Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Health Hazard Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything...cleanliness
Location: I didn't see anything close by.
The Hotel needs a renovation. The room had a terrible odor almost like mold. The exterior was not clean. Our bathroom was unacceptably dirty. This was the worst place I have ever stayed. I went to Holiday Inn Express the next day and made reservations for the rest of our stay in Jacksonville because we had to stay 2 days longer than expected. This hotel was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that you encountered an opportunity with the condition and cleanliness of our hotel, I sincerely apologize for this. These are two of the areas that we are very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very unclean & dirty

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Very bad experience cause I had to check out two days early no wifi fridge was not working ect
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience with our hotel did address this with my team and as we work hard on our property we will use your suggestions to improve. I apologize for the inconveniences that you received while you were here. We look for our guest input to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom savannah

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Furniture a little worn, asked for towels and bed sheets for pull out bed, they were never brought up, had to go get them from front desk. Overall an ok stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for completing the survey you received regarding your stay at our hotel. As a management team, we strive for ultimate guest satisfaction, and check all surveys so that we may always improve on guest satisfaction. We appreciate the comments you have shared with us, so that we may always improve upon our hotel and services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be remodeled

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Price was okay; breakfast area was immaculate and plenty of choices; well done for breakfast
Cons: All room need to be cleaned, renovated and all the plumbing needs to be replaced
Location: The best Mexican restaurant is right down the street; very close to I-95
Room smelled rank; sink clogged; toilet leaking; shower valve dripping
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that you encountered an opportunity with the condition of your room and bathroom, I sincerely apologize for this. These are two of the areas that we are very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Very Disappointed

Posted Mar 30, 2015
First off the hotel's pool was under construction, and I purposefully chose the hotel because of the pool. There was nothing on the website noting that it was not in use and when I called the hotel they never let me know that. All of the vending machines were empty, dusty, and not in use. Only one ice machine worked, of course not near our room. When we got there Friday afternoon the floors were damp in our room and there was also some black makeup on the sheets. The fridge was sticky as well as the dresser, I couldn't put any of my clothes in it because there was a residue of candy or something at the bottom. Our cab driver notified us that the hotel was in a bad area, with street walkers and drug dealers. Lastly, upon arrival you have to pay a deposit fee that you are not aware of until you arrive. This place sucked! My friends and I work very hard for our money and it was extremely disappointing to have booked such a dump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience with our hotel I sincerely apologize for the issues you had. I did address this with my team and as we work hard on our property we will use your suggestions to improve. I apologize for the inconveniences that you received while you were here. We look for our guest input to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep looking

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was the only good thing about the stay.
Location: The location was not easy to find at first, but was near several easily accessible local highways
The room was not clean. The hotel was in the mist of a remodel, that from our experience must not be going well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience with our hotel I sincerely apologize for the issues you had. I did address this with my team and as we work hard on our property we will use your suggestions to improve. I apologize for the inconveniences that you received while you were here. We look for our guest input to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Close to main roads, restaurants and at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We work hard to make sure each of our guests have the best stay possible. I hope to see you again next time you are in town!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Close to I 95

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Needed a place to stay for one night after traveling down to Florida from Virginia. It was ok for one night, for the price and proximity to I 95. The room was pretty clean and didn't have any problems with the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for completing the survey you received regarding your stay at our hotel. As a management team, we strive for ultimate guest satisfaction, and check all surveys on a daily basis so that we may always improve on guest satisfaction. We appreciate the comments you have shared with us, so that we may always improve upon our hotel and services. If there is ever anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to I-95

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Advertised rate was affordable and it was close to I-95.
Cons: Lots.
Building and rooms are in need of maintenance. Bathroom lights didn't work, walls had stains. Bed was clean and comfortable. Staff not overly friendly. Surprise charge of $25.00 for incidentals which said would be returned after a couple of days. Not provided statement at checkout although I requested one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for completing the survey you received regarding your stay at our hotel. The $25.00 authorization will be returned to you, based on your bank's policies, after departure as long as there are no incidental charges. Expedia will email you a receipt of your room charges, since they collected payment from you. We appreciate the comments you have shared with us, so that we may always improve upon our hotel and services. If there is ever anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip to see a concert

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The Gaither's were playing and I met my mom there to go see them. It was pleasant experience. The bathroom floor looked dirty but no problem, wore bedroom shoes. The room itself was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Trisha, Hotel Management
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We work hard to make sure each of our guests have the best stay possible. I hope to see you again next time you are in town!