The room was clean, the staff friendly, warm chocolate chip cookies waiting when we arrived, great breakfast. This place is perfect for families. Even if the cost per night is a little higher than other places (and it usually is not), the breakfast and snacks easily make up the difference in cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from texas

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Good food, good bed. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Stop

Posted Dec 2, 2013
We have stopped here before on our way home. Always friendly, clean, and neat.