Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CR

Good Location, Hotel needs work!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: several things related to building, exterior, smell in the lobby, wall cleanness,
Location: Jaco is a great place to stay, very active, can get a bit though at night but there is a lot to do
Great Location in Jaco, Hotel rates are not cheap, the building needs work, there is a dirty smell in the lobby, food is good but overpriced to be honest.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alberta Canada

Older hotel needs upgrades

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room was dirty and ragged holes in the wall that were poorly patched cupboard doors hanging crooked no stove to cook the shower just trickled told staff twice about shower with no response
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fatimafrom Long Island, NY

Total dump, go somewhere else

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
This place is a complete dump and the reception desk is terrible. the bathroom window was missing 3 panels, door to the veranda didn't seal, very dated, mattress was caved in down the middle, extremely small rooms, wifi only worked outside. would not recommend this place at all. Area itself is not the best, but suitable for surfer type crowds bc the waves were good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maijufrom Finland

Nice location, boring rooms.

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very basic and old hotel rooms. Only beds and shower, tv, air-condition and safety box. Old beds, noisy rooms. Very "old school". Best thing in this hotel was the beach right in front of the hotel. Breakfast was very costarican - rice with beans, sausage, some watermelon. Pool area was full of kids all the time (even after sun went down). People in the service deck were bad in english - they didn't explain anything about their hotel and it's facilities. We tried to ask something, and the answer was always very short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vyacheslavfrom USA

Thanks much to Hotel's staff! Will come again!

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Thanks much to Hotel's staff! They All are very nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, and that's about it.

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Balcon del Mar for one night. Parking was a nightmare as cars had to be shuffled upon our arrival and departure. The staff was not the most helpful as they didn't speak much English. It took us hours and multiple requests to get towels in our room (there were none when we checked in). The location is unbeatable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jorgefrom Cartago, Costa Rica

Great family hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was great, I recommend this hotel for families. The pool is shallow enough for kids. Parking is secure. Beachfront hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Neighborhood is secure with a police station right next to the hotel. Food at the hotel is excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John Ffrom Martinez

John's review

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an older motel but well kept and right on the ocean. It had a great pool and the free breakfast was outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place on the beach or anyone with children. There is police substation next door to the motel.
3 out of 5
by Ramin.from San Diego, CA, USA

This place is very old..

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: Staff and security
Cons: Shower and beds
Location: It's located right there by the beach.
The hotel is very old and water pressure was very low and there was no hot water... I would look for another hotel if you are willing to stay in jaco.. Staff are great and friendly and security is very good but that's about it.