Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Emily from New Jersey

Nice Hotel, not great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, good breakfast
Cons: More seating around the pool
Location: Not much to do nearby; we were warned by locals that the bars nearby were not female friendly
The Holiday Inn Express was very nice. Clean inside and modern looking. Breakfast every morning was fantastic! However, if you're looking for a hotel that is close to the sights or the beach, this is not the hotel for you. It's only a 10-15 minute ride to the beach, but you will need a car to get there. In addition, the pool was pretty small and the number of lounge chairs was pretty limited (only 5 if I remember correctly). That said, the staff was fantastic (even brought us extra towels!) and it was extremely clean. I indicated that I would not recommend this hotel based only on location; amenity-wise I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had no a/c for the first 13 hours

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Was mid lead that hotel was on the beach and in a seedy area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay at a great price!

Posted May 6, 2014
Everything was awesome. Staff was friendly, and room was kept in great shape over our entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Very comfortable stay. Clean room and very nice hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Scotland

Nice Hotel near Jacksonville Beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Jacksonville Beach is less than 10 minutes by car, not really walkable. Plenty of sHops, stores and restaurants nearby.
From check-in to checkout our experience was excellent. Check-in and checkout were very smooth. We required safe access and it was provided immediately. The rooms were clean and spacious and contain refrigerators and microwaves. The pool is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served on time and got us off to a great start every day. Much better even than expected!! Would come back without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amy from charlotte, nc

Short Vacation getaway

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms and beds. Not too far from beach.
Cons: Internet service could be faster.
Location: Jacksonville park not far from hotel was $3 a car to get in but had lots of quiet beach space and parking. Restaurants a distance away.
Hotel was clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Rooms had small refrig, microwave and hair dryer. Very convenient. Breakfast was ok but we prefer more selection and only ate in one morning. Pool looks nice but was not yet open during our stay. Internet connection in the room was very slow. Still needs improvement based on past reviews I read. Hotel is about 10 minutes ride from beach and restaurants. Overall good experience. Staff was helpful and courteous. Only con was the area around the hotel. Was all small businesses or car dealers. Not in walking distance to any restaurants and activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidy from Ocala, FL

My son's Engagement Party

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast - runny gravy
Location: Teh Engagement Party we attended was held approximately 5 minutes away.
We traveled from Ocala, FL to attend our son's engagement party. Our stay was wonderful. The hotel staff were extremely polite and the room very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Pensacola FL

Nice hotel, better than the other ones in the area

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The beautiful rooms, granite counter tops, cleanliness, security cameras, parking lot lighting, and pleasant and helpful staff
Cons: Nothing...maybe some more carts for luggage?
Location: Surfing!! The Beach, Hannah Park, St. John's Ferry, many good restuarants, kayaking, fishing
I've stayed in The Quality Inn and The Best Western which are close to the Holiday Inn Express in Mayport/Jacksonville Beach. This hotel blows both of those out of the water. I actually have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express before, but on my recent surf trip thought I'd try another hotel and checked in to the Quality Inn right down the street. Once in the room I immediately checked back out and went to Holiday Inn Express! The property is very well decorated, super clean, has an amazing staff and has comfortable beds with nice linens. The only complaint I have is the room doors automatically slam shut which makes it hard to continue to sleep in the early morning hours when people are leaving super early. There's a nice breakfast that's complimentary in the morning. Not a fan of styrofoam, but I know it keeps the prices down for the hotel so they can continue to offer free breakfast so I'm thankful for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Absolutely loved my stay here. I will be back. They staff were extremely friendly and prompt. My room was clean and very comfortable. Loved the access I had around town. Deffiently recommend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel as long as you book directly with them

Posted Feb 8, 2014
I book business travel constantly and as often is the case our schedule changed. We had to check out one day early and notified the front desk in advance. However the manager refused to credit the unused night because we didn't book directly with them. It's a nice place but don't try to make a change as they do not cooperate.