Ratings based on 1,600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Very comfortable beds!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: I really liked the lobby.
Cons: The carpet in the hallways could use some cleaning and the walls and doors could use a coat of fresh paint.
The rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing. The hotel has a GREAT lobby! The rooms were looked a lot older than I was expecting but overall it was a nice clean hotel with great beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Very nice staff but hotel was terrible shape. mold, old fixtures and not very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
I had a great time in Jacksonville and it was mostly because of this hotel and its location. I really don't understand why all the other reviews are so negative. This hotel is in a prime location and has a great ambiance. Not to mention it's very affordable. I was in town for a conference that was at the Hyatt across the river and stayed by myself in a king room. I am a 26 year old female that enjoys running in the morning and was worried about the safety of the neighborhood. I couldn't have been more wrong. Leaving the hotel at about 7 am to go over the bridge and down the riverwalk I encountered several others going to work or running and every single one waved and said good morning. I do agree with some of the reviews that the room was fairly humid even with the air set on 73 but it didn't detract from my overall experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was basic but clean, and it was a 20 minute walk over to the other side of the river where a lot of great restaurants and bars are. You can also take a water taxi to the other side. The dock for the water taxi is right on the Wyndham property and I even got to see a large pod of dolphins! I would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Needs updating

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Stayed there to see preseason football game. Price was right. Bed comfortable and room clean. Needs updating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Not happy at all with stay. Had to change rooms because of smell in room giving me a headache. Didn't see any other guests. But heard doors slamming late at night till morning. Felt like I was staying at the hotel jack nickelson character played in the movie, The Shining! Valet staff was great .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brunswick,Ga

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Pool only!
Cons: Building needs renovating.Room phones & bath room very old & out dated.
Location: near jax landing. It was ok.
Charged for everything.Wouldn't bring a luggage chart up to room unless you where charged.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old hotel in need of remodeling

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable and front desk person was friendly
Cons: Almost everything could be
Location: Located on the riverwalk in Jacksonville which would have been nice if it wasnt all closed for constuction
Didn't expect a lot but we were still disappointed. Even simple to fix things in this hotel are not being done. Room had large scars in the walls and the view was the roof with huge a/c units sitting on it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbia sc

30 Min Away From Jacksonville Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I took my son here for a quick back to school visit. I was very worried about my stay here based on reviews. The room were ok! Very comfortable bed, the bathroom were small as other guest have stated. The shower was a little scary, made a loud noise when you turned it off. However, the reviews is what prepared me. The hallways did have the funny smell, but it wasnt life threatening, unless of course if you have breathing problems. I would not recommend staying at this hotel because of the parking issue. Obviously they are charging for parking to save money to remodel the hotel, lol! The room rate was affordable, but parking frees defeats the purpose! The riverwalk was underconstruction. The drive from this hotel to Jax Beach is about 30 mins. Not too bad of a drive. Its very close to downtown, but downtown has nothing to offer out of towners, unless you're into specialty/unique type shopping and eating with the locals. But the dowtown area was nice to sight see. The hotel guest were friendly! It would havd been nice that they informed me/guest of the 10$ self parking per day fee before I had checked in. So staying here is 50/50 Not all bad, not all good. The fees for parking included with the room stay im sure equals out to the cost of one of the other fancier hotels. So your choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is a little dated but a great value.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Jacksonville Landing, The Chart House, Ruth Chris Steak House, St John's River, St John's Town Center
I decided on this hotel because it was a great value in downtown Jacksonville and it over looked the river. I read a lot of the reviews and was very nervous. We arrived late and we pleasantly surprised. The grounds were beautiful and the lobby was impressive. We were greeted a the front desk and checked in quickly. You do have to pay for parking so we decided to use the valet which is only $2 more than self park. The hallways are in need of repair so we were pretty nervous on the way to the room but we we open the door the room was very clean and the view was perfect. We could see all the buildings in downtown as well as the Landing across the river. The St. Johns River was right outside our window. The beds we comfortable the air conditioner worked great and the shower was decent. We decided to venture out and see Jacksonville Landing. The hotel staff gave us good directions which you could either walk or drive to. We decided to drive because it was late. It turned out to be worth it. There is a lot of shopping and restaurants (Live Music) across the river. After we returned home we quickly settled in and had a great nights sleep. There was very little noise. To sum it up this hotel exceeded our expectations. The rate was a value, the hotel was clean and the staff was pleasant. They are going through some upgrades on the property but the staff seemed to want to make you stay the best they possibly can.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark dirty and gross

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This hotel has been neglected for years and needs a lot of TLC. Our hotel room remakes of mold and cigarettes. The air conditioner made the floor soppig wet and mold was growing on the wall. The shower did not drain. Both my wife and I were beyond skeved out by this hotel. We checked in late and left early. Didn't change rooms because the entire hotel smells awful so we just thought that's how every room looked. I highly recommend not staying here