Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Staff was friendly but our room and the overall hotel wasn't as I expected. We stayed for four days with our newborn to visit family and was disappointed considering just two months ago we stayed across the street at Days Inn and the two differ conpletely! The website shows a clean and decent hotel but when we arrived it was under construction, the room smelled like smoke and when we asked about it they said it was a smoking room though the sign on our door said non smoking. the door kept getting jammed whenever we tried to open it, the overall cleanliness was very basic and wasn't cleaned except twice during our four day stay. We also noticed that there was a lot of strange and shady people that roamed about during all hours, although this hotel was a cross from the one we stayed in before the vibe was extremely different. Had we known prior to booking we would've paid the extra cost to go somewhere else. Maybe when construction is over it'll be different but for now I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially if u have children such as ourselves.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by henry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Middle Georgia

Bad experience.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: Should not rent rooms until they have been renovated.
Location: Location was good.
Reservations were made and confirmed for 2 nights for a room with a king size bed. Upon arrival the hotel was under major renovation which should have been a clue of what we were in for. At registration, we were told a king bed was not available but they had a queen, we accepted but unfortunately, it was a double bed. The heating and cooling unit would not operate properly and the door was difficult to open, lock and unlock. The room was very small and extremely cluttered with un-matching furnishings so that you we had little room to even walk. My wife and I stayed the first night since we had a meeting we had to attend and did not have time to find another hotel. The second night the temperature was so bad we filled a complaint with the desk but was told they could do nothing and recommended we call management the next day so we just left and came home. Bottom line, it was an extremely bad experience and we will never stay at the Astoria Hotel Suites in Orange Park again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Would not let my dog stay in a room.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Getting Ice for their guest with a smile. Offering a refund instead of having to go through what I did go through.
I had requested a king size bed when I arrived they didn't have a king, they said they had a queen. I was ok with a queen. However the bed was a double, still it was after 9 p.m. and I could make due for a night. The room had an not so pleasant odor and it looked and felt very old, the furnishings, bedspread etc...I went to get Ice, couldn't find an ice machine, so I went to the front desk. I was told sorry our only Ice Maker is broken, we have no Ice. That was the last straw, the front desk clerk told me he could not refund my money because I went through Expedia. I insisted that he call a manager, he finally did and the manager said the same. I asked why someone couldn't go and buy Ice for the guest, I travel a lot, and have never been told sorry we have one ice machine, it's broken and we have no Ice. Another person walked in for a room, and I politely told her she would be better off going somewhere else, the manager became angry and told the front desk person to put a refund on my card, He did for 40.16, hasn't showed up as a credit yet, doubtful it will. This is a shady hotel with shady characters working. I have never used Expedia before and this was not a good first time. I left and went across the street to the Hilton Garden Inn, They had ice and were very friendly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was ok.. the light in the restroom took several hours to come on and the toilet flushes really slow.. other than that .. no complaints.. bed comfortable and room clean and smelled fresh not musty like most old hotels that are currently being renovated. Will be really nice once all the construction is done.. Will stay here again when I need a place to crash.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raymondfrom Unhappy

Bad Arrival

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hecket..Made reservations on line two days before. When I arrived, NO reservations on site. Employee was lost and no help. I finally called myself and ended up in the Philippines with someone with POOR English that took care of it. The first room I got smelled of old smoke, got changed to another room. Overall, very poor..............
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for a couple of nights

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Under renovation? Paint on carpet. Beds were clean. No bugs. TV sucked. Shower clean. Breakfast not so hot. Seemed some lived here? Wouldn't recommend for a long stay. 2 nights was fine. Didn't spend much time here actually in the motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Conveniently close to NAS Jacksonville

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Nice swimming pool
Cons: Remove cockroaches, improve breakfast
Cockroaches and other insects in room was disappointing. The breakfast only started at 7 am and had hard bagels and no toaster. Some sweet cereal and cakes were available. The juice was good. Seemed like many of the guests were staying for a long time, i.e. pretty much living there.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

If this is all You Can Afford

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room wasn't half bad - big enough
Cons: Let someone take a $1 bagel from the dining if they actually proved they stayed there
Location: Hard to get to because of making U turns
Oh my....where do I begin. I was doing a craft show 1 mile down the road and figured this would be the perfect location to stay. WRONG. -The hotel is hard to get into from the highway - it's a 6 lane highway, you have to drive 1/4 mile further down, make a U turn with no red-light across busy traffic to even try to get into. -There is a LOT of renovations going on. -The room wasn't as bad as I expected, except there was hairs in the bathtub that were not mine. -I woke up in the middle of the night to use bathroom and was met by 2 german roaches on the counter. I was told this was to be expected in Florida. -The A/C was weird. No FAN setting - which meant the A/C kept going off and on - great while is was on - but when off, the walls were paper thin - heard the baby cry next door and train in back of the building all night. -I guess the last straw that will make me NEVER stay there again, was I went to check out, grabbed a $1 bagel, and the lady told me I couldn't take it outside. REALLY????? A $1 bagel I couldn't take outside? -If you are VERY poor and can't afford anything else, then I guess this will do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com