Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential but poorly managed

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The main pool
Cons: All of the above
Location: Surfing
The landscaping and the main pool are the highlights of this hotel, which is right on the beach. We stayed in a standard 2-bedroom suite which could have been upgraded given the fact that there was no one else at this hotel. The suite was a disaster -- the kitchenette was badly in need of repairs, for example, the faucet leaked a steady stream. The bathroom didn't have the basic necessities such as shampoo, conditioner and soap. In one of the rooms, the ceiling fan looked ready to unhinge onto the bed and the bed linens were ripped in places. Let's just say the conditions might have worked for a surfer's hostel, but not for the luxe hotel experience we were led to expect. Moving onto the grounds, the landscaping is gorgeous and there is a pleasant large main pool. But there was a second pool with a wet bar which looked abandoned (dirty water, no bar!). The hotel is in a secluded location so you should know there is no restaurant on site. If you want to eat you have to go to a surfer's hotel down the beach or drive into Jaco. The hotel buildings are well designed but just haven't been maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TF from Montana

Beach front convenience and poolside awesomeness!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The local feel of the community and where it is situated at the end of the street was private. Very close to Jaco for more city amenities.
Family of three adults had a most excellent time, poolside, surfing, and exploring Hermosa's local community. The staff from the moment we were shuttled from the airport to fulfilling any request were most gracious! All the rooms were spacious and enjoyed the kitchen, large porches and the views. The Brava has a lovely calm spirit you can feel and hear as the ocean tides move in and out. We spent 5 days here taking a day trip out to see the country side and zip line.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from mexico

very Nice and helpful staff!

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: no loud geckos at night
Location: beach, I bar few spots to eat. beautiful beach
No internet, geckos in room at night, clean enough. My favorite was the hotel staff and the quiet and tranquil surroundings. Maybe im just to city for this place.
2 out of 5
by Superarket from Encino, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Couples - stay away, Surfer Dudes - enjoy

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Right on the Beach, epic surf, beautiful black sand
Cons: dirty, broken down, strange staff, needs maintenance, too expensive for room quality
Location: location cannot be beat, Jaco riff raff has flowed into playa hermosa
The online information about this hotel was deceiving. We stayed here one night on our travels farther down the coast. We chose this place because it is located right on the beach. The location is absolutely amazing, 10 second walk to the sand, but the hotel had many problems. The room was not very clean and everything was old and breaking. The sheets were not clean and the hotel staff reluctantly changed them for us. The kitchenette was old and pretty gross. Bottom line, compared to the other hotels we stayed in the off season, this was way too expensive for such a dumpy room and I can't understand how it is 3 stars. We booked a double room because that was the only thing available but because I was just with my wife, we were given a single. This turned out to be great because we had a fantastic ocean view through the broken blinds. We saw the double room and it didn't have a view and looked really bad. If I was traveling with a few friends on a surf trip this would be the best place! Right in front of a world class surf break! Since I was with my wife, we were about 1 minute away from canceling our room, eating the cost and finding another place. The beach is so nice and that made it almost worth it. We probably would have been better off camping on the beach. The surfing was amazing, I woke up and stepped onto the beach and into some barrels before breakfast. Not a place for couples, great for single surfer dudes. I should have come here 10 years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alan and Patti from Illinois

An unexpected wonderful surprise!

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were booked here for only one night on our way to Manuel Antonio park and for some reason were upgraded to a deluxe suite, ocean view which was beautiful and elegant!!! The staff was very nice and accommodating and the pool area is spectacular!! Would recommend highly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by D. Clerc

Right on the beach!!!

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Grear penthouse with ocean view, right on the beach.. lots of room!! Very nice staff! thank you!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gisele

it was ok

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived they were not aware that we were using park ad fly...this caused some headaches but it was resolved by staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Naveed

Great place right on the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a 2bdrm apt on the beach and it was beautiful The room was huge and the patio opened to the beach. It was the last hotel on the beach so it's quieter. The staff was very helpful too