Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Close to heaven!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything !
Cons: Slippery shower floors
Location: Romantic secluded location but close to Jaco for entertainment and night life and lots of beaches nearby to enjoy the ocean.
Breathtaking views with a beautiful infinity edge pool and a restaurant overlooking the ocean and mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe, Ca

Just what we needed!

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Views. Food. Pool. Staff.
Location: Skip Jaco and Los Suenos. Do the Zip Line, Croc bridge and Monkey house. Arena Tours out of Puntarenas was great. Do the hike to the beach!
We had just got off a luxury cruise ship (Crystal Serenity) and did not want to go far to far down the luxury scale too quickly. Villas Calletas did not disappoint. Just a great setting. Comfortable rooms, great infinity pool, good food and probably one of the greatest sunset views we have ever encountered. We checked into a standard room that was comfortable but had no view. We were able to upgrade to a view room for the last 3 nights and the small upgrade fee was the best money we spent all trip. The "partial ocean view" turned out to be a great view of the ocean and the surrounding jungle. We saw monkeys, tuocans, parrots etc. right from the roomy veranda. We had a great rain shower one afternoon that was really cool. Not much do to here at night and we were in bed early, but with the days being so warm it was great to get up with the sun and get some exercise early. We did the hike down to the private beach one day which was a lot of fun as you are walking right through the jungle. You can take a shuttle back up to the hotel. Just a real treat all the way around. Some in our party took advantage of the spa services which they loved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami Beach

Outstanding

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Hotel feels like a new European palace. Beautiful sophisticated but extremely pleasant. The service and the staff were amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Beautiful mountain top hotel in the rain forest

Posted Dec 1, 2014
We had an incredible experience! Every moment at this hotel was breath-taking. The view from our set of two French doors was magical with the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean and a rainforest coastline. We took a hike from the hotel to the beach through the rainforest, which was a truly an adventure. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful, and we loved the food as well. All around, a delightful experience! We only stayed one night, but would come back again for much longer next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Gorgeous hotel high up overlooking the ocean.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
I can't wait to return. It was over and above my greatest expectations. I will honeymoon here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Beautiful hotel near San José

Posted Nov 23, 2014
I went last weekend for my bf birthday and it was just the perfect gettaway weekend. The hotel is small but very confortable and it is definetly a romantic place with all the Beautiful view from the restaurant, pool and anfitheater.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Covina, CA

Fantastic stay at the villa.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent service, gorgeous view, friendly staff.
Location: Hiking to the beach and back to the hotel. Visit to Jaco beach.
We had the most wonderful experience. The room has a gorgeous view of the ocean. We sat at the bar by the amphitheater watching the sunset. Had a challenging hike down to the beach with the spa owner Pam. My husband left his iPad in the room as we were Ching out and we were promptly alerted. We will be back when In Costa Rica again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Great views and sunset

Posted Nov 7, 2014
The best thing about this hotel is its location and view. The sunset was amazing!!! The room was comfortable althogh not very clean (we found hair on the shower wall) with a great poarch with views to the ocean. Hot water was also a problem - first night someone came to fix it, but the next morning again no hot water. When we told this to the receptionist she just said thank you for letting us know...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Perfection

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Can not get these views anywhere else! Great staff, great good, great place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Excellent Location, Great Views, Friendly Service

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Fantastic views, great infinity pool, hotel is well integrated into the rain forest & is nicely appointed, convenient location, very friendly staff.
Cons: Just details: Replace burnt-out light bulbs along ALL public paths and clear dead leaves. Check/replace the gin in the Classic-tini - it's dreadful.
Location: On the road to Jaco, at the bottom of the "hill," there's a good supermarket on your right. Also, opposite Subway, a A++ restaurant called Cardumen.
Our 4 nights at Villa Calletas was a perfect ending to our trip. We stayed in a Junior Suite Superior and ours happened to be the top suite above others on a hillside. The views of the rain forest in the valley below and the ocean in the distance from our balcony were fantastic. I recommend sitting on the balcony at 6.30 AM and having coffee and biscuits and just watching the various birds (toucans, hawks, etc.) for an hour or two, it's very peaceful and relaxing. If you're lucky, you'll catch a pair of red macaws in the AM and PM. The late afternoons are equally pleasurable, and if you've picked up a high quality single malt Scotch whiskey from duty free prior to arrival and it's accompanied by a Cuban cigar, as I did on several occasions, then it's quite special. The room we had was very clean, spacious and nicely appointed. The Jacuzzi on the balcony, which was unexpected, was a bonus of which we took full advantage. The hotel in general is very nicely integrated into the rain forest and is well maintained.The staff are very friendly, welcoming and non-intrusive. I would recommend that visiting westerners/Europeans should read a little about Costa Rican customs. In a nutshell, this is a great hotel and if you're looking for peace and tranquility, you'll most certainly attain that here. In most respects/categories, this hotel achieves high marks; but I would score the food rating as a B-/C grade. We certainly plan to return to Herradura and will certainly plan to stay here.