Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Unique hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Great location. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. Gated patio area is a quiet retreat. The theme rooms are a fun walk back in time. We had the Tube Room with photos of television shows from the fifties. Loved it. Complimentary breakfast had an awesome variety of choices. Managers were very helpful and friendly. Definitely would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Unpretencious comfort! Much more than I expected!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the laid back comfort & breakfast choices. Something for everyone, fruit, cereal, sausage biscuts, yogurt, too much to list.
Cons: I found myself wishing my room had a screen door, so I could enjoy the courtyard from my room.
Location: Located off the busy street, walking distance from the beach, local attractions & anything you might need. Still the courtyard seemed private.
I was looking for a clean, economical hotel close to the beach and dancing. I found a unique, unpretencious darling hotel filled with the nicest staff and guests. Many of the guests were repeats that come often. The couryard was lovely, with tropical trees, plants and a fire in the evening. My 50's themed room was charming and fun to be in with a surprising touches I appreciated. With all the usual room amenities, it also had complimentary popcorn, water and even make-up remover (I forgot mine at home). The managers, Wess & Cindy were super friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pa.

Neat ambiance! Very nice...casual. I liked it.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Perfect for our needs. Nice breakfast. Close to the beach and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel blocks from the beach

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Great hotel and great staff. Very adorable and unique rooms, loved it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Central Florida

Nice Hotel & Close o the Beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The beautiful courtyard and the nicely decorated rooms.
Cons: Parking. That is a problem.
Location: The location is great. We did spend most of our time @ the Mayo Clinic so we did not get to try out any of the other activities.
Room was clean. Lots of restaurants close by. Beautiful courtyard setting. Very close to the beach, even tho we did not have time to go. Also close to the Mayo Clinic, only 15 minutes away. Even tho the hotel is really only steps away from a main street, it was pretty quiet. If, and/or, when we have to go back we will definitely stay here again. The only thing I was not thrilled about is the parking. A couple of times it was difficult to back out onto the street due to on coming traffic. I have a very small car, and other guests had an SUV, (lucky them). Nice hotel, great restaurants, ( Hurricane, 2 blocks west, on east side of the street, was our favorite). Yes, I recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cheriefrom Boulder, CO

We discovered a real gem!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
All of us couldn't fit into my daughter's small apartment for a visit so the four adults stayed one night at The Palms Retro -- Rock N'Rollers Room. We played the supplied Elvis and Roy Orbison CDs all evening! What a fun and funky little hotel: 10 themed rooms on a single floor, surrounding a plush courtyard. Small details relating to the theme fill the room. [Just wait until you get into the shower!] The room was clean, the neighborhood quiet, the beach and Atlantic Beach restaurants/hangouts a couple of blocks away. It was about 10pm when we noticed no ice machine; we knocked on the "office" door and Wes brought us a bucket of ice within minutes -- even though it was obvious he was done for the day. Breakfast was better than an average cold buffet; Cindy came in twice to check the supply of goodies while we were in the way cool breakfast-diner-room. Both Wes and Cindy are friendly, conscientious, dedicated managers of the Palms. Extra fun bonus. It was the weekend after Christmas and the decorations were still up in the courtyard. Try to envision a flock of about 25 pink plastic yard flamingos, bound with lights, pulling a sleigh driven by a larger pink plastic yard flamingo. What a hoot!! We will definitely be back every time we visit JAX.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Last minute trip to the JAX beaches. Hotel was clean and staff onsite were great. Location is awesome- we did not use our car the entire time we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Calif

Very cute, small hotel with retro themed rooms.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Our room and especially our bathroom was CLEAN. The bathroom had white tile and grout and it was immaculately clean. Interior courtyard was lovely.
Cons: Mattress could be upgraded; it was a little on the thin side and moved a lot when turning over to change sleeping sides. Pillows were too spongy.
Location: Near lots of restaurants, unique shops and strip malls. Beaches and Jarboe Park nearby too; walkable for the adventurous and if not raining.
This is a cute hotel with each room decorated with a retro theme. The people that staff this hotel were all extremely welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We got great suggestions on where to eat and a lot of information on the area beaches. Although the hotel rooms surround a common courtyard it was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sandrafrom Saint Marys, GA

Hidden gem

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing find. Have stayed here many times. Always friendly management who recognize us from previous stays and welcome us back. Spotless rooms every time. Beautiful courtyard. Will stay again and again.