Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

a nice place but need some TLC

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: + The rooms are very nice and big with laundry room and full size kitchen. Right on the beach with big pool.
Cons: The towels need to be updated. waiters should be friendlier. A smile here and there would help. clean up all the junk on the ground...
We stayed here for three nights. Was very happy with the room when just entered, big, clean, and has air conditioners. We found a huge dead cockroach right where the laundry room is. Outside, the air smelled like old urine time to time.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom manassas, VA

Horrible

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We check out one hour after we arrived. No air condition in rooms, no glass windows, not near the town of Jaco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Hotel On Beach

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Outdoor space was clean and well kept. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was good.
Cons: Front desk staff should be friendlier. They always seemed busy talking to each other or doing something and not really paying attention to the guests.
Location: I highly recommend going to Playa Hermosa (or even staying at a hotel there). It's very close and the beach is much nicer; smooth sand, no rocks.
Hotel experience was just OK. Hotel staff could lighten up a bit more. The property was what I was expecting although it does look much bigger in their pictures. What you need to be aware of is the hotel's proximity to the road and because it's on a hill, all the trucks driving by use their engines to slow down, causing very loud noise throughout the day and night. If you're a light sleeper, this will for sure be a problem for you. The beach is rocky at the entrance, making it difficult to walk barefoot from the pool. I don't know why they don't remove the rocks and clean up the entrance to the beach. Also, there are no lounge chairs on the beach so you will have to lay on the sand. The included breakfast is a bare bones Continental breakfast. Just toast, jam, fruit; no eggs, no meat. And you have the option of either orange juice OR coffee but not both. For me, this was very strange and seemed quite cheap compared to all the other hotels I visited in Costa Rica which offered buffet breakfasts and all the juice and coffee you want. For the price they charge per room, they should offer a much better breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Very Clean rooms, wonderful beach location

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Location: Favourite restaurants: Jaco Taco, Taco Bar, Wishbone, Lemon Zest - Great zip lining, visit Villa Caletas for a drink and incredible view at Sunset.
We stayed in a regular room for the first 2 nights, very clean but lighting in the room could have been better and the bed was a little hard. The view was amazing from the balcony. We switched to a condo for the last 5 nights. AMAZING. Huge bedroom - king bed (very comfortable), walk-in closet, living room, dining area, full-kitchen and a huge balcony. The staff was so helpful, we loved the huge plate of fresh fruit and toast for the continental breakfast (included with the room). They are currently renovating rooms but the construction did not impact us at all since they seems to be doing one building at a time. For the price, this was a great value. This hotel is on the best part of the beach (not rocky like the north end of the each) and at the quiet, south end of Jaco. We've been to Jaco 12 times and this was a great experience. Overall, we were very impressed with the cleanliness and staff. We would have no problem going back and staying in any room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Jacob.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Location, restaurant was good.
Enjoyed our stay, it is located at the south end of the beach which has the best sand and not crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenniferfrom Hollywood, Maryland

Outskirts of Jaco

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay very much! Friendly staff, nice location. The restaurant was great. Good food and reasonably priced. A few improvements could be made... We had a 2- bedroom condo, room 22, and while the master room with king size bed was comfy, the other room had 2 twin beds that were hard as a rock! My son opted to sleep on the sofa instead. Also, outside of the same room was a constant dripping noise that kept our guest up all night. Overall, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Doesn't justify its rating nor its review score

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: I did not like anything about the hotel. The room was more deserving of a 2 1/2 star hotel and the beds belong in a hostel.
Cons: The hotel hasn't kept up on maintenance and the cutting of corners is clearly noticeable in many places.
Location: The hotel is at the end of the beach, far from the Jaco downtown area. It's practically on the outskirts of town and I didn't see anything else to do.
We only stayed at Hotel Club Del Mar for one night and I'm glad it was so brief. The hotel was very disappointing. I cannot explain the exceptional ratings it has on Expedia. Upon our arrival they did not have our reservation. I had to email my Expedia email to the 'concierge'. He then handed us 2 room keys (the metal kind) and a key for the safe, letting us know there will be a $20 charge for each lost key. He also provided 2 tokens for beach towels each with the same warning of a $20 penalty if not returned. The elevator was the slowest I have seen in my life and you have to keep pressing the button while it's moving or it stops. The room was fairly well furnished except for the very small 20" TV. The mattresses and pillows were very cheap, lumpy, and uncomfortable. There was a small cockroach on the room table upon our arrival, which left us wondering how many are there that we couldn't see. The room didn't strike me as dirty but it also didn't strike me as very well cleaned. There were no toiletries in the bathroom, only liquid soap in a wall dispenser by the sink and shampoo dispenser in the shower. Good thing I usually bring along a small soap bar and other toiletries. There were only 2 bath towels and a small foot towel, no wash or hand towels. We only found the 2 hand towels in the closet when we were preparing to leave. The shower head was tiny and only half the nozzles were working, spraying water in your general direction. There were no blankets,only bed spreads
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rikkefrom Danmark

Alle pengene værd

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hyggeligt hotel i skønne omgivelser lige ned til stranden. Det skal dog siges, at det ligger en anelse afsides i den ene ende af byen og især efter mørkets frembrud, tog vi kun taxa, efter at have prøvet at gå én gang, da man skal igennem en øde, mørk strækning gennem skov. Poolen er helt perfekt temperatur i modsætning til mange andre vi har været i på turen. Restauranten som forventeligt for hoteller - absolut spiselig, men lidt kedelig, men man skal huske, at det heller ikke er et luksushotel man har betalt for. Især skal fremhæves receptionisternes hjælpsomhed - de har været helt igennem utrolige med hjælp og råd og lod os endda bruge deres egen computer til at oplade vores feriebilleder igennem en hel dag. Eneste advarsel er, at man ikke skal leje hotellets surfboards - de er ubrugelige! I hvert hvis man ikke er en sand surferlegende.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sven en Sophiefrom België, Drongen

kortom, een leuk hotel met fantastisch zwembad

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gezien we absoluut nog 2 dagen aan de Pacific wilde verblijven om surflessen te volgen met de kids (want we verbleven voorheen in Tortuguero), kozen we voor Playa Jaco. Op zich niet het meest spectaculaire badstadje, maar qua hotel - zeker qua prijs-kwaliteit - en voor 'ons doel' een topper. Het mooie zwembad was één van de betere van gans onze reis. We namen een appartement voor ons vieren: ongelooflijk ruim, met alle nutsvoorzieningen (eigen keuken, frigo, was- en droogmachine, 2 flatscreens, ....) maar om toch ietwat kritiek te spuien: oubollige inrichting. Maar hé... we waren er om te surfen, toch? Verder: zeer vriendelijk personeel en goed ontbijt (meer hebben we er niet van kunnen genieten)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Not far and nice hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Staff, beach front
Cons: facilities
Location: Its 80 minutes from airport, very near to jaco city (Party places, food places, hotels, surf and tours)
Arrived before check in, hotel staff very nice, let me stay at the pool to enjoy the sun and the beach. Its a nice pool, nice quiet area, beach front, hotel owner always checking on the clients. Positve: beach front, not far from airport, cheap drinks, nice food, great staff Cons: requested for king bed and non smoking but received 2 beds in smoking area. Facilities are Ok.. 7 out of 10. I'll go again.