Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to plenty of restaurants

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Although I was charged full price initially, they made sure they resolved the problem before check out. Will stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us! I do apologize that your billing was not correct initially, but I am glad we could get everything corrected for you. I hope that when your travels bring you back this way we will have the opportunity to host you again. Have a great day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but not luxurious .

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and cheerful.
Cons: New beds are a must with bed linen that stays on the bed. In a studio suite there needs to be more than one cushioned seat. Small couch not enough.
Location: Home of Camp Lejeune Marine Base, beaches within an hours drive. Mostly retail and restaurants.
The hotel was recently renovated so it was very clean. Smelled new and appeared fresh. While appealing to the eye, an important part of staying in a hotel is sleeping. They may have renovated the hotel for aesthetics, but they did not replace the worn out mattresses. We stayed in a studio suite with a king bed that was broken down and lacked any support. The sheets and pad were not deep enough on the sides to stay secure and ended up in a ball in the middle of the bed. I was on the mattress by morning. Yuck. While everything looks nice now, but the quality of materials used in the renovation to me were cheap and cheesy. Laminated particle board tables, counters and bed side tables. Not worth the hefty price we paid for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Cary NC

Orchestra trip

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: No smoking great breakfast
Cons: Fresher O.J.
Location: this hotel was located on the main street with several restaurants and shopping
I always try to stay at a Marriott owned hotel when traveling mostly because of the NO SMOKING policy. We had a late arrival and were able to check in quickly and go straight to our room. There were plenty of pillows and towels. I needed to use WI-FI to do some work and I easily connected and was able to stay in my room until noon check-out uninterrupted.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Well for starters the bed was hard I couldn't even sleep all night. Were told we could hook up a play station and watch movies connecting to wifi when trying to do so maintence stated well it don't work for most people because we have crappy wifi. Then our key card kept messing up and it took forever to get into our room at times many including trips down to the front desk. The hotel was under construction so it wasn't pleasant and they didn't have areas u could and couldn't go marked. It wasn't the worst experience but it was far from good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visiting friends in Jacksonville

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by particularmom from philadelphia,pa

great place for traveling families

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Mess up in rollaway bed request
Location: Clean and easy to get to...great for visiting camp lejeune
Only reason for 4 instead of 5 rating is that the rollaway bed I requested was not in the room when we got there. Even though I called for late check in...they gave the rollaway bed away to another guest. The mistake was in the booking rep. The hotel staff made every effort to rectify the problem by providing us with an extra hassock which combined with the chair and hassock in the room made a nice chaise lounge type bed for my son. They also made sure we had enough linens for the make shift rollaway. Staff made this stay truly successful. The rrom also had a fridge/freezer combo with drawers ands a microwav e on top...loved the efficient design. And convenience...mind you the size of fride was larger than average mini fridge which is geat for families with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ariel from Fort Myers, FL, USA

Thank you for a wonderful weekend :)

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: Very friendly staff. Quiet.
Location: Close to everything. Set off the main road against trees.
I struggled trying to book a hotel in Jacksonville because I had never been there before, didn't know anyone there, and every place I was looking had pretty crummy reviews. This Fairfield Inn had a decent rating and Marriots are usually good hotels. The girl working the front desk in the evening was super friendly. When I got to my room, I realized it was on the side of the hotel facing the parking lot and road so I went back downstairs and asked if I could be moved to a room facing the trees. The girl was happy to switch me. When I got to my new room, it was musty and seemed like the a/c wasn't working so I phoned down to the desk and she thanked me for bringing it to her attention. She personally came upstairs to bring me keys to a new room, which was comfortable and smelled nice. The free breakfast downstairs every morning was actually really good (waffle maker = awesome). There was always fresh coffee out and on Memorial Day they had a cake and cupcakes. The girl that worked the front desk during the day was also very nice and she let my husband and I check out an hour late at no extra charge. I came to Jacksonville to see my husband, a Marine, and I wanted to be relaxed and comfortable since we have only seen each other 2 weeks out of the last 6 months. I was very, very pleased with the hotel, the staff and my entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Satisfactory

Posted Oct 13, 2011
I stayed here when I went down to see my Marine at Camp Geiger. There were all kinds of stores and restaurants within walking distance. The front desk was very helpful when I needed it. My room was very clean. Overall a very satisfactory stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mika from Springfield Gardens, NY

A decent clean hotel.

Posted Jan 19, 2011
After reading many Jacksonville hotel reviews, I chose Fairfield for its amenities and location. I selected well. The hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable, and NO BEDBUGS! My room was super clean and I just love the chaise/ottoman in the room to watch cable TV. A basic but decent hotel. I will stay here again when I'm in Jacksonville. Having a sizable microwave and refrigerator in the room lessened the necessity for daily dining out. The free breakfast buffet is generous and decently stocked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manns Harbor NC

Not as nice as I expected.

Posted Dec 8, 2010
Staff was very friendly and helpful.