Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amelia Island

Great value. Excellent location.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The Retro Palms is a unique experience. They know who they are - a 1940s style motel. Themed, clean rooms and a continental breakfast. Walking distance from the beach and fantastic restaurants and bars. Simple and affordable experience. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect spot

Posted Jun 19, 2015
nice small hotel very quiet but good spot close everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rayna from Old Lyme, CT

Nice, simple, classic

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice, simple, classic looking Florida motor court type motel. Nice courtyard/gardens. Friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to beach, restaurants, stores, etc. Enjoyed our short visit - would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philip from Scarborough UK

Peaceful, Exceptionally Clean, Wonderful Garden

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The Palms is a superb spot to spend a night or two to experience the ambience of a motel of 50 years ago (but which has all "mod cons"). It is very clean and has the most interesting breakfast room (with a vast choice) you would ever want to spend the beginning of your day in. The only downside as far as we were concerned was the waterproof mattress protector which made for a very hot and uncomfortable night and which is reflected in the "3" for room comfort. What an interesting shower though! The internal courtyard garden is a wonderful place in which to relax after the hectic environment of a day in Jacksonville Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Unique hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Great location. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. Gated patio area is a quiet retreat. The theme rooms are a fun walk back in time. We had the Tube Room with photos of television shows from the fifties. Loved it. Complimentary breakfast had an awesome variety of choices. Managers were very helpful and friendly. Definitely would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Unpretencious comfort! Much more than I expected!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the laid back comfort & breakfast choices. Something for everyone, fruit, cereal, sausage biscuts, yogurt, too much to list.
Cons: I found myself wishing my room had a screen door, so I could enjoy the courtyard from my room.
Location: Located off the busy street, walking distance from the beach, local attractions & anything you might need. Still the courtyard seemed private.
I was looking for a clean, economical hotel close to the beach and dancing. I found a unique, unpretencious darling hotel filled with the nicest staff and guests. Many of the guests were repeats that come often. The couryard was lovely, with tropical trees, plants and a fire in the evening. My 50's themed room was charming and fun to be in with a surprising touches I appreciated. With all the usual room amenities, it also had complimentary popcorn, water and even make-up remover (I forgot mine at home). The managers, Wess & Cindy were super friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Neat ambiance! Very nice...casual. I liked it.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Perfect for our needs. Nice breakfast. Close to the beach and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel blocks from the beach

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Great hotel and great staff. Very adorable and unique rooms, loved it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Nice Hotel & Close o the Beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The beautiful courtyard and the nicely decorated rooms.
Cons: Parking. That is a problem.
Location: The location is great. We did spend most of our time @ the Mayo Clinic so we did not get to try out any of the other activities.
Room was clean. Lots of restaurants close by. Beautiful courtyard setting. Very close to the beach, even tho we did not have time to go. Also close to the Mayo Clinic, only 15 minutes away. Even tho the hotel is really only steps away from a main street, it was pretty quiet. If, and/or, when we have to go back we will definitely stay here again. The only thing I was not thrilled about is the parking. A couple of times it was difficult to back out onto the street due to on coming traffic. I have a very small car, and other guests had an SUV, (lucky them). Nice hotel, great restaurants, ( Hurricane, 2 blocks west, on east side of the street, was our favorite). Yes, I recommend this hotel.