Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, small, intimate, friendly, cosy

Posted Dec 15, 2014
like the little outdoor kitchenette that was well equipped
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Naples, FL

Thank you to Hotel Pumilio for an enjoyable visit!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Mostly - the hotel staff. Location, cleanliness, pool area, room and balcony, complimentary cab service and security of the grounds are all good.
Cons: At most, maybe a more comfortable mattress on the beds.
Location: About 5 minute cab ride to Jaco Beach. Hotel is close to excursions (ATV, zip lining, etc).
Stayed for 7 days at Hotel Pumilio and enjoyed every bit of our experience. The hotel staff was possibly the most accommodating I've ever experienced and made sure our stay was comfortable and our needs were met. Milton, Juan Diego and Adrian were all very helpful and responsive to requests. Our room was very comfortable and clean and was serviced promptly by the cleaning staff each day. The beds are a bit firmer than we expected, but nothing unreasonable. The pool area is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. We used the free daily cab ride to/from the hotel to Jaco Beach and scheduled a variety of activities through the hotel staff - all of this was very easy and accomplished in a timely manner. There are certainly more expensive establishments that could stand to learn a lot about hospitality from the Hotel Pumilio staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Costa Rica

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This was the best hotel I stayed in. I also stayed in the famed Marriott San Jose, which was also nice and posh, but Pumilio had advantage in size (smaller). Our hotel manager Juan was fluent in English. He helped us resolve anything we had problems with, and his service was very quick and attentive. In one instance, our AC remote didn't work, so he promptly delivered a new one and tested it before leaving. Separately, we ordered dinner from a local restaurant, and he took the order, plated the dinner, and delivered to our room. The property is solid. There are two pools that are well maintained with not too much chlorine. There's also a cabana that houses a massage area that I used. Overall, this was a great value at $118 during the green season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tamarac, Florida

Amazing

Posted Nov 12, 2014
No words to describe the experience, the atencion and the customer service exceed all expectations, definitely coming back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CR

Amazing!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Best service ever, in the most comfortable little hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
It was a good stay. I only have two concerns the parking and there isn't an elevator. There are few spaces and take off the car from the hotel is difficult. The property has high stairs and is mandatory an elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than a fancy resort.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
As a builder, I couldn't help but marvel at the design of this ten room boutique hotel. All rooms have a pool, tropical flower, and mountain side view from the rear open kitchen and patio. The buffet breakfast changes daily and is ample to tide you through most of the day. All of the staff take a personal interest in you. We moved to a fancy resort for the final two days of our week long stay. I would rather have stayed at the Pumilio for the whole visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax and disconect

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: location and surroundings, the confort and convenience of the rooms
Location: is close to everything at a short distance
It is the perfect combination of the hot sunny weather and beatiful green rainy forest. it is the perfect place to relax. rooms are very comfortable and the full equipment kitchen is very convenient. they also have a big grill for all guests to use when they want. the breakfast is delicious
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks for your opinion that is very important for us to keep improving the value to every day of our guest vacations in this hidden gem surrounded by nature but near to lots of activities and beaches. Loe to hear you really relaxed and discounted! If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

The best hotel we've ever stayed at!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast offered at anytime in the morning, and the awesome room and views.
Location: Jaco and Herradura are nearby. The hotel pays for a complimentary cab ride once a day to either of the cities!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks for your opinion! If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronfrom Tallahassee

Quiet Tropical Retreat

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked for one night but after seeing the property I extended my stay. Felt great just to be there. Sound of the river was great for sleeping. Very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks for your opinion that is very important for us, we were glad you were able to stay longer with us and hope to have your friends and family some day an specially you. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards!