Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Mesa, CA

Close to the beach.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The outdoor activities and the proximity to Mantas beach.
Cons: Rooms need to be remodel and a little more space between the beds.
Location: Okay location to enjoy the beach. One hour and half from the airport and 1 hour from Manuel Antonio Beach.
They have many fun activities; however, the room was very disappointing. It was very small, the shower head is very old, and everyday we would find centipedes in the room (creepy). We also did not like that one has to wear bright bracelet and to get out of the hotel one has to get a permit, there are no assigned parking, another negative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Daphne, AL

Nice Hotel located in beautiful scenery.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The abundance of beauty: scarlet macaws, toucans, monkeys and other various birds all in a lush tropical setting.
Cons: Upgrade the pillows.
Location: The location was excellent. We were able to do several tours and all were willing to pick us up at hotel reception.
The accommodations are on the 3 star level, but the natural scenery on the facility from variety of birds to beach to foliage is 5 star!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, Arizona

Vacation at Christmas 2014 (7 days)

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Many things to do right at the resort, you could stay there the whole time and not even go into town. Beaches are beautiful.
Cons: They need an ATM at the Resort. Using CASH is the best way and sometimes the tours need to be paid in cash.
Location: Many Fruit Stands on the side of the road with fresh fruit. Rusticos in Jaco is a restaurant that is a MUST, food is amazing and very, very affordable
My family (wife and 3 high schoolers) had a very nice time at this resort. There was one snafu in the beginning about having All-Inclusiveness, that is why we went there verses staying at the Double-Tree or Marriott. They finally gave us the Inclusiveness and meals and drinks were included. We were in an Apartment that was 2 beds/2 bath and had its own pool. Very Nice. Tours were booked at the front desk with Alasandras and she did an awesome job dealing with all of our needs. Volcano Tour with waterfalls and breakfast and lunch included, rate that one a 9 out of 10. Our guide was Hugo and he was the Best guide ever. My wife and 2 daughters did the spa and they wanted to do it again but time did not permit. They loved it. (volcano mud wraps and coffee scrubs) Zip-lining out in town was 10 out of 10. 14 legs of zipping and the 3 guides were awesome and funny, very safe. Lastly was deep-sea fishing for my whole family on a 35' boat with food and drinks rated 10 out of 10. The boat was the "Golden Rod" with Captain Romel and Deckhand Oscar. The whole family caught a 4 Sailfish and one Dorado. Very long full day but memories forever. Food that was included was also very good and we all tried something different every meal. Staff is very helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

4 Days in Punta Leona

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. With as much food and drinks as you can handle.
Cons: Maybe more reasonable adult drinks. I felt that bar drinks might have been a little short and the liquor was watered down.
Location: Yes the drive off of the highway was a couple of miles, but I think that this added to the peacefulness of the hotel
We stayed 4 days in Punta Leona then moved into Jaco for 3. I wished that we had stayed the whole time in Punta Leona. Beautiful, quiet and "CLEAN" that's what I enjoyed about the place. 2 separate beaches, 3 pools, 3 bars, 3 restaurants, grocery store (convienance) extra clean rest rooms and showers, butterfly exhibit, monkeys, toucans, macaws, iguanas, man it was great. Probably one of the best complimentary breakfasts that I've ever had. I read other reviews that things were too spread out. In my opinion, that's the beauty of the place. We parked the car once we got there and walked everywhere that we wanted to go. They have free shuttles to take you around if you don't want to walk. If it was tight and confined then I'm sure that people would complain about it being too crowded and not enough room. Lots to see and do. If you want the crowds then hop in your car and drive 15 minutes to Jaco and fight the parking and the noise. Thanks Punta Leona for a great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Beaches !!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Nice place, you will need a vehicle to move around all the facilities to have the whole experience. They should improve the internal transportation. The beach clubs are great, nice pools and a beautiful nature.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not nice and too spread out

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Food was horrible. Too spread out. Rooms below average
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurafrom México

muy satisfecha

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
El desarrollo esta ubicado en un excelente lugar , tiene acceso privado a dos excelentes playas una de arena blanca y otra de arena negra también hermosa, la habitación muy amplia y cómoda, con cocina completa dos habitaciones, una estancia y cada conjunto de apartamentos tiene su propia alberca muy agradable.Se requiere auto para poder llegar porque de la entrada a la recepción son como 7 km pero es un espectáculo ya que hay grandes bambús y árboles. estuvimos 4 adultos muy cómodos. Solo que no hay elevador y fue un poco difícil subir las maletas a pesar que nos tocó en el segundo piso.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Playa Blanca

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The beach was nice when it didn't rain . Only saw the monkeys once during breakfast out of the 6 times I had breakfast..Snapped some pics of a Macaw
Cons: Don't charge visitors for the missed day. Rooms need serious updating. Hot water stopped working and we had to switch rooms Construction disturb sleep
Location: Nothing at all without a rental car it's a 45 min walk to the front gate.
Can't stress enough you need a rental car . The hotel rents golf carts for $45 per day rip off. It's a 15 min drive from the front gate to the lobby. The rooms are 20 years behind the times My bed was stiff as a board. I also arrived a day late due to a missed flight and they would not refund the money total B/S . In Jaco it constantly rains I been to C.R. numerous times and would not go back to Jaco. Everything in the surrounding areas is extremely overpriced . A couples dinner with salad, main course and a glass of wine $90 I didn't travel 6 hours on a plane to pay Manhattan prices. Tamarindo is definitely a better choice with more stable weather and moderately priced items . Atenas seems to have more stable weather and moderately priced items with beautiful views of the country. It's also a lot closer to the airport. Hardly any visitors at this hotel speaks volumes . If it wasn't for my girlfriend keeping me grounded I would have checked out a lot sooner. Would not recommend to friends or family .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lopez

Es un hotel rodeado de bellos paisajes

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Ha sido una estancia agradable rodeados de personal amable, servicial y atento. Las playas del hotel son preciosas y muy limpias.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by BernardaL, Hotel Management
Estimada Milena, muchas gracias por toamrse el tiempo de escribir sus comentarios y nos complace saber que nuestros servicios fueron lo que usted esperaba. Ojala podamos servirle nuevamente.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arualzekfrom San Jose

Lovely stay but...

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
They had one of the restaurants closed and they only offered us buffet option. We wanted something small like a sandwich and they simply said no and we had to drive into town for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by BernardaL, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience with the restaurant being close. We offer 3 restaurant but the one that stays open late is the Carabeleas Restaurant which offers just buffet dinners. The other 2 close at 5pm during the weekdays and at 10:00 pm on weekends. We hope you can visit us again.