Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel in the downtown Fernandina Beach area.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Well decorated rooms with antique furnishings. Very comfortable bed and pleasant staff available.
Cons: Better cleaning job in small shower/toilet area. Talked to cleaning lady while we were there and very cooperative.
Location: Close to shopping, beach going and a great city to bike in. We love the beautiful old homes and gardens near the downtown area.
My husband and I enjoy Fernandina Beach very much. We love to go to the beach at Ft. Clinch and we also enjoy the many wonderful restaurants. We feel very relaxed at the Florida House Inn and the full breakfast provided in the beautiful dining area is a very special treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dade City, FL

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Great place to stay, just park your car and walk to everything downtown. Have a drink on the patio next to the mermaid, wonderful breakfast. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Posted Aug 6, 2014
such a charming place! we were in town for a low-key bachelorrette party & stayed in a room with 2 twin beds and it was perfect! loved the little touches of decor around the inn and the backyard/courtyard area was just beautiful! great location, we were able to walk up and down center street from the inn without having to deal with moving the car. definitely would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aventura, fl

Great hotel, on the heart of historic downtown

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I really enjoyed a one night stay in this lovely and historic hotel close to some great restaurants. Breakfast was generous, delicious and included...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel is charming. It has character. Someone has put a lot of effort into keeping it up and in good shape.
Cons: The shower curtain liner in room 7 needs to be replaced. That is my only complaint.
Location: The hotel is right in the historic district of Fernandina Beach. It was in walking distance to restaurants and shops.
We really enjoyed staying at the Florida House Inn. We could walk around town, eat and drink without having to move the car or drive at all. The staff was very friendly, as were the other guests. Breakfast was wonderful. The beds were comfort and the room quiet. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great downtown location. Loved this place, but the accommodations leave a little to be desired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Perfect location and comfort

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: proximity to everything, old world charm, and comfortable beds.
Cons: The inn's registration room is locked prior to check in time, which is 3:00. So you can't hope to check in early.
Location: Fernandina Beach is old time Florida, with a lovely harbor and great shopping and excellent small restaurants. A little something for everyone.
What a charming and beautiful hotel, filled with antiques and a quiet, hidden courtyard complete with fountain. All this and just steps from the quaint shops and harbor. We enjoyed our lovely room, great bed, delicious breakfast, and drinks at the bar. Best restaurant in town is one street over. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Reasonably priced, too! Loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quaint Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Cons: Cleaner rooms, sheets, etc. Friendlier staff.
Location: Location in the historic district was great. We were able to walk to shops and restaurants. We did the Amelia Island Lighthouse tour.
We had a small room with two twin beds in it; which worked out fine for my sister and I. The room was very small and we had the smallest television set I have ever seen. The floors were not very clean. However, I was grateful to have a private bathroom. The daily breakfast was pretty good. I felt the hotel staff was not very friendly. The location was right in the historic district of Amelia Island. Since the hotel was right next to a bar, it was pretty noisy at night. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Savannah, GA

Quaint & Charming

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Cons: A/C control in room. Volume of music next door dropped to acceptable level.
Location: Food: French Bistro... Cafe across street on corner...
I stayed for two days (June 2014). It's very quaint with many charming historic details. The hotel staff was very kind. I chose breakfast on the quiet deck with a beautiful bronze Mermaid fountain - inside the morning light filters into the breakfast dinning area. Breakfast was homemade - cooked to order with orange juice and coffee offerings. The twin room didn't allow for a lot of wiggle room but, again, it's a historic home; thus, I'll take charm over extra space. The sheets and blankets were cozy white cotton. Only down side - the bar area directly next door was a little loud between people yelling and the band on the deck (volume up too many notches for its venue size) and the AC was set on 72 (felt like 65) degrees with the control being locked in the hallway. I had to close my ceiling vent in attempts to bring the temperature up a little... it worked. The entire area is beautiful, romantic, and dripping with southern charm in its architecture. A French bistro one block away and a lovely cafe across the street (with small front & side porch) had very friendly staff, great wine selections, and fantastic food (fried green tomatoes with cream cheese & sweet roasted peppers)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by perth42 from SC

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the building, court yard and Mermaid fountain! Want to return!