Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nature lover from costa rica

A hotel in the pacĂ­fic rain forest

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The staff is very kind. There is a lot of nature around. I saw racoons, iguanas, monkeys. There are children activities. The children pool is big and safe. The adults one too. The breakfast is delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Minneapolis, MN

Great Place to visit and stay

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Everything was great, breakfast, pools, beaches.
Cons: The rooms were a little small but next time we could get a villa or chalet with a kitchen.
Location: We went to Jaco shopping, great place to go shop, eat and play.
I traveled with my daughter and her friend. This was an amazing place to stay and visit. If i could i would work and live in costa rica. Punta Leona is a great area for everything, you dont even have to leave the resort, two beaches, grocery store, two pools, restaruants, jungle. We could not have asked for anything more. The staff was great, people are very pleasant. I would go to Punta Leona again. We went during the week and ended leaving on a Sunday. Great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawna from Boise,Id

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
I went to Punta Leona with just my kids, being a single mom I was hesitant,the staff was fantastic, making us feel safe and welcome. The grounds are,so beautiful, we went to Blanco Playa, or the white beach and it was stunningly beautiful, the resort offered shuttles there all day long free of charge,the food was excellent! My family and I will definately go back sometime in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dianeh from ny, ny

Very nice swimming, soft light sand.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Dinner buffet was good, not like 4star hotel but prices were fair, many selections
Location: Need a car if staying more than 2 days, isolated location
Easy trip from San Jose about 1 1/2 hours Facilities were crowded on weekend but still enjoyable, nice restaurant on beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gustyk from NY

Beautiful place. Gladly surprised.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The place, room cleanness, the beach, the pool... everything.
Cons: Some personnel need training. Nice people, just not up to speed
Location: We stayed at the hotel all the time but there is canopy very close
We book this hotel while we were in Volcan Arenal region; we wanted to relax and be closer to the beach. This hotel was recommended by a local person who usually goes there. What a place! This is a private club founded 20+ years ago. Their members are normally locals who spend weekends away from San Jose. In general, Costa Ricans are very gentle, very approachable and with "i can help " attitude; staff was great. We went in the middle of the week (highly recommended). The amenities are very comfortable. Pros: - Beaches are paradise (there are 2): Playa Blanca and Playa Manta - Clean rooms, very well maintained. - Environment is beautiful. - Good variety food. Cons: Restaurants are expensive. (8-slice Cheese pizza $26) Limited kids food availability in the buffet (Peaky eaters, be aware) Some of the waitress in the restaurant by the pool need some training. Even when they were very respectful, they need more experience handling special requests. (We won a free medium pizza after a bingo game. We wanted the large one and pay for the difference... almost impossible! IN the end, we got it after 40+ minutes waiting... ) Everything is far. You need transportation to go to Playa Blanca (provided by the hotel with buses with limited schedules). You better rent a car They also rent a golf-cart for $45/day... in my opinion, not worth it but it's your call. Bicycles are $25 per day...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Halifax, NS

Perfect getaway to commune with 'most' of nature..

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Alex, Erik, the band of 20+ bad-boy white-face monkeys, the macaw parrots, the tucans, the iguanas & the vistas offered even within the hotel complex
Cons: wifi access a bit spotty at times. restaurant staff that stop bringing so much great food (so we don't over-eat)
Location: The Ariel Tram in 'Rainforest Adventures' is a MUST-DO... don't look it up - just book it now! Glenda the guide will fix you up. We were impressed
Punta Leona is an isolated retreat on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. This locale delivers excellent access to the local flora and fauna. Alex, the onsite bird guy, can help you identify the 221 species of birds on the 700 hectares of the hotel compound. My favorite animal was the little grey football with a tail foraging for bugs in the garden in front of the innovative external room layouts that is the SelvaMar group of 122 rooms. The staff was very friendly, inviting and helpful. They all could speak English well... The food was varied and endless. My only regret was eating too much. Pls seek out Erik in the Playa Blanca restaurant has he is most helpful and provide background local context for travelers trying to understand 'what its really like as a resident'. Seven days are never enough especially when a band of 20 something mischievous monkeys are always lurking...
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Denis from Canada

Hotel needs refreshening...

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The beach and the Grill reataurent are still worth it. The general hotel staff are good.
Cons: Chairs, general cleanliness, staff training, clearer agreement with Expedia.
Location: The property is magnificient and has great potential. I think the problem is and always is MANAGEMENT. They are going to loose it....
There was some confusion at reservation between the expedia reservation and the actual room proposed. The grounds would need some better maintenance. Of the few beach chairs available, 75% were broken. All were terribly dirty. I have been to this resort 3 times before and the management has to be looked at. The site is being over developped with 2 new apartments being contructed. The site is unfortunately loosing its charm. The property still has enormous potential but I would see a major change in management staff to give new directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon from suffolk england

Lovely hotel set in the forest,

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Set in wonderful grounds with all the old rain forest trees remaining. All staff friendly
Location: Everything on site
We were checked in by David who explained everything to us giving us maps ect, We used all three restaurants available to us on all inclusive all of which were excellent . All bar staff were friendly and helpful, Alex the bird guide was very helpful and a pleasure to spend an hour and half with in the early morning Many thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Jungle experience!

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: see above
This huge estate set back from the highway along the beautiful pacific ocean, has all the amenities of a modern hotel, but is in a jungle setting. With monkeys and iguanas and exotic birds and huge incredible trees with "Tarzan vines" hanging everywhere. Restaurants, pools, activities, parks, you name it.... But if you are looking for a quiet escape, it is over crouded, noisy, busy, you have to wait.... Though the cabins look cute from the outside, they are only standard with the beds Very hard and uncomfortable. Hard worms all over on the floor in the room (don't know what they were). Bottom line - the facilities looked great but the rooms were not worth much. And busy and over crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eduardo Saborio from Costa Rica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com