Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Wonderful staff. Salt restaurant is amazing!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, great Salt shoppe
Cons: Nothing
Came for a conference a few years ago. Our family loved it so much we came back for a vacation. Kids had fun surfing, kayaking and playing at the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winter Park, FL

Beautiful beach

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location
We decided to splurge because it was our 40th anniversary so we selected the Ritz. Now that we have experienced it, I must say that it is overrated and not worth the extra money. I have stayed at many other hotels that were much nicer at half the price. We made reservations at the Salt for a special dinner but we were a bit disappointed. They overcooked my husband's filet but he didn't want to send it back. I had a lamb chop that I couldn't even cut into. Service was just OK. The sunrise and beach was beautiful. We had a nice time but I will stay somewhere else if we go back to Amelia Island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Luxury with an ounce or two of pretention.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
We are a family of 4 (2 teen boys) looking to decompress after 3 days of theme parks. The hotel is an older luxury hotel. I paid $20 for a 1 inch plastic butterfly clip to pull my bangs back with. Just because someone enjoys luxury doesn't mean a company should up charge a 99 cent hair clip. We finished our our Orlando theme parks with this resort for some beach time. The beachfront property is beautiful. We enjoyed the time at the beach and the rooms ocean view was beautiful. The resort doesn't really try that hard in terms of activity planning and things for teens to do. While they have activities- it's just not well communicated and there is a lack of engagement by hotel staff to get teens involved in activities. My husband and I got as dressed up as one should at a beach resort - nice polo shirt and pressed dress shorts & a Rachel Roy scarf dress for me - hoping to enjoy a unique culinary experience at the diamond restaurant Salt. We were turned away because my husband didn't have full dress slacks. Mind you - we saw a fellow with a wrinkled collared shirt sitting at a table but my husband was turned away from dining because he didn't have a pair of dress trousers on a beach vacation?? Very disappointed with the old fashioned approach to turning away a hotel guest for dinner. Unbelievable. Disappointing. I've stayed at Ritz Carltons around the world and this wasn't the nicest - never seen a hotel guest turned away from dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL

STUNNING

Posted May 31, 2015
fantastic staff, gorgeous grounds, most relaxing property ever visited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deland FL.

weekend getaway

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect and not very crowded for the size of the hotel.
Cons: The food was average except for the poolside bar which was had the best nachos I ever had.
Location: The wife and I went into Fernandina Beach which is a few miles away and walked around in the old down town area...very relaxing.
Beautiful beaches await you in Amelia Island. Very relaxing atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Nice, relaxing beachfront

Posted May 11, 2015
Nice property. Comfortable lounges at pool. Nice touch that they bring you ice water with lemon throughout the day. Beach chairs and umbrellas were nice as well. Drinks were expensive but it is the Ritz. Restaurants were okay. We will go off property more next time for dinner. The burger in the sports bar called Eight was awesome though! Only complaint....turn down service was too late for us. One night it was nearly ten o'clock and we had to get out of bed to answer the door to see if we wanted turn down. If you're up and out late that's fine but we weren't. Just didn't want to be disturbed that late. (Both nights) Should have done turn down while people are out at dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
This was our second time at this property. My eight year old really enjoyed the beach, pool, kids club and game room. The food quality has improved. Salt restaurant was spectacular! The renovated meeting space is stunning. Housekeeping wasn't consistent or I would have given a higher score.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by alicia from Florida

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy from Jacksonville, Fl

Great getaway

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
The nicest employees ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Utah

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel