Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Posted Dec 22, 2014
The hotels grounds, rooms and staff are amazing however, the beach leaves much to be desired as the sand is dark and rocky, and the ocean surf is brown until you wade in deeper to your chest. The plus side to the beach is that it wasn't filled with people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Exceptional hotel lives up to Marriott standards !

Posted Dec 20, 2014
I can't say enough good things about this resort! The grounds are immaculate, the staff is unbelievably friendly, the rooms are magnificent and clean, the food is delicious! The only downfall is The beach is not the best but because the pool is so beautiful I really did not mind. There is never a problem getting a chair in the shade and the swim up bar is fun! Do not hesitate to book a trip to this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel, great pool

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great pool, nice room, clean. Saw lots of red macaws and iguanas at the resort.
Location: Lots of vendors in Jaco Beach if you want ATV, snorkeling, zip lining, etc. where you can get a better deal than booking through the hotel.
Los Suenos Marriott is a beautiful resort with a great pool. We went the second week in December, right before the start of the busy season (as per the residents). The pool was not crowded at all and is not the standard layout so even if there were a lot of people I don't think it would feel that way. The Marriott restaurants were pretty pricey ($22 pp for buffet breakfast although the food was very good). The Marriott is about a 10 minute cab ride to Jaco Beach which costs about $17 USD from the hotel, or $12 USD by the local red taxis. There is also a restaurant off the resort call El Pelicano but on the same beach/cove, about a 5 minute cab ride for $10(hotel)/$5 (local). This was our favorite place to eat and reasonably priced. In Jaco Beach, our favorite restaurant was Wishbone, and the Marina restaurants (The Hookup, Galeon, and Lanterna) were also good and those you can walk to from the Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Nice hotel, very friendly staff, great amenities

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The spa, the pool area, the staff was exceptionally nice, and the food was very good.
Cons: Directions to the resort on the website.
Location: Jaco is only about 6 miles away and easy to get to if you rent a car or take a taxi. Plenty of gift shops. The beach near Quepos was awesome.
The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, everyone at the resort spoke English, the restaurant food was very good and they offer a wide variety of restaurants on the premises (full breakfast menu, sandwiches, pizza, steak). Extremely nice spa and gym that has enough equipment to do cardio and get in a good workout. The pool area was great with lots of room, chairs and towels. The beach area was nice, the beaches in this area have the black sand that is not as soft as some of the beaches further south. If you are renting a car, make sure that you have turn by turn directions from the airport, all of the roads are very poorly marked (no signage whatsoever), and it is difficult to get directions from the locals, it is also difficult to find someone that spoke English outside of the resorts. I would recommend some kind of GPS, you don't get consistent signal on your cell phone while driving. It is approx. 1.5 hours from the airport, if you take the correct route. I can't emphasize this point enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Loved this place!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: Honestly, I cannot tell you one thing I would change. I know this sounds too good to be true, but I give reviews as I experience it.
Location: We went sport fishing on Hoo's Your Daddy out of the marina, we took the Tortuga Island tour, we rode ATV's, we did a canopy tour.
This was our first visit to Costa Rica. We chose Los Suenos because of the proximity and a recommendation from a friend. It was perfect. Over the years, we have stayed in several 5 star resorts that could not touch this place. I cannot say enough about the beautiful room, grounds, staff, dining....I could go on and on. I am a reviewer who tells it like it is and HONESTLY, I could not find one thing about this resort that did not make me very happy. God willing, we are already planning another trip there for next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Great staff. Amenities Expensive.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The pools were beautiful. The plants and landscaping were spectacular. The staff were very friendly.
Cons: The costs of things at the resort could be less costly.
Location: Jaco, was the nearest city and had many activities for visitors. The rainforest were also fairly close. The nices beaches were near the hotel.
Overall my stay was pleasant. We did pick the rainy season as predicted, it rained daily. The hotel staff were very nice and handled any request promptly. The rooms were very clean comfortable. The bathrooms were done tastefully. The costs for drinks and food was expensive. Overall it was a pleasant stay but be prepared to pay for food drinks and other services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alajuela, Costa Rica

Wonderful

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The parking attendants at the front door are a bit testy about parking your car at the front entrance while I was checking in and out.
Location: There is plenty to do - 1st class marina, sport fishing, retail, excellent restaurants. I'd stay away from Bamboo Japanese restaurant, overpriced.
I was due this excellent wonderful experience after the last holiday I took at a resort in Guanacaste CR. All that aside, LOS SUENOS IS THE REAL DEAL! If you are looking for quality across the board then look no further. Los Suenos has it all...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Great Hotel by the beach! The pool is spectacular. I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great pool!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
A bit of a struggle at first as the wifi didn't work, yet the front desk staff insisted on charging for it. Once we spoke to the manager it was sorted out and everything was fine. Hotel is currently under remodel of the lobby, lobby bar, and common areas. They said this should be completed in 60 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bakerfrom NY

Great area - beautiful site

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was excellent; the staff at the poolside Bar and Arecife bar restaurant were excellent; Melvin, Marco and the manager, and pretty much the entire staff were friendly and courteous and always eager to please. The food as well as the drinks were quite delicious. The pool was breathtaking and felt like bath water.