Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very romantic

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The closeness to downtown
Had a wonderful time even though it got chilly and I only had shorts. Lovely place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Convenient location near the marina.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the marina and in the historic district.
Cons: Print out access codes for Internet in the rooms.
Location: Just two blocks from the marina in the historic district. Cute shops, lots of eateries.
Historic building now a B and B. Somewhat noisy neighborhood with music next door until after midnight. Good a.c. and a filling breakfast. Would have liked password needed for accessing the Internet. Free parking nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom lady lake fl 32159

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The bathroom wasn't the nicest and could have been cleaner and the beds squeaked a lot but overall I give it a 3 out of 5. Breakfast was ok but not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

Great location if you want to be in historic area

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Could walk to restaurants ,store,marina ,river front
Great location, never used car again til leaving to go home
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deland, Florida

Historic Hotel in a fun fun town.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The History - The Location
Cons: New showers had no grab bars, soap dishes or towel racks.
Location: Three Great Restaurants within one block in each direction of the Hotel.
We booked the largest available King Room with Expedia. We were assigned, probably the smallest Queen Room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange Park Fl

Super location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, jacuzzi tub, breakfast
Cons: A little dusty in high places
Location: Located right on the edge of everything. All walking distance. Wonderful outside sitting area with big fountain.
See other questions in this review, no sense in repeating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Two weeks before the Amelia car show I realized I had totally forgotten to book my hotel. I jumped on Expedia and low and behold I was able to secure a room that must have just been cancelled. Every hotel room on the island had been booked for months if not a year ahead. I had one of the best hotel experiences at the Florida House Inn. My room (#15) was beautiful, the building had wrap around porches and a huge stone patio. It was located in the middle of a cute town with outstanding restaurants, great shopping and a bookstore that sells signed first editions. The staff at the hotel made you feel right at home. The bartender at the cozy little bar made sure you were included in conversations - the chef's feelings were hurt when you didn't stay for breakfast. I had such a great time I've already booked my room for next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful but of History preserved

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Will def go back. Small but comfortable lodging. Clean. Beautiful courtyard. Very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, but think twice

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Terrific location, 2 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. Free parking. Wonderful, homemade breakfasts. Free coffee. Great, roomy shower.
Cons: Lacking in amenities,such as heat.
Location: Close to the local museum. Shops and other attractions all within 10 minutes of hotel. Plenty of choice.
I stayed at the Florida House Inn in February. Location was terrific, free parking, great breakfasts, etc. Staff were all very pleasant. However, my room had no heat. I did speak to the office folks, who explained my room was connected to the central heating in the hotel and should be better the second night. There was no heat then, either, but I located two blankets, which made things tolerable. Hotel office closed at 5 pm which was not really conducive for complaining, as it was so early in the evening. For that reason, I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Wonderful staff and beautifully decorated

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Karen, the owner, could not have been more kind or accommodating. ..beautiful area with lots to do and see; made the celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary complete!